We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Paranaque B&B and Inns
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited family who lived in the area. We stayed for 4 days then extended another 2 because of the outstanding service and how nice the property is. Shopping is a minimal walk or short trike right away. THE ROOM RATE BEYOND RIGHT....Highly recommended and we look forward to our next trip there. WE LOVED IT!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyc866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Owner at The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you dearly for taking time to write us a review. It was our pleasure to have made your stay in Manila enjoyable.

We look forward to having you at the Purple Tree again.

Sincerely,

The Purple Tree B&B Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
11
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caloocan, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Last week, when the strong typhoon "Glenda" hit our country, the power in our area (Bacoor, Cavite) was cut off on July 17 (Wednesday) at around 2 am. But we still stayed in our house for another night. But knowing that the water supply from the tank in our subdivision will be running out too, my husband and I decided to look for a place to stay until electricity in our area will be restored. Fortunately, I saw this place (The Purple Tree) online and booked a room for us right away. I checked out the place first in the morning of Thursday (July 18). The staff were accommodating and allowed me to see the room. It was clean and orderly. Although there was also no electricity in their area, they were using a generator. So, on that evening, my husband and I checked in. After 2 nights of lack of sleep in our house, we were able to get a good sleep at Purple Tree. Plus, we had free breakfast the following morning. But what more than the place and the accommodation, I am definitely pleased with the GREAT SERVICE provided by the staff. I will surely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Owner at The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Ma'm,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us a review. We are glad that we were able to provide you and your husband a comfortable and pleasant stay in such a challenging time.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Power was down after the storm and we desperately needed a place to book the family. Fortunately, Purple Tree was open. We booked 2 rooms. Rooms were exceptionally clean and the staff were so helpful. The rooms were so cozy and we were able to get a good night sleep, which we desperately needed after two days of no power at home, Breakfast was nice too! With Dayrits Restaurant right inside Purple Tree, we had everything we needed. If you need a place in the Paranaque area, the Purple Tree B&B is the place. Their tagline is Happy Place. It truly was for us. Thank you Purple Tree!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maricel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Owner at The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Maam/Sir,

Thank you very much for taking time to write us a review. We are glad to be of service to you in such a challenging situation. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you again.

Many thanks.

The Purple Tree B&B Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My friends and I needed an alternative since our out of town trip could not push through. We decided to try this very accessible place near the highway exit. To my surprise, its interiors and facilities are all excellent. From the room accommodation to the food and staff, everything was perfect for something unplanned. This is also a beautiful venue for small weddings, family reunions, and barkada outings. Will definitely come back and spend more nights here! Cheers, Purple Tree!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheboy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Owner at The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We hope to have again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I visited Manila. Traffic was terrible . We spent 2 1/2 hrs from airport to purple tree, we were staving and tired as flight delayed for 2 hrs from Kalibo-Manila. Hotel staff waited us 2 hrs in the airport. Unfortunately, they were not informative: throughout the journey we were assured by the hotel staff that this was the norm in Manila and were asked to be patient; later found out if high way was used, we would able to reach purple tree within 20 mins. We actually didn't mind paying 60 peso to avoid all these hassle.

Bed was nice and cleaned. But the room was too small, hardly to turn around.

We were unlucky as the toilet flush was not working well. Water power just too low for you to enjoy the bath.

Purple tree located far away from the city, if you wish the visit places like intramuros, traffic can kill you easily.

Although 7-11, shopping mall within walking distance, nearby restaurant would be closed by 10pm.

For 3 days stays, the hotel staffs were trying hard to make us comfortable. But overall the stays were disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaniceTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Owner at The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sir/M'am,

I refer to the review you have submitted with regards to our property, which appears to be related to the previous review.

As mentioned previously, we regret that your arrival was timed at a day when traffic was just extraordinary, after the rains that was experienced that day. We hope you understand that this is certainly beyond our control and while you were in our hotel vehicle, our staff tried their best to keep you all comfortable. We assure you that on a normal day, travel time whether using the skyway and not, just has a difference of 5-10 minutes. It was just that traffic was very unusual during that day.

We regret that you found that you found the room too small. But we hope you consider that you were four persons in the room and you had an extra bed. This would certainly make the room a little tighter than usual.

With regards to the location, we are located in Paranaque City which is South of Manila. See, Manila is a very big city. The convenience of the location would vary depending on what you want to do. If you are referring to Intramuros, than that would certainly be some 22-23 kms away from the Purple Tree.

There are many good restaurants in the area that are open until the wee hours of the morning. There are also a lot of restaurants inside SM BF mall that you can choose from. Our front desk staff, if asked, could have helped guide you in this regard.

As to the bathroom malfunction- as I indicated in my reply to the previous review, all rooms are inspected for functionality, including the bathrooms prior to allowing its use. The malfunction happened the day after you checked in. Our maintenance staff worked on it and found that something had caused a clog on the toilet. But this was addressed and fixed within 30 minutes of the complaint. We apologize for this inconvenience but rest assured that we respond and fix issues like this immediately. We were not aware that there were issues with regards to the water pressure during that time, however we have looked into this and conducted some adjustments to ensure that this will not be experienced at all in the future.

Nevertheless, we thank you for your comments and hope for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This B&B is actually quite far from Manila town (1hour + driving distance with the traffic). It also took us nearly 2 hours from airport to reach this B&B! (just outrageous).

For traveller who wants to go around manila, I would strongly suggest you to choose the accommodation near the manila center than this place.

Room is kinda small. Interior of the B&B is just so so only.

We had problem with our toilet bowl flushing, it took them some times to fix it.

And we were shocked when the staff come to collect money from us for using the swimming pool! We paid 200 peso for 2 person.

Overall, just an average B&B, but with very bad location and traffic jam.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Owner at The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

We refer to your review with respect to your stay with us.

The location of our B&B is in the South of Manila and all references to our B&B is clear on this. We even show our map on our website. We never claimed or indicated that we are in the the heart of Manila.

The Manila traffic which you experienced was beyond our control. We are sorry that your trip was timed at a time where heavy rains just occurred and it was a day that the traffic was beyond normal conditions.

With regards to the rooms, please note that rooms are inspected thoroughly before allowed for use, and this includes the toilets and all bathroom fixtures. Your room's toilet malfunctioned the morning after your check in. Our maintenance people noted that there were debris in the toilet that caused the malfunction. This was addressed as soon as you reported it and in fact you were given access to the toilet in the nearest room to you for your use. The maintenance report shows that this was addressed and resolved within 25 minutes after the complaint was made.

With regards to pool use- it is uncommon for B&B's to offer this amenity. Considering that we keep our room prices low, we certainly need to impose a minimal charge for the use of pool facilities, for maintenance purposes. This charge is only applied to guests availing of our standard promo rates and not for the de luxe and superior rooms guests. This charge also covers the use of towels and the toiletries provided to guests when in the pool.

We hope for your understanding in this regard.

Just the same, we value your comments and thank you for staying with us. Should there be an opportunity that you may stay with us again, we will certainly try our best to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I travel to the philippines annually and discovered the Purple Tree via Trip advisor. I only stayed for a few days. I have tried several hotels in the area but on my next visit the PurpleTree will be my only accomadation in manila. Value for money...Hospitality...Attention to detail....Service... the PT is, without a doubt, the best place I have stayed in the Paranaque. Upon arrival we were greeted with hospitlity and warm smiles from, both the owner(s) and staff. Understandably, as a relatively new establishment, the room I booked did not have a proper cabinet to hang/place my clothing so the staff made it a priority to find me a room I would be satisfied with. ( **since been rectified by installing cabinets in that particular room**) I had a good view of the pool and the A/C worked just fine. Water pressure was great and daily room cleaning was good. The resturant is acceptable as a place to enjoy a good continantal breakfast and a affordable lunch/dinner. There are many places to try in the area for lunch/dinner if one choses.The hallways were lined with art from a local artist. I sat with the owner ( JJ) one day and expressed a minor concern with him. He listened with an open mind and will satified my concern with my next visit. The pool area has a "waterfall" type system and the high walls make one forget the hustle bustle of the big city and took me away to a tropical island. It was very refreshing in the heart of Manila.
Terry (Canada)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cdo1232013, Owner at The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to having you again at The Purple Tree in your next visit. Just write us an email whenever you will be coming to Paranaque again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paranaque hotels
5.7 mi away
Red Planet Aseana City, Manila
1.5 mi away
Oyster Plaza Hotel
Oyster Plaza Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paranaque
62 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hyatt City of Dreams Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Isabelle Royale Hotel
Isabelle Royale Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paranaque
152 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nobu Hotel Manila
Nobu Hotel Manila
#3 of 17 in Paranaque
575 reviews
5.3 mi away
Nichols Airport Hotel
Nichols Airport Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paranaque
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Address: 35 President's Avenue, BF Homes, Paranaque, Luzon 1719, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Paranaque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Paranaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home! Along President's Avenue, our little Eden is a peaceful retreat from Paranaque City's hustle and bustle. Only minutes away from the airport, city commercial centers and residential areas. The Purple Tree family is here to help. Feel free to contact us should you have any inquiries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Zenrooms, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purple Tree Bed & Breakfast Metro Manila, Philippines - Paranaque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing