We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful”
Review of Salsalito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burgau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salsalito
Ranked #2 of 4 Burgau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This was a return trip for me but first time for my husband. The guest house is perfect for rest and relaxation. The house has been lovingly built by Sally and her husband Ralph .... It is pure heaven. And ranks in one of the top places I have ever stayed in the world. We stayed in Santa Fe. But the other rooms in the house are ,over as well. With Santa Fe you get a private terrace and seating area which is lovely to sit in the shade and read a book. Or one night we lit lots of candles and had wine watching the sun go down Breakfast is served on the terrace and lovely choice of food and my favourite Portuguese tarts !!!

In the garden they have lovely sun beds umbrellas hammocks and a great kitchen. And BBQ area with your own fridge and cooking facilities. DVD player so you can enjoy nice music

At night the fairytale garden lights up and lights are all up the trees it is to get a nice gin and tonic from the bar and enjoy the garden

The guest house is ten minutes walk to a really quant fishing village called burgau and some lovely restaurants. Also five minutes drive away or 4km is pria de luz lovely restaurants there as well.

Every day we made lunch in the kitchen and had a nice cold bottle of wine. One day we even BBQ which was great fun and everything you needed was there

Sally cannot do enough for you the service and standards are as good as it gets !!! You need to try and you will be hooked like us. We are busy looking for another date so we can go back. I took my husband for the first time. I was worried how he would like as he use to 5 star hotels. He actually had tears in his eyes when we left he had enjoyed that much.

Wonderful place can't praise it enough. So peaceful and chilli !

The guest house is an hour from faro airport. This time we did not get a car. We got a transfer with a company called green bus. It cost forty pounds each return. Well worth it as you do t need a car if you just want to chill and walk to lovely fish restaurants

Room Tip: Santa Fe is lovely with own terrace. But the other three rooms are lovely to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amandajolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

lovely B and B, with facilities to self cater as well. Well appointed, comfortable rooms and general areas. Fantastic pool and landscape gardens. Tasty and plentiful breakfast. Calm, relaxing surroundings. You will enjoy here.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthWalesDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Loved this B and B and enjoyed 7 days of utter bliss!
We chose Salsalito based on the great reviews and I can honestly say everything a guest could want on holiday was here, from the lovely hosts Sally and Ralph to stylish comfortable rooms, fab breakfast, tea/coffee facilities, kitchen, fridge, free wi fi, gorgeous pool and gardens. There are also 2 very sweet dogs, Lucky and Noddy.
Will definitely return, without doubt, on our next visit to Burgau.
Thank you Sally and Ralph, we had a blast!

Room Tip: We had the Bamboo room which was delightful, but I think all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Sally's tucked away paradise. The owner Sally is wonderful, the room superb, staff friendly and the property so beautiful with the flowers and gardens and fully equipped gqrden kitchen. The breakfast is delicious. All is done with love and attention. We were very happy there! Book Santa Fe if you can , it is just the best with private terrace and entry. Everything her website promises is more than true. Burgeau is quaint and within walking distance. We were there end of April 2013. It was the best. Dont forget to do the walk along the ocean to Luz - spectacular !
Eat fish and Chips at the Pigs Head - super good :o)

Room Tip: Book Sante Fe - it is super !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fijnereizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at Salsalito for three nights in May 2013. Our only regret is that we were not staying for longer! The warmth, service and hospitality from Sally was second to none, we instantly felt at home there and didn't want to leave. There is a lovely pool area which is beyond peaceful, probably helped by the 'no children' rule at this B&B. There's a kitchen and outside eating area around the back of the pool, where the room you are staying in will have a designated fridge, as well as all the cutlery and crockery you will need. There is also a huge barbecue if you want to cook up some fresh fish, which, trust me, you really don't want to miss. The amazing rustic, nautical-themed decor and furniture in Salsalito is all hand-made by Sally's husband, Ralph - a remarkable man who also built the beautiful beach bar and also a great little watering hole in the village, The Smugglers Arms. Sadly, Ralph has since had a stroke and is now wheelchair bound, but there's no denying the mark he has left on the sleepy village of Burgau. We stayed in the Bamboo Room which suited us perfectly, it's quite cosy but has so much character that it just wasn't an issue. When we awoke every morning, we indulged in a great breakfast, including fresh rolls, fresh orange juice, different cheeses, a selection of cold meats, cereal, Portuguese custard tarts, fruit, etc, all done buffet style with real coffee. Oh, and there's an honesty bar, where you just help yourself to whatever alcohol / soft drinks you want. You simply write down everything you drink and settle up before you leave. A wonderful, peaceful retreat all in all. Thanks so much, Sally, Ralph and Irena, we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank russNsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We've just spent another very happy week in the Santa Fe apartment at Salsalito. This is such a special place! Tranquil and beautiful, set in lush gardens and hidden away from the village of Burgau (still a charming small village with a fabulous beach), but easy to access all the amenities of the village. We love to do a morning walk along the cliffs into Burgau, with great views and - at this time of year - profusions of wildflowers. But what really makes this place such an absolute gem is the atmosphere created by Sally and Ralph and all the thoughtful touches. Hammocks dotted round in the shade. A cool flowered upper terrace where you can pick up your e-mail. A torch in your room for walking into the village in the evening. Generously well stocked tea and coffee-making trays in your room. Visually it’s beautiful , with a very special style. It manages to be one of those places which feels incredibly laid-back and chilled-out – but is actually run with amazing professionalism and care. A perfect balance. And the welcome is warm, the conversation good and the hospitality wonderful.

All of the rooms are lovely but with Santa Fe you have your own terrace too - and we use the beautifully-equipped guests’ kitchen a lot, to eat in. In a place this pleasurable to be in, the temptations to go out to eat aren't always as great as the delight of a warm evening on the terrace watching the swallows skim over the swimming pool and seeing the stars come out!

This isn't a place full of whizzes and bangs - the tv is pretty minimal and wifi is available but patchy. But for many of us, getting away from those things is part of the joy of a holiday. So if what you love is a comfortable and beautiful place to stay, a little off the beaten path, peaceful and welcoming and with a whole lot of heart - Salsalito is most definitely for you. But once we’ve discovered it, many of us return there often – so be warned, you may find it addictive!

Room Tip: We love the separate 'wing' Santa Fe - but the main rooms are lovely too. All are quite, pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We were recommended Salsalito by a discerning friend and our stay in Sante Fe, complete with its private terrace, exceeded all expectations. Owners Sally and Ralph, two of the most delightful people you could wish to meet, have created a tropical wonderland with a pool to match. The rooms are marvellously comfortable; the breakfasts, so beautifully served, equal those provided in many 4-5 star hotels we've stayed at. The honesty bar is a great innovation and the prices very reasonable, only 1 euro for a bottle of beer. We didn't cook in, though we could have – each room has its own individual fridge in the guest kitchen to keep food, the odd snack or carton of juice or milk. Burgau itself is pretty and interesting (but very hilly!) with a super beach and high surf. We enjoyed two fine meals in the village – one upmarket and expensive, the other less so, but both equally enjoyable. By the time our two days were up, Sally – she has a fund of fascinating and funny stories to tell – and Ralph had become friends for life. We'll be going back, for sure. We recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Sante Fe is the top spot but all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burgau
0.6 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
3.0 mi away
Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Praia do Burgau
5.0 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salsalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salsalito

Address: Alagoas, Burgau, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Burgau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Burgau
Price Range: £2 - £2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Salsalito Hotel Burgau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing