We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was very hard to leave...”
Review of Monte da Choca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sao Teotonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monte da Choca
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sao Teotonio
London
1 review
“It was very hard to leave...”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We left it late and had to find a last minute solution, but when we finally got there, almost at midnight we couldn't believe our luck . Set in a slightly remote village, Monte De Choca has a very special vibe. Relaxed and homely with a gorgeous swimming pool, a beautiful slightly wild garden and friendly family of cats and dogs.
We spent our nights BBQing on our own private BBQ out in the terrace next to friendly neighbours. 10 minutes drive every morning and we were in Odeceixe - the best surf beach in the world (subjectively speaking). The cottages are the kind that make you feel at home in a second and have everything you need for cooking. A big supermarket was 5 minutes drive awaye so it was all super easy. Rudolfo the host couldn't be more perfect, relaxed and cool he spread a nice vibe around his gorgeous estate making the guests feel looked after but giving them space- an art that not many hosts can master..Monte De Choca is is a place perfect for surfers and hikers and generally for chilled out people. We've been to more lux places later on in our Portugese adventure but never felt as good. We are already thinking about coming back...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tal_jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
EU
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

For us, it was not the most fortunate choice. Yes, it is quiet, green, secluded. Even if this is what I usually look for, with a toddler and bad weather (very windy and cold in April), I realized we should better be somewhere else - with more people, more safe space to run around, a town to go for a walk.
As to the place, it has its charm, the animals (dogs and cats that is) can be annoying, the rooms are cozy and functional, the price is fair. There is a supermarket is 5 mins by car (car is necessary to move around), the beaches are anywhere between 10 min to 40 min drive away, the landscape is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sputnik-dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

What an amazing gem of a find with fabulous hosts Rudy (who speaks five languages) and Angelica ( a delightful Brazilian lady). Nothing is too much trouble and the views are breathtaking. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage which was immacultate and clean with tables and chairs outside. It is so peaceful and we relaxed within a day. The animals bring the place alive and the dogs will gently follow any one who is going for a walk. The pool, lush gardens, the cats and the giant chessbord is great for children and the deserted beahes are only 15 mins away. This place is surrounded by eucalyptus trees and the scent fills the air. It is a is very well designed in a rustic style and Angelica does the fabulous craft work for the accomodation. The place oozes character from every pore. The fully equiped kitchens has everything you would want and there are several barbecue areas for guests to use, and plenty of walks if you can tear yourself away. There is no fitness centre or restuarant on site but there is a very reasonably priced cafe at the end of the road and several good restuarants nearby. The supermarkets are near by and there are plenty of trips to take from here. We had a great day out to St Vincent to the south west with stops at forts and towns. A car is essential to explore the Alentego region fully.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms depending on the size required. The studio is fine for a young couple and the T2s a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malini007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great stay at Monte da Choça. Set amid the greenery of rolling hills, it seemed a bit remote at first but very soon became a welcome sight after a day out walking the cliffs or braving the ocean. The garden and pool are also wonderfully relaxing. We - 2 adventuresome daughters included - found it hard to tear ourselves away! You can find similar style accommodation around the area in typically low, elongated old farm buildings. Monte da Choça has been thoughtfully renovated using local materials, with shaded eating areas outside the individual flats and a few barbecues to share. It's communal - so practice your Portuguese! - but private too. The flats are tastefully decorated and well kitted out with good quality utensils not always found in holiday rentals. Very clean too. Best bit -- the green outlook and atmosphere. No fuss -- 5 star simplicity! (Beware - in these parts, green also means not flushing paper down toilets.) Angélica and Rudolfo were very helpful and friendly hosts -- with great advice on eateries among other things. In the end, Monte da Choca is very well located between Zambujeira (superb town beach) and Odeceixe. Everything you need for a wonderful stay is right there!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kati W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Monte de choça is NOT one of those new Portuguese design and heritage places, but it does not pretend to be. It is a peaceful, located in the middle of nowhere (but only 15 mins away from the greatest beaches), old typical Portuguese longhouse (so you kind of stay in the stables). Some T1 (one room) and T2 (two rooms) apartments line up in what are lush gardens, overlooking the great pool. It is especially a great place to stay with children (they can ping pong, play chess with a huge life size game, play football, go hunting for tortoises and frogs in the lake and play with the omni present animals (sheep, chicken, cats, dogs...), swim in the pool or just run around and play with Angélica's lovely daughter. It has a kind of Bohemian atmosphere and as such it is the philosophy of the house. As long you are expecting this it is a great place to hang out or to start walking and discovering the inland and the coast from. A modern 'Intermarché' supermarket is close by (Seo Teotonio 6km). The apartments are a bit dark due to the typical style of the longhouse (thick walls and small windows) and the furniture misses some style or good taste but altogether you get used to it after a few days and they are not the reason you visit this place. The kitchen could use some basic ingredients like you would find in most places (coffee, oil and vinegar, herbs...) The real asset of this place are its garden and it is beautiful, also well protected against the wind that can be strong in this region (which is a great asset in comparison to some other places we visited that might be 'nicer' when it comes to decoration but which were exposed completely to the strong wind). As such we and our kids were happy and we liked the friendly 'no fuzz' guests that typically come these kind of places. One downside though - the cats and dogs. I like those but not when they run through my apartment if I leave the doors open (especially and only during dinner time when they smell food) or when they jump on the table and eat your plate when you want to get a bottle of wine and turn your back. It gave a situation where a peaceful and romantic candle lit dinner under a great sky filled with stars turned into a hectic running from my bbq to the table to the kitchen hunting cats and dogs... a pity together with the poor beds in what has everything of a potential little gem in a region we came to love (don't forget your jumper at night ;-)

Room Tip: We had the 'Brown' room which had nothing special. I visited the green and red room (T2) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niels f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Hidden well away in the Southwest Alentejano Natural Park, Monte da Choça is the perfect place to unwind and 'get away from it all'. It is situated close to some of Portugal's most outstanding (and some quite deserted) beaches, yet it also boasts it's own imaculately maintained pool. The accomodation is rustic in style, but features all the modern facilities that a family would require, and in good working order too. As well as the fully equiped kitchens there are several barbecue areas for guests to use, and plenty of outdoor seating areas. Hosts Angélica and Rudolfo are always very friendly and helpful, and have made us feel so welcome that we have kept coming back for six years now. And, very importantly, our kids love it too.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DavidH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The images on the site do not do justice to the beauty of Monte da Choça!
We simply love it! The best vacations ever in Portugal!
We recommend for those who want peace, beauty, contact with nature and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaLeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Teotonio
3.3 mi away
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
94 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cerro da Fontinha
Cerro da Fontinha
#1 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
60 reviews
14.4 mi away
Vicentina Hotel
Vicentina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aljezur
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Duna Parque
Duna Parque
#3 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
203 reviews
20.2 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
281 reviews
15.2 mi away
HS Milfontes Beach
HS Milfontes Beach
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte da Choca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte da Choca

Property: Monte da Choca
Address: Apartada 57, Sao Teotonio 7631-908, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Sao Teotonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sao Teotonio
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Monte Da Choca Portugal/Sao Teotonio, Alentejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing