We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Picturesque by The Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amarta Beach Cottages
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed for 3 weeks at Amarta so plenty of time to judge the quality of the place. It is about 5 km from Candidasa, on the seafront beside the very quiet village of Sengkidu - with no traffic noise (a problem in Candidasa). The small bungalows all face the sea with views through a well kept garden and over the small but adequate Infinity Pool. Beside the Amarta Bungalows you can access a large white sand beach, close to coral and fish. I didn't use the goggles and flippers for hire but did hear lots of complaints about poor quality so check before you hire. For me that was the only complaint I heard in 3 weeks. There is a large restaurant open all day and it has a very wide range of dishes, especially fresh fish - The Grilled FIsh Meunière - divine! The rooms are either 2 single or a double bed, a few with air con but you don't really need it with the fresh sea breeze a constant. That would be my only other slight concern - the magnificent sea never sleeps so best if you like your nights filled with the sound of surf.
There are many quiet lanes to walk, unhassled by any traffic. A local village, Sengkidu, with temple nearby but the nearest shops about a kilometre away. You need to get a taxi in to Candidasa for any shopping or other eating choices but it's a delightful drive - about $5. There's also a 'taxi rank' outside Amarta Bungalows where you can always arrange a day trip to the numerous beautiful places along the east coast.
This is a place for a very quiet but beautiful stay in Bali - not much to do at all, except gaze out at that beautiful sea over to Nusa Penida. WiFI in the restaurant. Rooms cleaned each day. This is a great budget place to stay - don't expect a high end, fabulous linen, glossy magazine place - it's simple and a piece of 'heaven'. Oh .. the staff are all lovely too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Laine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We come almost every year to Candidasa for a few days but always stayed elsewhere. Friends recommended it so we thought we'd give it a try. The food is good - especially their vegetarian spahagetti pomodoro and the Mahi-Mahi. Staff were friendly and helpful. Being well away from the street and right on the water you are spared the noise of traffic that hurtles through the main drag where most of Candidada's hotels are located. Wi-fi was good as long as you are reasonably close to the the restaurant . In our room (10) we were too far away to get reception. The beach is better than most at Candidasa which are largely depleted of sand since the coral reef was mined decades ago to make cement to build the hotels (how short-sighted was that?) and there is also a pool. Our room lacked shelves or cupboards so there were not places to put things. In a bathroom you need a place to put your toiletries and hang towels but there was only a tiny glass shelf above the basin.The bed was a good size and comfortable with mosquito nets but we didn't notice mosquitos anyway. There was a slightly nauseous smell in our bathroom which could have been a minor gas leak from the califont but might also have been emanating the septic, but noticeable only while in the bathroom. On the whole this is a pleasant and affordable place with nice gardens and a warm relaxing atmosphere. We love the sound of the sea which is ever present. The food is some of the best we've had in Bali. We would recommend it to friends and return in future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Amarta but there are some basic things that need improving.

The rooms we had were very basic and lighting was insufficient. The mosquito net that hung over the bed was not adequate, the towels they provided for the room were very worn out, and almost every towel, we had for those 4 nights, had stains on them. The hotel rents out snorkelling gear but for a small price you get pretty useless gear.

On a positive note, the restaurant served a great menu, one of the best while we were travelling around Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dhlchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed here about a month ago for a couple of nights. On the positive side, the grounds are very well manicured and looked after, and everything was very neat and tidy. The restaurant is also superb, probably some of the best cuisine I had in Bali. The wifi connection is also good if you are in the restaurant, although I didn't try it in the room.

On the negative side, the male reception and restaurant staff were barely courteous to me when I was there, maybe it was because I was travelling by myself. On checking in, I was greeted by a sour-faced receptionist who looked like he hadn't smiled since 1983 and had the personality of a brick. It was a bit strange and off-putting.

I had one of the older beach cottages by the water, and I have to say it wasn't worth what I paid for it, not when comparing to similar accommodation you can get in Bali. The ceiling light is ridiculously inadequate for illuminating the room at night, and you will find yourself fumbling round in the half dark through your bag under the bedside lamp trying to find something you need - an easy fix, but extremely annoying. The room also needed some basic furniture, such as a desk and chair. Again, for what they charge for these rooms, they're not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jman0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We spent a few nights here upon arrival in Bali. The place is quiet and pleasant, staff are friendly and helpful. Cabins are roomy enough. There is a nice pool.

The restaurant food provides a great variety of good food.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank klimazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Id agree with previous reviewer that this place is a hidden gem but it has some problems..

Our check in was pretty weird. I booked this a few days before and my expectation was we would have a double room. Instead we were given a twin when we queried this and asked staff to solve the solution was we could cancel our booking and find something else.

The whole place is over run by ants. They run around the tables when you are eating. Our room was full of them too even though we didn't eat around our room.

There are mosquitos in the rooms too and no nets are provided.

They charge $5 a day for snorkeling gear that's in really bad condition. The masks leaked. The snorkels were cracked fins are ok though. Other guests experienced this as well. There is plenty of nice snorkeling right outside so my suggestion would be to bring a mask and snorkel.

The pool is very nice and clean. Food in general is good quality. The grounds are well looked after.

Anyone we spoke to who stayed in the sweets accommodation was really happy so perhaps the room issues are only with the budget rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hungry_Neilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just spent 2 nights 3 days at Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows. The "sweets" are nice and modern, missing perhaps only a coffee machine and a safe. Otherwise very nicely done and comfortable, with a view of the ocean from the bedroom. Pool is lovely, food is incredible-breakfast is simple, staff is okay, not overly friendly, but nice.
Mosquitos were an issue despite the lovely constant breeze.
Difficult to find but great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.5 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#6 of 20 in Candidasa
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarta Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarta Beach Cottages

Address: Sengkidu village, Candidasa, Karangasem, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range: £19 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarta Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amarta Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows Hotel Candidasa
Amarta Beach Hotel
Amarta Beach Cottages Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing