We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first sight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Bicuar Residential
Ranked #2 of 15 Olhao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Love at first sight”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Once I saw the Portuguese marble stairs, the heavy velvet curtains, the wall decorations, the authentic reception desk in the entrance hall, I knew for sure that was the place for me! I made a reservation for two weeks. With the help of Jeff, the generous owner, I choose exactly the right room. It was cosy and comfortable, and the artworks and Portuguese bed made me feel at home. While working at my laptop, I loved to overlook the roof terraces around and listen at the sounds below in the alleys (no cars!). And what about having breakfast on a breathtaking roof terrace where the plants are being treated with so much love, care and taste - like the whole guest house! Every day I made a meal in the well-kept, well-equipped iron steel kitchen, climbed the top stairs and set down to eat & look at the sea, the storks, the wonderful brick market halls (where shopping is so good and cheap). I loved my stay every minute!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    45
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
77
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordhsire UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Came accross Bicuar Pension by accident and so happy that we did. Initial greeting from Jeff was very friendly and informative, how could we not stay? Having seen all of the characterful individually decorated rooms we chose the only en suite room, close to the kitchen and the amazing roof terrace with lovely views. The whole building was immaculate and both Jeff and & Leonie take great pride in maintaining a very high standard. We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace but explored the recommended eateries nearby in the evening. Great central, quiet location in a working fishing town. Will definately return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent a week enjoying the rooftop terrace; had planned to eat out but the very nearby fruit/veg/fish market was more tempting and the BBQ ideal. This guest house is remarkably well equipped and owner Jeff was exceptionally helpful...he always just happened to be around when we needed him! We took a taxi from Faro airport as the signage for buses seemed to be lacking; it cost E23.The ferries to the glorious sandy beaches on the islands are close by, as is the railway station to explore Tavira and Fuzeta. This area is the no-frills, unspoilt and traditional part of the Algarve and Olhao is very much a working town. Pension Bicuar is in the most attractive part and is spotlessly clean with great attention to detail; much more than we'd expected in budget accommodation. Because of its location you hear all the local activity; dogs barking and the locals chatting away. We thoroughly enjoyed this and you could even watch the Storks flying from their church rooftop nests towards the national park. This is how all guesthouses should be!

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with Jeff. Steep staircase to climb from front door so unsuitable for those with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverell, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just stayed here as part of Intrepid tour...and this is magnificent. This pension is well situated...lovely and clean . Jeff and Leonie are wonderful hosts and very kind and informative. Restaurants nearby and good amenities. Leonie and Jeff are very helpful about all things Olhao and even have a barbie on the top floor!! Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ToniPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have just stayed here as part of Intrepid tour...and this is magnificent. Jeff and Leonie are wonderful hosts and very kind and informative. This pension is well situated...lovely and clean . Fabulous restaurants nearby and good amenities. Leonie and Jeff are very helpful about all things Olhao and even have a barbie on the top floor!! Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Clean rooms, shared kitchenette, shared bbq...all well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romanylovesgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Given the limited accommodation options in Olhao, I'd say this is a very good find especially given the location. It's only a couple blocks from the markets on the waterfront, the ferries and from a grocery store. It's also right next to a number of good restaurants including an indian place. The reservation process is simple, simply email ahead and get confirmation, there is no CC required. Reminder that this is a cash only place. Also, there is no parking available, if you have a car, you can park for free next to the marina, or find a spot on a local street nearby.
Note that this hotel is not accessible to the walking-challenged as there are steep stairs up to each of the 3 floors as well as the roof-top patio. We tried booking the room that included the toilet but only had the option of a shower/sink with shared toilet. Our room was #26 and was pretty small but not cramped, with adequate shelving, a small desk and chair and small bathroom. Since we were there just to crash at night, the room served us just fine. Note that there is no air conditioning, only a small fan, and it got very hot in our room even with our windows open. I noted that some other room were located were they may get better breezes, but ours were blocked by neighbouring buildings, which made for a warm room, even at night. The upstairs patio is a nice refuge however, where one can cool off from the nice breeze up there. A very nice spot to for a drink or to eat the meal you prepared in the shared kitchen. We stayed for 4 nights and found the place was cleaned daily, including the rooms and the common areas. At 50 euro a night, I thought this place was good value, just wished our room was cooler.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I often stay in budget accommodation but rarely write reviews. I have to write one for Pension Bicuar as it was brilliant. Amazing value for money, spotless, beautiful rooftop, helpful owners who will go out of their way for you and a lovely homely feel. Ideal for families, couples, groups of friends, individuals. I really hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scot1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olhao hotels
0.4 mi away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
0.1 mi away
Pensao Bela Vista
Pensao Bela Vista
#5 of 7 in Olhao
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Casa Modesta
Casa Modesta
#2 of 7 in Olhao
89 reviews
6.6 mi away
Monte dos Avos Village
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Bicuar Residential? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Bicuar Residential

Property: Pension Bicuar Residential
Address: Rua Vasco da Gama 5, Olhao 8700-522, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Bicuar Residential 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality budget accommodation is offered by this friendly pension/guesthouse in Olhão, situated in the heart of the fish & shellfish capital of the Algarve, very close to the waterfront, markets,restaurants and ferry to the wonderful islands just of the coast in the Ria Formosa National Park, where you will find the most beautiful (wild)beaches of Europe. If you like (sea)food and want to have a relaxing holiday we are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Bicuar Residential reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Bicuar Residential Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing