We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house in stunning setting. Calm and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cercal, Setubal District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
342gordon...
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing house in stunning setting. Calm and peaceful.”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house is very comfortable and furnished really tastefully with great attention to detail. There is everything you need for a perfect stay, including a bath tub with a great view, an indoor fireplace, BBQ equipment, beach assessories and a fully equipped kitchen.
The house is located on a small hill surrounded by cork oaks, blessfully isolated which allows you to enjoy the unspoiled Alentejo countryside. We loved sitting on the veranda and watch the sun set over the little valley just infront of the house. The next village for groceries is a short drive by car and also the beautiful beaches of Milfontes are not far.
The hosts Cher and Toby added the final touch to a perfect stay, extremely helpful, always available in case we had questions and just a bunch of very nice people.
We did not want to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OJC D
2 reviews
“what a wonderful place”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

As far as the holiday escapes go, Sernadinha may just be the perfect one! Whether you are running away from the city buzz, planning a romantic getaway or just seeking some quiet time to boost your creativity and recharge your batteries, this is just the place.

For us, it happened to be our honeymoon, and we could not have wished for a better place to stay.

We stayed in Casa Pequena, or the Little House, which is perfectly sized and equipped for two people. We both are frequent travellers for work, and have done our share of staying in hotels of all sorts, however, from the moment we stepped into Casa Pequena, we knew we were in a special place. The place strikes a rare balance of being cosy, contemporary, tasteful, sophisticated, simple and authentic. Behind every seemingly effortless detail there is a lot of thought and consideration invested by its owners Cher and Toby.

The kitchen is equipped with everything to satisfy one's cooking needs (even an apron!). The bedroom boasts a huge comfy bed, with a mosquito net, which is not only a practical solution, which anyone who is not a fan of mosquito bites would appreciate (we certainly did), but also adds to the cosy charm of the room. But perhaps, the main highlight of the bedroom is the bathtub, located just next to the bedroom window, allowing you to melt away your stress, while watching the sunset. The beautiful gazebo on the doorstep, overlooking the valley, which fades into horizon, is a perfect place for breakfast, a candlelit dinner, or a relaxing late-afternoon glass of wine. The little garden just outside the house offers a selection of fresh herbs for cooking or making a fresh soothing cup of tea. Even the driving directions were hugely helpful, so don't ignore them.

The beaches are only 20 mins away, and we loved driving around the south west coast of Alentejo and exploring its quiet, stunning beaches. So, it worked perfectly for us.

When thinking about Sernadinha, it is not just the place, the design of the accommodation and the serene beauty of an Alentejano village that makes it - it is really the care and thought that has been put into making one's stay a very special experience, and that care is priceless; and only possible to be created by people that are genuinely inspiring (thank you Cher and Toby!).

We would come back in a heartbeat (and we will!). In fact, both my husband and I have been raving about this place to our colleagues and friends. When something is that wonderful you have to share it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimN_05
Gennep, The Netherlands
1 review
“Wonderfull stay at Casa Pequena”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Casa Pequena in august 2017. We had only seen pictures of the house on the Internet. When we arrived it was even better then we expected. The house has a lot of privacy, it's a very quit place to stay in the middle of nature. The house is very well maintained and very clean. It has enough space to have a wonderfull vacation. And last but not least, the owners of the property, Toby and Cher, they are very good hosts. Their hospitality was great and they gave us some good advice about visiting Lissabon and other nice places. It's definitly one of the best places we ever stayed at. Thanks again for the wonderfull stay and keep up the good work!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yago L
1 review
“Lovely rural house”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Casa Pequena is a beautifull and comfortable little house in the top of a hill of an Alentejo's little village. It has anything you need and more! The place is quiet and just about 20-25 minutes far from the beaches by car. We had a nice garden full of plants and aromatic herbs, barbecue and a wooden pergola... We have to say a word about the incredible bathtub and its sights! Toby & Cher treated us incredibly well so we felt like home. When we arrived a bottled of red wine was waiting for us and in the cupboard we found coffee, tea and what it seemed housemade honey, oregano and paprika. Then they came say hello and shows us around with a basket of freshly picked tomatoes and aubergine. Each four days they brought us some more freshly picked vegetables when they changed our towells, sheets, flowers, bath mats, cloths... We had a very lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcolm w
East Hoathly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate villa in a beautiful, peaceful countryside location”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Toby and Cher are great hosts and provide first class accommodation with everything you'd expect - and more - even the kitchen knives are sharp, a rarity!
Lovely, colourful garden and high end furnishings make this a very comfortable place to stay. About 20/25 minutes to the coast which is glorious.
I shall remember lying in the hammock with a cold beer for a long time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omissirev
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really special place”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The photos are truthful to what you'll find, but you'll have to be there to feel the amazing atmosphere of the place. We rarely return to the same accommodation, but for Sernadinha we had to open an exception. It's like a home away from home. Toby and Cher saved no efforts in trying to meet our needs and making us feel welcomed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper B
2 reviews
“Come in Spring And You'll be in Paradise”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

After already having spent one fantastic week at this beautiful place in December, we returned to the Casa Pequena for another week in early May. Toby and Cher recommended this time of year to witness the blossoming plants and let's just say: This is paradise!

The house was immaculate, everything you could faintly think of was taken care of. We barbequed, enjoyed the hammock, beach bag and umbrella. We went for walks in the estate and swimming in the sea.

Mid-way into our stay, our sheets and towels were changed, making our stay even more luxurious. Toby and Cher are the perfect hosts and it was so nice to see them again! They are very responsive, easy going and informative. We recommend this peaceful place to everyone looking for a relaxing break of city life. Would love to be back and do it all again some time...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing