We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We travelled to Candi Beach Cottages from Maya Ubud Resort and Spa. We found this such a wonderful surprise in the quiet ambience and great ocean views. The location provides for a quiet, peaceful respite from the busy streets and tourist areas. We stayed in an ocean view cottage and could walk out to the ocean beach from our front door. The two pools are beautiful and the grounds are exceptionally maintained. The staff were super friendly.especially Armie, our waitress at the restaurant. There was nothing more pleasant and romantic than having the ocean as a backdrop to a candle light dinner. Even tho our stay was short, we plan to return again and again. It is nearly a thirty hour flight from Washington, DC. to Bali but worth every hour of it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambodiaWeCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustu, Public Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear CambodiaW..

Thank you for your nice comments
Your comments will influence, at least your colleague, your friends, or anyone you knew,
we been set our goal from the beginning is the customers focus and customers satisfaction. as we are fully aware of our future depend on our customers, without customers we will only wait an empty room, therefore your nice comments mean everything for us, again on behalf of my colleague we highly respect your nice comments.
If your need further information related to our Hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us directly

We are waiting your next visit in the near future

with kindness regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

We chose to stay in Candi Dasa because it was far away from Kuta. What a joy the place is! If you are looking for peace, quiet, great pools, no kids, calm surroundings,no hawkers,Balinese style elegance then this is the place to come. Leave your western ideas of what a resort should be back in a ritzy hotel in Sanur and you will thoroughly enjoy your stay. The only thing that could be improved upon is the variety of food offered in the restaurant. It is the same for lunch and dinner and snacks and becomes a bit repetitive. I will be returning this year and can't wait.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizandpaul14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustu, Public Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Dear Lizandpa,

Many thanks for Your valuable comments to us, it was really great benefit for our future.
Your constructive criticism will use for our further improvement. if you wish to get more information please do not hesitate to email us directly to sales@candibeachbali.com

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We've visited this hotel for the past 10 years. The breakfast buffet has improved from what it was several years ago. The rooms are still clean and well kept. They seem to do regular renovations on the rooms, so they are kept fresh.

The grounds are very peaceful. The gardens are green and lush. They do have a walking track around a grove of coconuts but for some reason they have cut off 1/3 of that walking track now. That is unfortunate but its still a nice peaceful walk.

Our kids enjoyed playing in the ocean but there is a lot of plastic rubbish that floats around and eventually into shore. The water looked clear but the floating plastics made me gag a few times. The hotel doesn't seem to have a very rigorous system yet to just check their beach and pick up the trash. They could give someone the simple task of checking the beach twice a day. Keep it cleaner.

Their pools are very nice. Clean. Well maintained. Great views here.

Staff is pleasant though reserved as in many places in Indonesia.

We'll stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndonesiaLongTerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustu, Public Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Many thanks for your kind thought, for this time being we had change some facilities in each room , also we changed the tiles into marble, from time to time we never ever stop to think for upgrading in all area of the Hotel. our aim that you will feel as home away from home, we do hope to meet you at the place will never forgotten.( Candi beach Cottages )

Best regards
Ida Bagus Putu Suadnyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Quite simply a terrible hotel. Location is ok if you like nothing to do but then it goes downhill from there. Filthy common areas, greasy floors in the eating areas, staff so sad they look like they are about to slit their wrists, absolutely no management on site, crumbling infrastructure, dingy lobby, rocky artificial beach, inedible food and ridiculously high prices. I would rate this as a 1 star hotel but with 5 star prices which is why there is no-one there apart from the odd cheap tour group waiting to be ripped off on food and drink. This is a candidate for one of the worst hotels in Asia on TripAdvisor, believe me. Looks like a mean owner just hanging onto the land and hasn't spent a dime for over 10 years or more on the place. Avoid at all costs! You have been warned!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CharlesTheVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustu, Public Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2011

Dear Sir,
We valued your comments and used for further improvements, from time to time we are focus to satisfy our Guest ( people meet people ) therefore our revenue since years driven by our repeaters ( almost 50% ) of our budget. we feel regret that we cannot fulfill your needs during your stay with us. Thank you for your attention

With Best regards

Ida Bagus Putu Suadnyana ( Gustu )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

First impression when arriving is disappointing. Lobby is dirty, dark and old. Staff is friendly but lack competence/knowhow. Cottages are small but nice. Cleaning of room was poor, beds were made, floor was cleaned but rooms are dusty, toilets only cleaned on top, not in bowl or inside! Poor hygiene! Food was mediocre, all inclusive not worth the money. Hotel is in need of renovation and proper management. Complaints are only met with "sorry" and a hide & seek game; once complaint is heard they ignore you..
Prices are european standard but service is below bali standard.
Setting of resort is wonderful, breathtakingly beautiful and with proper management could be a great place....But until then not worth the money.
Shuttle service to Candidasa is twice a day, 10am and at 2pm. Not much to do but nice to see anyway. Arranging tours with hotel is a hassle, bargaining is necessary.
Also massages at hotel are done by men and women, so if you have a preference, let them know in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plugje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustu, Public Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2011

Dear Sir,
We notice that we cannot fulfill your expectation, however we valued your comments and
we will use for our future improvement. We feel regret that you been out of a convert zone
which is not use to be, at present we doing some renovation in all rooms to ensure we could deliver higher level of services,

Thank you for your kind attention

With best regards
Ida Bagus Putu Suadnyana ( Gustu )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We have just returned from Bali and spent time in Sanur, Candi Dasa and Ubud. Whilst we have stayed at Candi Beach Cottages twice before (the last time was 2 years ago), we enjoyed it even more this time. The surroundings cannot be matched. There is a wonderful feeling of openess and it never feels crowded even though I beleive it was fully booked at the time. The breakfasts have vastly improved in two years and they offer just about everything you could ask for. Dining is still rather expensive compared to other places but they do have terrific set price barbeque/indonesian buffet dinners overlooking the beach twice a week which are great value and delicious. There are two nice little restaurants just down the beach (or out along the laneway) which are cheap and about 2 minutes walk. It is only about 20,000 rp into town where there are lots of nice eating alternatives. This is a quiet area which suits us fine. Staff also have improved and are friendly and helpful. Although rooms are not brand new, they are always clean and very comfortable. Hot water is always good which cannot be said for all hotels, and really if you want ultra modern glitzy hotels, spend a fortune or go to another country. A Bali visit is for relaxation, the culture, the wonderful people and the overall experience of the island, not necessarily how 'perfect' everything is. East Bali has a lot to offer and plenty to see without travelling too far. Our only negative was the price of internet/wifi access which was offered free in the other hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kendoandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustu, Public Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Your valuable comments encourage us to do something better, through your comments to
our Hotel will become the most superior in this site. Thanks only is not enough, when we starting involved in this industry we had set our goal to be one of the leading hospitality industry. we proud of, about to make our dream become a reality. the percentage to say something bad to our hotel is very small, we are optimist in future we can do better because of our people, we trust the products could be the same but our colleagues will make it different.


Warmly regards
Ida Bagus Putu Suadnyana ( Gustu )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

we arrived at this hotel thinking this may have been a terrible choice due to the dirty look of the lane that we travelled down. the reception area did not look all that inviting and the receptionist was under pressure as there was another group of two people arriving. I was not pleased when they said they preferred payment using visa instead of Amex....and handed my Amex card back....But after this average beginning we were shown to a room that was quite small but adequate. The room was very clean and the bathroom was not dated and in good repair. breakfast the following day was good as it was for the rest of our stay....Good without being great. The grounds of the hotel are magnificent and took my breath away. staff were friendly. but a big drawback was the distance from Candi dasa that the hotel was and the fact that the shuttle bus that went to candi dasa happened only twice per day. The hotel was too far to walk to Candi dasa and therefore we saved a little cash by booking at a restaurant for the following night.......The restaurants in candiprovide transport free of charge to and from there restaurant. all in all a good value stay at a nice resortt

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrchrisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarjana, Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Thank you for your very positive review and we thank you for staying with us during your last time holiday on the Island of Gods.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful resort, Candi Beach Cottage

with best regard,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candidasa
1.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#11 of 20 in Candidasa
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
296 reviews
24.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#17 of 78 in Sanur
2,308 reviews
15.9 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candi Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candi Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Mendira Beach, Sengkidu, Candidasa, Karangasem 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range: £53 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Candi Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the delightful Candi Beach Resort and Spa - Candi Beach Villas in peaceful east Bali, escape from the hustle and bustle, and embrace the tranquility. Spacious green tropical garden, clean beach and clear sea water. Our enchanting and intimate 4+ star resort rests amid swaying palm trees within the quiet and natural environs of the beautiful Mendira Bay, Candidasa in the royal Balinese regency of Karangasem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Candi Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candi Beach Cottage Hotel Candidasa
Candi Beach Cottage Karangasem
Candi Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing