We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet at it's best! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Peace and quiet at it's best! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Nirwana over the New Years period, we enjoyed our time at this intimate, quiet and relaxed resort.

The service was excellent with staff always cheerful and helpful. The food in the restaurant was some of the best we ate in Candidasa and very reasonably priced.

Our ocean view room was clean, comfortable and was unobtrusively made up every morning while at breakfast. The pool area and gardens are immaculately kept and the views and surroundings are both beautiful and relaxing.

The town is a little far to walk but only about $2 / 5mins in a taxi. The location is very quiet and isolated, not within walking distance to anything of interest. It is great for older couples or honeymooners, so those looking for something a little more lively and close to the town may be a bit disappointed, but for a peaceful, relaxing getaway it is a perfect location.

Like most beachfront resorts in Candidasa there is no beach access but the nice beaches are within 20mins driving distance. We didn't find this to be an issue as there is a decent size pool at the resort.

Suggestions for improvements: more sun chairs around the pool, stronger wi-fi signals, umbrellas around the restaurant and pool for extra shade.

Overall highly recommended. Thanks Nirwana.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRM_Bali, Manager at Nirwana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Adam W

Thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday destination and for taking your valuable time on sharing your experience with us. Comments such as yours are of great value to our organization.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to match your expectations. In regards to your suggestion, we would like to informed you that we have shared your comments with management in order to increase the amount of umbrellas and shade areas around our public areas.

Once again thank you for you comments, they are of great help to keep pushing for the service that we are aiming for.

Sincerely,

Ketut Wirnata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    100
    34
    15
    13
See reviews for
34
162
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Would recommend this hotel for couples, rooms are beautiful I would recommend a beach view villa not too much more than garden view, staff very good and friendly with lovely restaurant. Great location close to town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nirwana Resort and Spa Candidasa is well worth the two hour drive from the airport. Spectacular sea views and infinity pool. Excellent service and 5 star food. A chance to relax and yet a short walk from town.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed here as part of a golfing group for five days and nights. The accommodation was very good (club level), the pools and the restaurants were great. Service was very good and meals and drinks (excluding wine) were value for money.

The but was that we had difficulty with some of the golfing arrangements and what services were promised but not delivered the staff shielded any attempts to discuss our concerns with the General Manager and on checkout we found that services that had been prepaid were being recharged! Having said that, once we pointed out that these services had been prepaid the accounts were adjusted, my point is that they should have not been charged in the first place! The last thing you need when checking out is a debate on whether the bill is correct or not.

Overall the stay was enjoyable but marred by the poor administration.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Second time here. Rooms nice, clean and private. Quite a secluded place just outside Candidasa. Highly recommended. Only thing missing is a gym!
A buffet breakfast instead of a set menu would be good too.
The staff is really nice and polite with good english.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrilian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

What a gem of a find.
Quiet and well kept hotel. Though it might have seen better days, the facilities are still quite well maintained. Service was excellent.
If you are looking for a place to wind down and chill, this is it.

We booked via Expedia - what a steal for a 5star facility. Huge room and lovely bathroom with a shower and a bathtub.

Our only complaint is the restaurant - All but one of the dishes that we ordered for dinner, was bad. My party of 4 ordered - Soto Ayam, Gado Gado, Ikan Pepes, Steak and Grilled Snapper for our mains. Grilled Snapper was inedible as it smelt like it was a few days old and not kept in a fridge. Irony is the only dish that turned out well was a western dish.

Had booked for massages and requested for 3 male therapists and 1 female therapist. When we arrived at the spa, all the therapists were female.

We had a leaky aircon in one of our rooms - #204.
The hotel arranged for a new room when the leak could not be fixed.

Room Tip: #204 had a leaky aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel itself is very nice and very quiet. Just dnt order the food from the restaurant. Ordered 3 types of food and all terrible at least according to my taste buds. Breakfast are ok but with beautiful view makes it nice :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRM_Bali, Manager at Nirwana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Betta S,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and of course for choosing to stay with us!. We are very glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the atmosphere.
Sorry to hear that the food that your ordered you did not enjoy, usually most guests are very happy with our restaurant quality we will review the menu and food quality again. Thank you for you comments they help us to continue to improve our offerings for your guests.
Sincerely,
Wayne Lunt
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.6 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#10 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#14 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Resort and Spa

Property: Nirwana Resort and Spa
Address: Jalan Raya Sengkidu | Amlapura, Candidasa, Karangasem 80871, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#6 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nirwana Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because life is better at the beach! Indulge a touch of the Balinese dream in the charming 18 bungalows with contemporary Balinese decor featuring modern facilities, enriched with ocean and mountain view in Candidasa regency. Calm, seclusion, tranquility and glorious views. Nirwana resort allows you to enjoy the romantic infinity pool facing the sea with some delicious drinks, have a mouthwatering culinary experience of both local and international cuisine in the resort restaurant while admiring the works of nature together with your loved one. The charming resort offers a full range of memorable guest activities, from water sports such as snorkeling, diving, fishing and boat tours to nearby islands, mountain and village activities such as trekking, hiking, discover the unique nature of an authentic Balinese in Tenganan village, to pampering your body, mind and soul in various SPA treatments. Start your perfect escape to an intimate and charming atmosphere to celebrate romance in a hidden treasure of Bali with tropical style concept. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirwana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Hotel Candidasa
Nirwana Resort And Spa Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing