We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
D'Tunjung Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

To reach the hotel you have to enter a narrow unsightly path that gives access to both the hotel, a restaurant and a public beach.
The D’Tunjung is a small scale accommodation. We stayed in a two by two bungalow with garden view.

We were warmly greeted by the staff at the kind of open air reception, when we arrived late in the afternoon and quick but friendly they accompanied us towards our bungalow.
That looked fine, spacious enough for two, good bed, clean, bathroom fine on order.

It was very noisy outside the resort.
That was because there is behind our bungalow a passageway.

Many local people use that passageway to and from the small public beach and parking their bicycles and mopeds. But, no worries, later in the evening, against twilight time, is that over. Than all is quiet.

When we wanted to freshen up, after our arrival we discovered there was no water in our bathroom. Quickly a Hotel employee arrived to have a look, but he was not able to solve the problem. They offered us immediately to move to the neighboring bungalow.
There we had water but pity, there was no warm water.
Too bad, they could not help us further despite our request to do so.
So we had only a cold shower to freshen up.

The next morning, surprisingly, the water was warm.

There is no buffet breakfast but a nice waitress ask what you want to have. The choice is moderate to good.
Bonus is the location. The restaurant is located direct at the waterfront. Great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adi R, Sales Executive at D'Tunjung Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear CentWestern,

I do regret it has happened to you. i'd ask an apology on behalf of D'tunjung Resort. I did brief the staff and hoping it would not happen for the next.

With best regards,
Adi
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Although my stay was only overnight, I could recommend staying in a sea view room. The rooms are spacious with a desk, good TV, safe, plenty of storage room and most of all a comfy bed and pillows; sparkling clean open air bathroom overlooking a garden. Sitting on the balcony, you had a great view of the sea and the grounds. The pool & sunbeds are located at the beachfront, as is the restaurant. This is a nice quiet location because it is not on the busy main road but right on the sea, yet all the restaurants and shops are so close and conveniently located. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. I had a very pleasant stay and this would be a nice hotel to linger longer.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ketut17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adi R, Sales Executive at D'Tunjung Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Ketut17,
On behalf of Dtunjung Resort Staff, I do much appreciate for your kind compliment comment. With pleasure I will share it to all staff . Dtunjung will expect for your next visit in the near future.
Sincerely,
Adi
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

From the moment we arrived and were warmly greeted by management and staff we were very impressed. The room was clean and fresh with comfy beds with mosquito nets. Our room had a view of the ocean and a lovely verandah. We also had an outdoor bathroom with bath and seperate shower. The pool was lovely and sunlounges over looked the ocean. Breakfast was not a buffet but we found it more than edequate with the scrambled eggs the best we ate on our three week trip. The staff were wonderful and met all of our requirements. The staff included several young people who are studying hospitality and were at the hotel as part of their traineeship - The trainees were incredibly enthusiastic and just lovely young people and I even took time to comment to management regarding this. We wouldnt hesitate to stay here again,

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMELB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adi R, Sales Executive at D'Tunjung Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear MJMELB,

On behalf of Dtunjung Resort Staff, I would like to thank you for your complimentary to share the great experience. We hope to welcome you again and have a chance to offer a better service on your next visit to candidasa.

My best regards,
Adi
Sales Executive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The resort is great: peaceful, clean, great service, good rooms. However the cuisine lacks quality. Breakfast is so-so and dinner (complementary in the honeymoon package) was aweful. Go to Vincent's across the street for proper food.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with ocean view, it's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0rien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adi R, Sales Executive at D'Tunjung Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear J0rien,

Many Thanks for sharing your experience during stay with Dtunjung Resort. I personally do apology for our cuisine quality and take high priority on this area. We did make some changes to improving the quality and really appreciated if you can come by on the next visit to Bali.

Sincerely yours,
Adi
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I slept overnight here on my friend's cottage where He stayed here for few days.
This place are wonderful and quite peaceful.
For those who seek for getaway from business and "the world", this is a perfect place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 399andrewc399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adi R, Sales Executive at D'Tunjung Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your review to Dtunjung Resort during your trip to Bali.
I will pleasure to share it with all dept concern. Hopefully we can be a better host when you have another traveling plan to Bali.

With kind regards,
Adi
Sales Executive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

It was a lovely place, quiet and friendly. The view was beautiful, the suite was quite lovely and clean. Unfortunately, the towels were thin and worn out with shredding edges, and no beach towels were provided. And the bed was comfortable for my partner but too firm for me. They didn't pull cushions out to the beach chairs by the pool each day but they were available to fetch. There was no beach but a beautiful pool by the sea and good access to swimming. We didn't miss the beach. The food was very delicious; however, the menu was very limited and we tired of the few choices. The grounds were well cared for and we could walk from there and enjoy the town. The credit machine was not working at checkout time but cash was readily available up the street. All in all, We would likely recommend the villa to others as a relaxing and fun location for a few days.

The big plus was a local guide named "Belly" that came two days and arranged spear fishing, and took us hiking in the jungle, rice fields, monkey forests, temples, etc. He was fabulous!! So knowledgable and outgoing. We learned so much about the culture, history, local events, and Balinese customs and religion. I highly recommend seeking him out anywhere you stay around Candidasa.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

The feature of this place is the very helpful, friendly staff who go out of their way to make u feel welcome.
Location right on the ocean is excellent but the lounge chairs could be updated.
Great fish curry in the rest and the beds are very comfortable.
Very good value.
If the owners spent a bit of money on the place it would always be booked out.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.5 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#6 of 20 in Candidasa
178 reviews
0 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#13 of 20 in Candidasa
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
#16 of 20 in Candidasa
179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Tunjung Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Tunjung Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Candidasa, Candidasa, Karangasem 80800, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range: £23 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Tunjung Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your D'Tunjung Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d`Tunjung Hotel Candidasa
d`Tunjung Resort And Spa
D'Tunjung Beach Resort Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing