We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Gem' in Candidasa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alam Asmara Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Candidasa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A 'Gem' in Candidasa”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just stayed with my wife in the Alam Asmara for two nights. A super, small, condensed 'gem' close to the Candidasa temple and a small lake. Very romantic rooms with all amenities expected. All rooms are the same. Excellent, professional staff and, above all .... a great restaurant with a perfect service. Breakfast with a super view on the four little islands in the sea. A boutique type of hotel. Just one funny thing: for the romantic dinner, the couple is put on a little stage ... next to the swimming pool.

Room Tip: All rooms are alike. Even the closest to the reception, 102, is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    55
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
170
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bussum
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for only one day but we will certainly come back. The hotel has a very nice layout, the kitchen of the adjoining restaurant is very good but the real asset of the resort is the very friendly staff. We highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie70Bussum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

our first stay in candidasa and one we will repeat often i hope. this small beach village reminds me of how bali used to be.

the staff were friendly and helpful, rooms very comfortable, and the piece de resistance was the pool overlooking the ocean. we swam in clear water which was safe and perfect, descending a few steps to the ocean (enclosed by a large wall). i loved the curry in rendezvous restaurant too - so much so i ate it 3 times!

Room Tip: all rooms are the same but there are a couple with double balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniebell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent 5 nights here with my wife, from the moment we arrived I loved it. The rooms are very clean and the walkways with rivers of coy carp swimming below are cool. The staff remember your name and greet you. All in all a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyGuy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just spent the last 5 nights at this hotel. It was lovely. Suspended walkways over water, filled with coy carp, leading to only 12 bungalows. The infinity pool overlooks the sea, alongside the restaurant. The staff were very attentive and called us by our first names the whole time we were there. The service and food were great. The only negative we had was there was nothing in the rooms regarding tours or excursions. Or any info on local attractions. Everything else was just great. A perfect 2nd part of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, some are closer to reception, some are closer to the pool. Ours was closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa6974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I totally love this place. A wonderful oasis at the end of a quiet lane. The restaurant if fabulous, the staff attentive an the view of the sea divine. My partner loved the fish ponds and even went and bought them some food. I had two amazing massages and can thoroughly recommend the lime scrub. Although the little huts are fairly close to each other you feel totally private. I also love the outdoor bathroom. All in all probably almost my favourite place I stayed in Bali. We also took a scooter and followed the coastline up to Amed and it was wonderful, very quiet and hardly any other traffic on the road.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I cannot help but return to Alam Asmara. I keep returning because of the quality of the service, attention to detail, clean rooms, peace and quiet, the wonderful Rendezvous Restaurant, the location on the sea, the beautiful garden and fish ponds, the amazing view overlooking the sea and little islands and the wonderful welcoming staff. The time flew by because I love to swim, snorkel and go out in the traditional boat to the many excellent snorkelling locations and many days relaxing at White Sand Beach. I also enjoy walking in the nearby Samuh Village with the myriad coconut trees, banana trees, chickens and the friendly villagers. It's on a flat surface and the staff can tell you where to go as it's a beautiful round trip half hour walk. I also like visiting the shops for souvenirs on the main road and presently the footpaths are being renovated. Alam Asmara is in a great location to see the sites and is not on the main road (no traffic noise whatsoever. The included breakfast consists of any style eggs, fresh fruit juice or tropical fruit, a basket consisting of toast and pastries and there is even oats, yoghurt, fruit, toast. The lunch and dinner menu is varied and delicious. Try the Italian jumbo cappuccino brought on a tray with biscuits. Everything is so beautifully presented - attention to detail. For example some days there is a towel decoration on the huge king sized bed or flowers and he bed turned down at night and the mosquito net drawn but there are no mosquitoes as there is air conditioning and the hotel is regularly fumigated. The rooms have good bedside lights, TV, phone etc. I love snorkelling in the lagoon at medium tide and there are steps leading down to the water at the sea front of the hotel. There is no beach but sun beds and umbrellas face the sea. The pool is sparkling clean and the garden and public areas are always being cleaned. This is a small 12 room hotel and all rooms are private with tea and coffee. The bathroom is spacious and water pressure and temperature is very good. There is an in room safe and I find that there is sufficient cupboard space. Pack lightly because the hotel offer an inexpensive laundry service and being Bali, it is casual dress. This hotel is romantic and intimate and great for young honeymooners; a great venue for a small wedding; and those seeking a relaxing holiday. I was travelling solo this time but I never felt lonely. The management had even placed a framed photo of my husband and I together on the bedside table on arrival! Now, that's what I call good customer service for a repeat client and extremely thoughtful. Also if it happens to be your birthday and even if you don't inform the staff, they note this from your passport and you will be presented with a birthday cake and a rendition of the "Happy Birthday" song from the sweet staff. The hotel can arrange all of your tours, diving/or diving lessons, and will go to great lengths to please you, even helping me with my mobile phone problem. The Management also have a social conscience and support an orphanage in Amlapura. I have already travelled around Bali previously and I was just happy to relax, read 4 books, swim, snorkel at this gorgeous hotel with the wonderful Balinese staff. You can also see a Balinese dance display on 2 nights of the week and when there are important ceremonies you'll see the placement of offerings at the shrines located in the grounds. The hotel spa is also very good. Alam Asmara is value for money and it never ceases to surprise me and I will keep returning to this "haven" in East Bali.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size and layout and very clean and comfortable with good bedside lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ketut17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.5 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#14 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rama Shinta Hotel
Rama Shinta Hotel
#10 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Asmara Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Asmara Dive Resort

Property: Alam Asmara Dive Resort
Address: Jl. BTN Candi Dasa, Candidasa, Karangasem 80871, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Candidasa
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Asmara Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alam Asmara Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Asmara Dive Hotel Candidasa
Alam Asmara Dive Resort Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing