We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular views, privacy and great accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
View (1) from the front deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View (1) from the front deck
Ground level entry Upper level dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
View (1) from the front deck
Ground level entry
Upper level dining
Bedroom 1
Bathroom 1
The cool pool
Downstairs sitting room
Self-contained kitchens
Relax reading a book from the extensive library
Sunset on the deck
Massage time
Sacred Mt Agung
Late afternoon view over the village
Visit the Water Palace, Tirta Ganga
Sea views from the villa
Our village, Nyuhtebel
Peanut harvest time
Agung
Please don't feed the monyets!
Fancy a 'sundowner'?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PSfazz
Ballina, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, privacy and great accomodation”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I spent six nights at Butterfly Villa. We arrived at night and we were very impressed with beautiful decor and furnishing of the villa. It was not until the morning that the stunning views added to appreciation of the villa. We arranged with Nyomen on the evening before to have breakfast on the large deck overlooking rice fields, the ocean and the imposing Agung. With the help of Nyomen, who is a wealth of information, and also with the recommendations provided by our host Peter and Lesley, we planned our days ahead.
We have only visited Candidasa once during a day-trip many years ago. We were very surprise how much it had changed but still retaining its quiet village atmosphere. Candidasa is blessed with great eating places. We can suggest, Loaf (great coffee) the German Cafe, Dining Room, Smileys and Hungry Crocodile. But there are many more we did not get around to trying.
We took a day trip to Amed to do a bit of snokelling off the beach. On Noyomen's advice, we took the longer coast road going there. This road is narrow and windy and goes through a number of villages. The views however are spectacular. Our Driver was Katut who picked us up at the airport. We can highly recommend him. His care on that windy road was notable and he stopped for the many Kodak moments.
We were not disappointed with Amed. We stopped at Vienna Beach. We hired the snorkelling gear there. The coral and brilliant fish could be see just off the beach and the water was clear and warm.
On our return, we called in on the Water Palace, well worth a visit. The return trip also went through many rice terraces which was spectacular. You can arrange Katut through Nyomen.
Thoroughly recommend Butterfly Villa and Candidasa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, Nyomen and Wayun's breakfast
Liked least: the walk up the hill
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thanks for the great review, Peter. We're so glad you enjoyed Kupu Kupu Villa and Candidasa and the region. You know now why we so love the place and its people. Peter and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasso
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I've just returned from spending 4 magical weeks at this beautiful villa. Unbelievable views of the jungle, rice fields, mountains and, due to some trees being cut down whilst I was there, stunning sea views.

The wildlife on your door step, and on balcony railing at times, is unbelievable. The monkeys in the trees are quite entertaining morning and evening. Cockerels crowing in the morning to herald in another day in lovely Candidasa. Bats and lizards coming out to play under cover of darkness. It's all here.

The villa itself is very comfortable wit air con in the upstairs bedroom. Lovely shower room. Spacious sitting/dining room. Fabulous terrace which allows you to gaze across the most picturesque scenery one could imagine.

The staff on hand were a pleasure and always helpful to do as much or as little as you needed. Transfers worked a treat. Extremely reliable.

Booking with the owner direct was a very straightforward process. Peter and Lesley make their home available so that people like me can experience something beautiful in Bali.

If you plan on visiting Candidasa for a visit you must, absolutely must do your utmost to stay here. It would be such a shame to miss out on the best view on the island of Bali.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: There isn't a single thing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your comments, Kathleen. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and saw for yourself why we love Bali and Candidasa so much.
Peter and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Villa, Private Hideaway”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our first trip to Bali was 35 years ago. Subsequent visits over the past 10 years left us feeling that Bali had lost its charm and become too commercialized. However our stay in this wonderful villa perched above Nyuhtebel village, the small village below, proved us wrong. Watching the local villagers go about their daily rituals of work, family and worship was refreshing.... away from the hustle and bustle of the southern parts of Bali. The 'real' Bali was still alive and well.
Kupu Kupu Villa is a clean spacious villa with all that you could ask for. The small but cool plunge pool ensured that despite the heat you could be refreshed. The fans and the cool breeze coming from the ocean across the vast veranda kept the villa cool and mosquito free.
Nyoman, Wayan, Nungah and Made made us feel welcome and took care of our every need. The breakfasts out on the veranda each morning were delicious and allowed us time to chat to the staff about their lives. Nyoman organised transport and suggested some fantastic activities. Nothing was too much trouble. Wayan even organised a massage within the confines of the villa.
The villa is situated a very short stroll from the main street of Candi Dasa.... bakeries, restaurants and shops.
Our stay in Kupu Kupu Villa was a lovely mix of relaxing (watching the villagers go about their daily lives), strolls into 'town' and couple of short trips to local beaches, a rice terrace trek (which was a real highlight) and 'chilling' by the pool.
The information in the villa about the local area and the villa itself was excellent. Our next visit to Bali will definitely include a stay at Kupu Kupu Villa and explore the area more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness, staff and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin La...
1 review
“This really is the REAL Bali ... it doesn't get better than this"”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I experienced the real Bali more than 20 years ago, but were concerned on arrival in late August 2015 that because of the change that has taken place, this wouldn't be possible. Fortunately, this place proved us wrong. As a family, we unanimously voted it the favourite of the five places we stayed at during our 2 1/2 week holiday. We hadn't expected it to be because the owner's description and photos on TripAdvisor were understated.

As the holiday planner, I had been apologising to my family for the place in advance, believing that it would be the most authentic but basic house we would stay in, reminiscent of the places my wife and I stayed in while we were backpacking all those years ago. We were blown away to find it was almost a mansion with views not only of the cornfields, jungle and village below, but also the sea (although this was apparently because the trees in front of the house had lost their leaves because of the unusual dryness of the climate at the moment). We thought we might suffer because of the lack of airconditioning, but the ceiling fans and sea breezes kept the place cool in a more natural and pleasant way. We thought we would have a long trek to the cafe, shopping and hotel strip along the waterfront, but this proved to be accessible without being intrusive. We thought our teenage boys might be bored with the pace of life in the village around the house, but they loved it, being able to balance authentic Balinese culture, tradition and lifestyle with the entertainment and social activities available in the "strip".

The highlights of our stay included living in an authentic Balinese village, taking part in the Full Moon Ceremony at the village temple (the only Europeans to do so), and meeting Nyoman and his wife Wayan (who run the place and come in each morning to make delightful breakfasts) and Ian and Julia (the delightful Australian couple who live next door),

My wife and I have talked with the villa's owner about coming to stay again next year. Next time, there are many things we won't be bothering to do that we did this time, such as visiting Bali's oldest village up the road (it's hardly any different to the village we stayed in) and travelling to White Sand Beach (which isn't a patch on Blue Lagoon where we had gone snorkelling a few days before). Next time, we'll get more involved in the life of Nyuhtebel village, explore the nearby jungle, and spend some time working directly with the children at nearby orphanages (instead of what we did - attending a fundraiser at the Bali Palms Resort where "helping the kids" was used by tourists who had never left the resort as justification for over-consumption of food and alcohol).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieHU
Debrecen, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Real Bali-paradise”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a view and how nice people. Very smooth booking and communication with the owner, useful info how to get there, what we should expect, etc. THANKS! The house is beautiful, very quiet, close to everything. The view is hard to be described-rice field, palm tree forest with some monkey:) The pool is amazing-small but enough for two. The manager Nyo and his wife are taking care of everything-they make lovely breakfast and guide you in what you need (dining, travelling, beaches, etc.). Spent 4 nights but seemed to be there for a while. We are glad to find Kupu-Kupu Villa and would come back as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Long stress free days with the choice of many and varied activities.
Liked least: Variable but generally poor water pressure.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxation.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing