We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amarta Beach Cottages
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Amarta but there are some basic things that need improving.

The rooms we had were very basic and lighting was insufficient. The mosquito net that hung over the bed was not adequate, the towels they provided for the room were very worn out, and almost every towel, we had for those 4 nights, had stains on them. The hotel rents out snorkelling gear but for a small price you get pretty useless gear.

On a positive note, the restaurant served a great menu, one of the best while we were travelling around Bali.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dhlchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    64
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
32
64
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed here about a month ago for a couple of nights. On the positive side, the grounds are very well manicured and looked after, and everything was very neat and tidy. The restaurant is also superb, probably some of the best cuisine I had in Bali. The wifi connection is also good if you are in the restaurant, although I didn't try it in the room.

On the negative side, the male reception and restaurant staff were barely courteous to me when I was there, maybe it was because I was travelling by myself. On checking in, I was greeted by a sour-faced receptionist who looked like he hadn't smiled since 1983 and had the personality of a brick. It was a bit strange and off-putting.

I had one of the older beach cottages by the water, and I have to say it wasn't worth what I paid for it, not when comparing to similar accommodation you can get in Bali. The ceiling light is ridiculously inadequate for illuminating the room at night, and you will find yourself fumbling round in the half dark through your bag under the bedside lamp trying to find something you need - an easy fix, but extremely annoying. The room also needed some basic furniture, such as a desk and chair. Again, for what they charge for these rooms, they're not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jman0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We spent a few nights here upon arrival in Bali. The place is quiet and pleasant, staff are friendly and helpful. Cabins are roomy enough. There is a nice pool.

The restaurant food provides a great variety of good food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank klimazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Id agree with previous reviewer that this place is a hidden gem but it has some problems..

Our check in was pretty weird. I booked this a few days before and my expectation was we would have a double room. Instead we were given a twin when we queried this and asked staff to solve the solution was we could cancel our booking and find something else.

The whole place is over run by ants. They run around the tables when you are eating. Our room was full of them too even though we didn't eat around our room.

There are mosquitos in the rooms too and no nets are provided.

They charge $5 a day for snorkeling gear that's in really bad condition. The masks leaked. The snorkels were cracked fins are ok though. Other guests experienced this as well. There is plenty of nice snorkeling right outside so my suggestion would be to bring a mask and snorkel.

The pool is very nice and clean. Food in general is good quality. The grounds are well looked after.

Anyone we spoke to who stayed in the sweets accommodation was really happy so perhaps the room issues are only with the budget rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hungry_Neilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just spent 2 nights 3 days at Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows. The "sweets" are nice and modern, missing perhaps only a coffee machine and a safe. Otherwise very nicely done and comfortable, with a view of the ocean from the bedroom. Pool is lovely, food is incredible-breakfast is simple, staff is okay, not overly friendly, but nice.
Mosquitos were an issue despite the lovely constant breeze.
Difficult to find but great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

A great find in unspoilt Candidasa. The food is V good and a nice mixed menu of indonesian and European. My bavette steak was perfectly cooked and Mia Mia with garlic butter was divine. Lovely restaurant by the sea. The reputation of this hotel has been built on the high standard of the food.

However since the addition last year of new bigger & more modern rooms the accommodation now equals the level of the food.

Book the "Sweet" rooms on the website. Photos on the website don't do the rooms justice - they are fabulous.

The older rooms are cute cottages. Definitely choose superior for AC, but do not compare with the new rooms. All the rooms face the sea and have great personal decorations.

The new seawater infinity pool is truly heavenly. The beach is tiny but this is normal for Candidasa. You can easily get in the sea to snorkel. You don't miss a bigger beach with such a good clean modern pool. They hire snorkel gear.

I googled "Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows" to find the hotel website & couldn't find it. I ended up booking through ABL (Ayu Bali Lestari) http://baliwww.com/ - as one of the only options to book. Be warned off doing this. Email communication was appalling, they quoted and took payment for an incorrect room rate. Turned up at the hotel and found out the rate was for a cottage with a fan. Luckily one of the "Sweet" villa rooms was available for 3 of our 4 nights. The extra cost not much at all. The management were really helpful. Emailed ABL Tours and never heard back - very shoddy. Go direct to www.amartabeachcottages.com

Quite a small hotel but fabulous. Only 6 "Sweet" rooms. Book ASAP, as new rooms will be in very popular once word gets out ; )

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kittylaroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I've been here couple of times with friends or my husband. We basically really like eating here. The food is good and reasonable. The view in the restaurant is beautiful too. The rooms are decent and nice. They need a bigger parking lot though. The location is also easy to find and close to the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ochie_DeMeulenaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.5 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
#15 of 20 in Candidasa
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#9 of 20 in Candidasa
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarta Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarta Beach Cottages

Property: Amarta Beach Cottages
Address: Sengkidu village, Candidasa, Karangasem, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarta Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amarta Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows Hotel Candidasa
Amarta Beach Hotel
Amarta Beach Cottages Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing