We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Pondok Bambu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pondok Bambu
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our 2 night stay in Pondok Bambu was ok.
Room was clean, had air condition and a safety deposit box. Only problem we had was with the shower, you got 10 seconds burning hot water and then ice cold water for a minute... Food at the restaurant was really nice and good!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camsuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days in August 13. I chose this hotel because there were some good reviews on Trip Advisor. We loved this hotel which has only 13 rooms and as recommended on Trip Advisor, we booked a Seaview Room which was huge, with a huge bathroom and a lovely verandah at the front. The room has an in room safe which is very convenient. We were right in front of the pool, which I thought might be a bit noisy at night but didn’t have to worry because no one was swimming at night. We were about a 2 seconds walk across to the restaurant and after trying a number of Restaurants out on the street, found the hotel Restaurant to have the best food at the best prices. It was so relaxing sitting looking out at the ocean every time we had our breakfast and evening meal there, especially when their was a good sunset. Their BBQ Pork ribs were the best I have ever had even in Sydney. You can’t walk out onto a beach from the pool area, you have to walk down some stairs to get to the ocean and the local boats, but the view out each day was wonderful. Some nights the tankers that were coming into the refinery were all lit up and it was like a fairyland. Breakfast was good enough, one could choose from 4 options and was cooked fresh everyday, no buffet. Their French fries were great for a snack during the day, really crunchy. The pool was small but if all you want to do is lie around the pool reading and just want to cool off every now and again it was enough for us. The hotel staff was lovely. This hotel offered Deep Sea diving so a lot of the guests just stayed for this reason. We thought this was a real gem and plan to come back again, have already chosen a driver who would pick us up from the airport. We would probably stay longer than the 10 days. We went on a local boat up to the White Sandy beach, which was hilarious as we got drenched all the way, but had a nice day lying on the sun beds there and having lunch at the beachside cafes. This is not a 5 star hotel but we loved it. We loved Candidasa, quiet and friendly. This is not the place to stay if you want lots of action and nightlife you need to stay closer to Kuta, but we have done that plenty of times and enjoyed the change. We were still able to do some shopping at the local markets across the road and it felt good helping them out by buying some of their clothing. The local women would come around the pool and offer massages for 70,000 RP, what a bargain and they were very good and worked for an hour. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet holiday.

Room Tip: The Seaview rooms were the best, although the noise from the ocean kept me awake for the first few n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallabyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We reserved this accommodation based on web-reviews and were not disappointed.

This is a truly hidden gem for anyone who seeks nature, good food, sea and diving/snorkelling. Good base for exploring East-Bali.

It was very peaceful, quiet and relaxed, and we loved the staff and the food. Around this place you find ATM's, supermarkets and restaurants. Try the famous Crazy Kangaroo which has often live music or traditional dance.

Room Tip: Avoid room nr 1, close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastiaan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here last year and decided to revisit this year. We weren't disappointed.
We booked the same poolside room and found it had been upgraded. As far as we were concerned, it was great as it was - but with the upgrade it was even better (and the same price!!).
The manicured gardens were still as beautiful as ever, and not a leaf out of place. It really was a delight to walk to our room. The restaurant food was delicious and reasonably priced, and the service was friendly and efficient (without "hovering near you......waiting"), and all the hotel staff were there to help and assist.
This is one of the nicest hotels we have visited.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George_and_Joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in pondok bambu a few times already. really enjoyed each time, very relaxing, great room for the price, nice restaurant with the best view, great place to watch the sunset, friendly staff.
I did my open water course with the dive centre--bambu divers. The instructors were excellent, really enjoyed my very first time diving experience, all brand new equipment, good size dive boat that is moored in front of the hotel, easy access to all dive sites.
My husband and I really really enjoyed our recent stay, thanks to Hans, Gerard, Harald, and Putu from Bambu Divers team.
We will be back soon ! ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SifraJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after 4 nights in Saren Indah, Ubud. Although not close to matching Saren Indah's service standards, Pondok Bambu is pretty nice with newly renovated rooms and pretty good breakfast and restaurant (no buffet though).

There's not much to do around though other than sitting on their porch and looking at the sea. There's no beach beyond the hotel to walk - you need to go to either Pasir Putih (White Sand Beach, 150,000 IDR taxi round-trip) or the Gwolava (Black Sand Beach near Padangbai) to experience a real beach. Its good for snorkeling and diving outings though.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room - its only 500,000 IDR more than the other rooms but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krishna1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have visited Pondok Bambu several times and by the first time we were struck by the friendliness of the place. Exellent hospitality. It is a relaxed closeness in this resort that makes you feel at home.
It has now got an inhouse dive center (Bambu Divers Candidasa), with their own instructor and diving boat, so it is a really easy way to both relax and go on divingtrips. The pool fits both for little kids and for diving trainees.
The seaview is soothing for stressed people, the food is good, the health drink menu is astonishing

Room Tip: The most quiet (and best) rooms are the rooms facing the pool and the sea. All the rooms are now reh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BardalJostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.2 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#11 of 20 in Candidasa
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#14 of 20 in Candidasa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Bambu

Address: Jln. Raya Ulakan, Candidasa, Karangasem 80871, Indonesia (Formerly Pondok Bambu )
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range: £31 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pondok Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pondok Bambu Candidasa dive resort, bar and seaside restaurant. renovated to a higher standard since beginning 2016. Pondok Bambu is a beautiful and comfortable dive resort located in the centre of Candidasa, Bali, Indonesia. Only one and a half hours drive from the International Airport Ngurah Rai. Surrounded by nature and tropical gardens, Pondok Bambu dive resort features rooms with balconies overlooking the gardens or the sea. The dive resort offers free private parking. Our facilities include our Bambu Divers dive center, restaurant, swimming pool, bar and 24 hour front desk service. Our swimming pool has two parts, shallow for kids and a depth of 2 meters for adults, where you can spend time to swim, relax and sunbathe on the sun beds. Or just go down the steps to the beach and lounge in the sea, or sunbathe on the beach. Our restaurant, with a view of the beach, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with a variety of options ranging from Asian to Western food, and with a special Dutch snack menu. The bar provides a place to relax while enjoying a drink and also enjoy the beauty of the sky at sunset. Pondok Bambu also offers you diving with Bambu Divers providing a special experience and unforgettable moments. Take a few dives, or take a PADI Open Water certification course; all of this can be arranged. From our dive resort you can explore the surroundings of Candidasa. You may want to visit Tenganan (a Bali Aga village, where Balinese live according to ancient traditions), visit any of the many temples and palaces in the area, join a ceremony, go trekking in the hills, and enjoy stunning views of the beautiful rice fields. Pondok Bambu for your best-of-Bali experience ask for our special walk inn prices for our bungalows. Your friends at Pondok Bambu ps. We are not having extra fee for tax and service like most restaurant who ask an extra 15 till 25% on top of your nota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pondok Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Bambu Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing