We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter break”
Review of Casa Rosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moncarapacho
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Rosa
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is the third winter we have stayed in the apartments at Casa Rosa and we have yet to be disappointed. We were there for 7 weeks each time and love the lifestyle. Casa Rosa is about a mile from Moncarapacho, which has excellent restaurants, small supermarkets and a daily vegetable and fish market. Around Casa Rosa the roads are very good for cycles, which we took advantage of. The nearest beach, Fuseta, is about 3 miles away, and Olhao is worth whiling away an afternoon walking along the sea front. We chose apartment No 4 for our break as we wanted to be on the first floor (for the views,) and towards the front of the building (to get the warmth of south facing). Jan and Kjersti keep a very clean and tidy ship and the garden is well kempt. This area is really good for bird watching as there are lots of opportunities to see hoopoe, flamingos, spoonbills etc. Also storks nesting on top of the electric pylons. Tavira is the nearest large town and is very picturesque. Casa Rosa is the ideal place to spend some time in the countryside, but with the added attraction of the coast nearby.
Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Casa Rosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Alongside the house there is an area for 8 pitches - 2 to each terraced area. A lovely spot. There is a male and female toilet; 1 hot water shower and 2 hot water whb's. Outside is a sink for washing up or for handwashing (cold water tap, but hot water can be taken from the whb's in showe/toilet block. For 3 euro you can use the washing machine. Rotary dryers on the site. Free wifi. Use of the outdoor pool, when weather warm enough! Adults only. Dogs allowed. All felt like a CL you would get in the UK.Nice and friendly, and quiet. A path alongside the property takes you into Moncarapacho (30 mins). You can get a bus into Olhao from there and then a train to Tavira, or on to Faro. There are good supermarkets in Moncarapacho and restaurants, coffee shops. We also walked up Cerro de Sao Miguel, the highest point in the Algarve (410m, gradient/ cycle track).

Room Tip: A winter destination - would be too hot in summer and not a lot of shade. Need to book ahead as most...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I must say it has already been a year since we visited Casa Rosa, but the memory still lingers in these post summer days. And what a memory it is. We decided to stay at Casa Rose just based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. It felt like a gamble because we were traveling with our 6 months old son, but it seemed nice in the pictures, and we preferred a smaller residence as apposed to a big commercial apartment complex you'd find in Albufeira.

The ride to Moncarapacho was shorter than expected from Faro airport, and we felt right at home after we met Jan-Ketil and Kjersti, the owners. We chose the bigger apartment, which was perfect, with a big open kitchen, a huge bathroom and lots of storage space. The beds were very comfortable, although we chose to sleep on the fold out coach (so our son could have the master bedroom).

The piece de resistance was the swimming pool, but also the quiet atmosphere and the beautiful surroundings really made this the perfect vacation. A lot of birdwatchers stay there during the summer and autumn, and they are not the noisy types apparently. We also made al lot of short trips around the towns of Olhao and Fuseta, which offer the more mainstream beach experience with the Algarve beaches you know from the brochures.

All in all it was the perfect vacation, the owners are really lovely hosts, who serve great meals and breakfasts. This is the perfect place for anyone who doesn't really care for the busy towns west of Faro and is looking for a more personal and high-end experience (without paying .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent a wonderful, relaxing week at Casa Rosa, ideally positioned for great birding and wildlife watching both east and west of where it is based. Even just around the grounds there are butterflies, nightjars, little owls, azure-winged magpies, and the very cryptic chameleon (Jan-Ketil very kindly spotted one for us on our last day!). Jan-Ketil & Kjersti were wonderful hosts and really helped to make sure we had a lovely stay - and they make full use of local businesses and suppliers which means all the local people benefit too. Living in a city normally, it was the best remedy for getting peace, quiet and rest from a busy life! We enjoyed relaxing by the pool in the heat, as well as visiting local places, and even making a trip to Coto Donana in Spain one day too. Do visit and stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdDrewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Spent 2 weeks in an apartment which was really comfortable and relaxing, had the best sleep ever!
The previous year we spent 4 months at Casa Rosa in our motorhome, we do really love the place.
Kjersti and Jan-Ketil are brilliant hosts and can`t do enough for you.
Moncarapacho is an unspoilt village with lots of places to eat and drink, we counted over 20 places so you have a great choice. Kjersti also cooks delicous food so you don`t have to go out all the time.
Once you have been you will come back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariehannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed for a week, 19th to 26th April 2012 in
Casa Rosa is an ideal base for the Algarve and not too far from the wonderful countryside around Castre Verde.

There is a footpath from the Villa for evening strolls and it was warm enough to swim in the pool.

Kjersti offered to cook two lovely meals for us during the week. On the day of our arrival we ate in the dining room round a big table with three other couples, which was interesting. Then a few days later it was warm enough to eat outside which was a lovely treat

Room Tip: We had apartment 5 on the first floor which has a spacious room with a double bed, well equipped kit...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Six families (12+12) stayed at the Casa Rosa for a fortnight a couple of July's back. Kids loved it; safe surroundings meant adults could really relax around the pool in daytime and by night under the pergola. Neat and tidy apartments, all services functioning to our wishes. And, not to forget, fresh bread delivered on the door each morning.
Easygoing neighbourhood, what with the fado restaurant 2 mins walk up the road and the small town of Moncarapacho 10mins/3mins drive/walk away, with the authentic Portuguese countryside smalltown feel, sprinkled with a few restaurants punching above their weight, and succeeding!
Olhao a 15 mins drive away, both for shopping, restaurants and a beach trip. Beyond is Faro, but really, Olhao did the trick for us.
Days spent outside the Casa Rosa took us from Seville to Sagres to Beja to Tavira etc. Meaning Casa Rosa gave us a quiet "middle of things" feel even if it's a click or two to the east in the Algarve.
The hosts were invisibly present, and there when you need them. And they can cook too! Prepared a delicious dinner for the lot of us, to the satisfaction of small and tall.

Room Tip: The apartment facing the pool has to get the vote.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per Gunnar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moncarapacho hotels
0.0 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colina Verde Aparthotel & Golf
Colina Verde Aparthotel & Golf
#3 of 4 in Moncarapacho
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Flor de Sal
Casa Flor de Sal
#1 of 6 in Moncarapacho
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Centre Algarve
Centre Algarve
#2 of 6 in Moncarapacho
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mama Mia
Casa Mama Mia
#2 of 2 in Moncarapacho
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rosa

Address: Apt 209, Moncarapacho 8700-068, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Moncarapacho
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Moncarapacho
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Rosa - Holiday Apartments, Hotel and Bed and Breakfast - Moncarapacho Algarve Portugal. Search the net "Casa Rosa Moncarapacho". How about a vacation where you have all the options you could ask for? The beach, the sea, excursions to exciting places, relaxing atmosphere, good food, sunbathing, golf and an ocean of other activities - staying at Casa Rosa in Moncarapacho, Eastern Algarve, Portugal will give you all this and more.In a large traditional villa, converted into a hotel with six apartments, you will find your perfect holiday home. The apartments all have kitchen facilities and own bathroom and sized from 35 - 50 sqm. Free Wi-Fi. Casa Rosa is renovated both inside and outside and the flowerbeds are now blossoming. The responses from the guests are overwhelming, and guests from 18 countries have chosen to stay at our hotel in Moncarapacho. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Rosa Portugal/Moncarapacho, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing