We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Spa”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here as part of a 2 week diving trip with Aquamarine Diving (reviewed separately) This was one of the highlights of our stay in Bali. When we pulled up in the car the grand entrance with carved dragons was beautiful and very Balinese.

Quick and easy check in and you can put stuff away in the safe in reception.

The Villas were wonderful and spacious with outdoor bathrooms (no bugs encountered during our stay) immaculately clean as were the grounds. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom lovely with both bath and open shower. Plenty of wardrobe space and seating area. The hotel was pretty much full but it didn't feel that crowded we hardly saw anyone.

Pool was beautiful and there are lovely bales overlooking the beach...

The Spa is highly recommended, we had a free neck massage as part of our package and I had the reflexology treatment. I really wish I had discovered the spa sooner, the backdrop whilst you have treatments overlooking the lush gardens was so relaxing and the therapists were so charming and lovely. I wandered off to my room afterwards feeling like I was in a garden of eden!

Restaurant very nice, as well as the bar which had huge billowing white curtains and was lovely for pre-dinner drinks...the service in the restaurant was lovely and at breakfast time ..what a view! Extensive range at breakfast and great service.

You can walk into town to dine out and a lot of restaurants will then drop you home free of charge, what fantastic service!

We shall definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    177
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
108
253
31
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Look the resort is lovely, the rooms were great and the pool was very warm. Our issues were that we booked a Sea View room and the room we initially were given had a window that had a Sea View. We expected the balcony to be overlooking to sea so we asked to change and we couldn't change that day but the next day we were able to change our room and it was much better. So if you are booking a Sea View room make sure you ask for one that has the balcony facing the Sea because our first room looked out over the garden.
It was disappointing that the Pool Bar wasn't operational.
The restaurant had the exact same menu as the cafe by the pool which was disappointing. The food was only ordinary too, nothing special compared to other resorts we have stayed at.
Candidasa is a very quiet place, a little too quiet for us so we ended up cutting our stay there short and stayed 2 nights instead of 4.
Overall it is ok, the rooms are lovely and the bathroom is pretty cool. A very relaxing place.
I also recommend you try the restaurant Vincents up the road. They will also pick you up and drop you off free of charge.

Room Tip: If booking a Sea View room make sure you ask for one that has the balcony overlooking the sea, not j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Puri Bagus for five nights and it was a really good stay. The staff are unfailingly polite - standout polite actually - and any issues we had (e.g. noisy aircon) were attended to very promptly (but not necessarily very effectively - hey, it's Bali). The rooms are spacious (we had a garden room) if not a bit ill designed. More shabby Bali than uber chic Bali, but then remember what you're paying - the rates are reasonable. Beds pretty hard - which again seems to be standard for Bali hotels. Check in and check out were about as efficient as I've experienced in Bali - which suggests the management knows what they are doing. We had the complementary massage (USD5 for 15 minutes) and can recommend it. The restaurant is OK - good enough for a few nights in but will encourage you to range wider. Complementary breakfast was pretty standard for Bali, lots of fresh fruit, OK coffee, omelettes cooked as you wait etc. The only negative was actually a Candidasa one, rather than the hotel. Lack of a decent beach to walk on in the evening. Candidasa beaches (when they exist) are short, black sand and often disappear at high tide. You could swim in the sea without any trouble and the water was divine. Highly recommended (but read my other review of the restaurant at Alila Manggis and contemplate "slumming it" for a night or two at the other end of town).

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth paying extra for - particularly in the wet season when it gets very hum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We felt like visiting friends and family: the staff is doing the extra mile for each guest.
The location of the hotel is perfect:we did a lot of sightseeing, which was well prepared from the personnel.
The bubgalows were created with a lot of love. We didn't miss anything.
We also took the advantages of the spa program:we had a relaxing partner massage. The spa personnel is very professional.
The hotel is a must stay in Bali: perfect location for sightseeing, staff like family and balinese flaire!
We will go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patisarickbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Check In : Our room booked by Aquamarine Diving after reading a review here. Everything was very smooth and I can feel the real balinese style once I stepped in the resort compound. Very beautiful and well maintain.

Room : Our villa was garden. Excellent sea breeze from in front and very spacious and huge bedding. High ceiling and very big window oversee the outside. Toilet was semi outdoor. You can hear those bird at night and star view when having shower.

Facilities : Swimming was small but very deep, if not mistaken 3.2m. Enjoy having a dip with very strong wind from the sea. You can see big ship pass by very far away from resort. A lot of gazebo for guest to enjoy the sea, it was very calm and quiet.

Food : Having a first night dinner. Food was just average. For dinner, I prefer to eat at Vincent, around 5min by car.

Of course I will visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Sea View the best, but garden view only 1 point below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putraskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Puri Bagus for 6 nights, we got a good serve of Bali belly ( not from the resort ) and the staff made us some foods that were easy on the stomach for us even though these meals weren't on the menu. The staff are all very friendly, rooms are always clean and the restaurant menu is excellent.

After staying at Puri Bagus we went to a 5 star resort in Uluwatu, and we honestly preferred the service at Puri Bagus. We will definitely return again.

We also strongly recommend a boat ride / snorkel trip with Fisherman Made who can be found sitting on the wooden table of the beach out front of the hotel most days. He is friendly and trustworthy and knows good spots for snorkelling.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breukeleveen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

During our Bali trip we stayed 2 nights in hotel Puri Bagus Candidasa. Absolute marvellous. Beeing handicapped immediate after our arrival a room in the direct vicinity of the dining area was organised for me, and one of the crew showed me a way to the lobby where I did have to climb only a few steps to get to the stairs of the dining area. Stairs WITH a barrister! Breakfast, lunch and dinner are great. Breakfastbuffet beautifully arranged.The crew presents outstanding service with a well meant smile. The room very comfortable and the location of the hotel unique. Our stay was unforgettable and perfect. Next trip to Bali we will book this outstanding hotel for a longer period and recommend it to our friends. Fam. Verweij bolleverweij@casema.nl

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janjaapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.9 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#9 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#14 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Bagus Candidasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Bagus Candidasa

Property: Puri Bagus Candidasa
Address: Jl Raya Candidasa, Candidasa, Karangasem 80801, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
#1 Family Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Bagus Candidasa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A temple built in the 12th century resides on a lagoon by the edge of the sea. The village that surrounds this temple is known as Candidasa, where the villagers continue to enjoy their cultural lifestyle. On the beach nearby this temple is the resort of Puri Bagus Candidasa, consisting of 47 elegant bungalows designed in traditional Balinese style with all the modern amenities. Woven among beautiful tropical gardens we offer both sea view and garden view villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Bagus Candidasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Bagus Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing