We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Pondok Bambu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pondok Bambu
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at Pondok Bambu in the Family room and loved it. This room is located at the front near the road so there was noise from the traffic but it wasnt a issue for us nor our children (1yrs,3yrs,11yrs).When we arrived we found the aircon. wasnt working well and this was fixed promptly. We found all the staff to be very friendly and professional. The pool was perfect for small children with its shallow area and the big one had fun in the deeper one. Having the beach right there is also fantastic as you can access this and swim/snorkel and the little ones can swim/explore.The breakfast was also great. We would stay again.

Room Tip: The beach side bungalows would be fantastic, just wished we could all fit in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

I registered for everyone, who's look for a familiar hotel. The hotel is beautiful, crews very lovely. We styed here two weeks, enjoyed all moments! Highly recommandable for everybody who wants a good value holiday on Bali!

Room Tip: If may, choose the ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viktor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a great time with our family. Great service and nice people. Is was the best holiday we ever had and the Indonesian food was dellicious. everything was nice and clean. Next year we'll come back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had a realy good time in pondok bambu , realy relaxed atmosphere and the view is amazing there!
Friendly staff and helpfull owner. The bungalows are big, clean and cosy.Highly recommandable for everybody who wants a good value holiday on Bali!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Femke5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed here for two times already,in May and August 2012, it's a beautiful place with very nice ocean view. Both times we stayed in the room at the pool so when you wake up you get the amazing oceanview, these are also the best rooms very spacious and clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly. And there is a lot to do and see in the surroundings of the hotel.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms at the pool, both are amazing. Nice view and quiet no noise from the mainroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willem-Aart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We ended our Bali journey at this hotel. It is really nice and spacious, beautiful view, really green gardens. However with our 10-day local experience we knew it was too expensive for Bali and the staff did not seem to care about anything but our payment.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank putu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I have stayed at this hotel in Candidasa on 2 occasions now and rate it as "good value for money" & a little Balinese-style gem of a mature age.
$US65 gets you either room 11 or 12, which are the 2 seaview rooms overlooking the pool and Badung Strait, plus a 3 course breakfast.
The bedroom is quite large and the bathroom, even bigger. Our room, number 11, had a roomy queen size 4 poster bed, plus a single bed, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a small fridge, good airconditioning, and a fan. Our small outdoor patio had 2 chairs, a small coffee table & a drying rack, plus gorgeous views towards the pool and the sea. At night, we could hear the sea roaring and the waves rolling ashore, nature's musical prelude to a cosy & deep sleep.
It isn't the most fashionable hotel on the block, but has an ambience and tranquilllity all of it's own laid-back style, and we enjoyed relaxing here very much.
Our room was kept clean, the towels were fine, and the pool was always sparkling.
We did notice the odd ant from time to time, but hey, you are in the tropics.............
Breakfast is certainly more than adequate, with a choice of menu, and on the day that we did the Bali Asli cooking class, the staff happily obliged by cooking us breakfast earlier than the usual 8-11am time-frame. Freshly squeezed fruit juice, nasi goreng & sticky black rice pudding is enough to last you until dinner time!
We have also eaten lighter snack meals here - salad, shrimp cocktail, chips etc - no complaints - but have yet to have a dinner here.
I do hope that this hotel retains it's lovely old world Bali feel for many years to come!

Room Tip: Chose a seaview room (either 11 or 12), and whilst paying a little extra, you don't get any road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.2 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#11 of 20 in Candidasa
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#14 of 20 in Candidasa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Bambu

Address: Jln. Raya Ulakan, Candidasa, Karangasem 80871, Indonesia (Formerly Pondok Bambu )
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range: £31 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pondok Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pondok Bambu Candidasa dive resort, bar and seaside restaurant. renovated to a higher standard since beginning 2016. Pondok Bambu is a beautiful and comfortable dive resort located in the centre of Candidasa, Bali, Indonesia. Only one and a half hours drive from the International Airport Ngurah Rai. Surrounded by nature and tropical gardens, Pondok Bambu dive resort features rooms with balconies overlooking the gardens or the sea. The dive resort offers free private parking. Our facilities include our Bambu Divers dive center, restaurant, swimming pool, bar and 24 hour front desk service. Our swimming pool has two parts, shallow for kids and a depth of 2 meters for adults, where you can spend time to swim, relax and sunbathe on the sun beds. Or just go down the steps to the beach and lounge in the sea, or sunbathe on the beach. Our restaurant, with a view of the beach, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with a variety of options ranging from Asian to Western food, and with a special Dutch snack menu. The bar provides a place to relax while enjoying a drink and also enjoy the beauty of the sky at sunset. Pondok Bambu also offers you diving with Bambu Divers providing a special experience and unforgettable moments. Take a few dives, or take a PADI Open Water certification course; all of this can be arranged. From our dive resort you can explore the surroundings of Candidasa. You may want to visit Tenganan (a Bali Aga village, where Balinese live according to ancient traditions), visit any of the many temples and palaces in the area, join a ceremony, go trekking in the hills, and enjoy stunning views of the beautiful rice fields. Pondok Bambu for your best-of-Bali experience ask for our special walk inn prices for our bungalows. Your friends at Pondok Bambu ps. We are not having extra fee for tax and service like most restaurant who ask an extra 15 till 25% on top of your nota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pondok Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Bambu Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing