We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It !”
Review of Pondok Bambu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pondok Bambu
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Nusa Dua, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love It !”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in pondok bambu a few times already. really enjoyed each time, very relaxing, great room for the price, nice restaurant with the best view, great place to watch the sunset, friendly staff.
I did my open water course with the dive centre--bambu divers. The instructors were excellent, really enjoyed my very first time diving experience, all brand new equipment, good size dive boat that is moored in front of the hotel, easy access to all dive sites.
My husband and I really really enjoyed our recent stay, thanks to Hans, Gerard, Harald, and Putu from Bambu Divers team.
We will be back soon ! ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SifraJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    48
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
64
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after 4 nights in Saren Indah, Ubud. Although not close to matching Saren Indah's service standards, Pondok Bambu is pretty nice with newly renovated rooms and pretty good breakfast and restaurant (no buffet though).

There's not much to do around though other than sitting on their porch and looking at the sea. There's no beach beyond the hotel to walk - you need to go to either Pasir Putih (White Sand Beach, 150,000 IDR taxi round-trip) or the Gwolava (Black Sand Beach near Padangbai) to experience a real beach. Its good for snorkeling and diving outings though.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room - its only 500,000 IDR more than the other rooms but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishna1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have visited Pondok Bambu several times and by the first time we were struck by the friendliness of the place. Exellent hospitality. It is a relaxed closeness in this resort that makes you feel at home.
It has now got an inhouse dive center (Bambu Divers Candidasa), with their own instructor and diving boat, so it is a really easy way to both relax and go on divingtrips. The pool fits both for little kids and for diving trainees.
The seaview is soothing for stressed people, the food is good, the health drink menu is astonishing

Room Tip: The most quiet (and best) rooms are the rooms facing the pool and the sea. All the rooms are now reh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BardalJostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our biggest problem with the Pondok Bambu is that we were not there long enough. The lovely laid back atmosphere of the hotel and Candidasa itself, saw my family at it's happiest. We were in the family room (Rm 1) and even though it is the closest room to the road we really didn't have too much traffic noise. The bathroom was modern and very clean and we loved sitting out on our porch in the evenings. The beds were comfortable (although a little squeaky iykwim) and all the room facilities were in perfect working order. We found the staff to be very laid back and helpful when needed. This is the place I will return to on my Bali visits. I love all of Bali but this area is the new love for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hapasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was our third time staying at Pondok Bambu. The rooms are very comfortable, there's a nice pool and being located right on the ocean is great.
The only minor issue we had was finding bugs in our food from the restaurant on three occasions (out of ten times we ate there). We have never had this issue at this resort before, so we were surprised by this.
Overall, we would still recommend staying here and we will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Every1sm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Islands, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Handy to varied village shopping with a gorgeous pool and an outlook that,with a cool glass, music and sunset, had me thinking I'd found heaven!Lovely spacious villas with modern bathrooms and helpful staff. Would happily recommend this accommodation though not for dinner. Great in room massage by a magical masseuse was arranged on request.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perkerkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in the seaview room, nice. The pool was excellent, as was the food. Staff were great, made early cups of Nescafe for us!!! The beds were very comfortable. The shower had very little pressure.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are quieter as there is a bar across the road that can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolum_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.2 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#9 of 20 in Candidasa
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Bambu

Property: Pondok Bambu
Address: Jln. Raya Ulakan, Candidasa, Karangasem 80871, Indonesia (Formerly Pondok Bambu )
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pondok Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pondok Bambu Candidasa dive resort, bar and seaside restaurant Pondok Bambu is a beautiful and comfortable dive resort located in the centre of Candidasa, Bali, Indonesia. Only one and a half hours drive from the International Airport Ngurah Rai. Surrounded by nature and tropical gardens, Pondok Bambu dive resort features rooms with balconies overlooking the gardens or the sea. The dive resort offers free private parking. Our facilities include our Bambu Divers dive center, restaurant, swimming pool, bar and 24 hour front desk service. Our swimming pool has two parts, shallow for kids and a depth of 2 meters for adults, where you can spend time to swim, relax and sunbathe on the sun beds. Or just go down the steps to the beach and lounge in the sea, or sunbathe on the beach. Our restaurant, with a view of the beach, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with a variety of options ranging from Asian to Western food, and with a special Dutch snack menu. The bar provides a place to relax while enjoying a drink and also enjoy the beauty of the sky at sunset. Pondok Bambu also offers you diving with Bambu Divers providing a special experience and unforgettable moments. Take a few dives, or take a PADI Open Water certification course; all of this can be arranged. From our dive resort you can explore the surroundings of Candidasa. You may want to visit Tenganan (a Bali Aga village, where Balinese live according to ancient traditions), visit any of the many temples and palaces in the area, join a ceremony, go trekking in the hills, and enjoy stunning views of the beautiful rice fields. Pondok Bambu for your best-of-Bali experience ask for our special walk inn prices for our bungalows. Your friends at Pondok Bambu ps. We are not having extra fee for tax and service like most restaurant who ask an extra 15 till 25% on top of your nota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pondok Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Bambu Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing