We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good- some minor flaws.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real Marina Residence
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Second stay.This time in 1 bedroomed unit.The kitche is potentially magnificent for cooking.This prospect is hampered by a lack of basic small inexpensive items.The pots are suitable for parties of 30 not 2 or 3 people.The non stick pans no longer live up to their name.The apartment needs
A colander
A peeler
Icecube tray
Decent knives
Whisk
Wooden spoons
Placemats
More plates and mugs to make use of dishwasher.

Apart from the sofas getting stained and shabby the apartment is extremely spacious well appointed.It is now hi time for wi fi. which is unavailable.

It is a big trek to the train and bus stops but well worth it to enjoy the surrounding areas.

I wonder if the hotel can bring any influence to bear on the horrendous litter in the adjoining salt pans and lagoon.They are choked with plastic bottles and building debris.Sadly Cultura is also badly blighted.This area is potentially a great selling point as it is beautiful and teeming with bird life and host flamingos seen each morning.A huge clean up and some information boards would make this a splendid resource.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobbszze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have spent an enjoyable time with us, but regret that the equipment of the kitchen did not correspond to your expectations. Please note that a colander, different types of knives, including a vegetable knife to peel vegetables are provided, but all your other suggestions will be taken into consideration.
Thank you also for alerting about the Ria Formosa and the Culatra Island. We will make sure that your comments and suggestions will be passed on to the City Hall.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Residence for an hopefully even more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

The accomodation was hard to fault, and the breakfasts were good, not exceptional for a five star place, I thought. I thought the staff were somewhat offhand. I was travelling with a group of international scientists, and one colleague's reservation was messed up. Not clear whose fault it was, but the hotel made no effort to locate alternative accomodation for him. Turns out the gentleman had an unfortunate chain of events with the loss of his money and travel documents later, which could have been avoided. My own experience was that I left an item behind, and enquired by telephone and email. Received zero help locating the lost object. Not too impressed. However, as noted, very nice accomodation otherwise. Wireless internet is not available, unless you pirate a neighbour's router.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xiphias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay and that the point you were least impressed with is precisely the point that guests usually appreciate and praise the most, which is the helpfulness and friendliness of our team.
We were surprised that you did not receive any assistance with the lost item mentioned. Unfortunately, we do not have any details about this particular situation, but please note that apart from checking our Lost & Found department and asking our staff to look out for an item, there is not much we can do if the lost belongings of a guest have not been found.

Please note as well that if a reservation is made by a third party, like in this case by an agency or group, the Hotel cannot arrange alternative accommodation at other properties, but has to await the decision of the company that made the reservation. As far as we understood, the gentlemen did not stay in our property and hasn’t lost his documents and money at our property, we are therefore unsure how we could have avoided this loss.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Residence.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We rented a two bedroom apartment.
We were very pleased. Everything was perfect the apartment, equipment and decor.
The kitchen was well equipped with everything one could ask for.
Lovely balcony / terrace.
We were four adults, but there was also room for two children.
The loss was only the location, far to restaurants and supermarkets.
But definitely a place to recommend.
Available for rent with one to three bedrooms

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ulf-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are really glad that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were pleased with the apartment, its quality, size and equipment.
We regret however that you were not quite happy with the location, which we actually believe is quite convenient, since it is located very close to the restaurants and bars, approx. 5 minute walk to, but yet far enough to guarantee a calm and peaceful ambient, but we obviously understand that each guest has its own individual expectations and needs.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Residence soon.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great apartment, good standard and spacious. Staff at hotel were excellent, friendly and helpful. Quiet area but still lots of restaurants to eat at. I stayed with my adult daughter, we both would go back, boat trips to the Ria Formosa are a must, you can book them in the hotel too. If you want to explore surrounding area I would recommend hiring a car. I agree the roof top pool was a bit cold, but we often had the area to ourselves so no complaints there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you would return, which really is the biggest compliment we can hope for.

Thank you very much for your review and also the kind comments about the Hotel staff. We will make sure that these will be passed on to them.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Residence for hopefully another perfect stay with us.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Near Olhão and Faro, these are very nice apartaments
at a very good price. The location is good with ocean view and the size of the rooms are excellent. They also have a nice balcony. The pool at the roof top is a little bit small.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo_Marques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with the size of the apartments and the value for money received. This was really gratifying for us since it shows that we were able to achieve one of our main goals, which is to provide high quality experiences at affordable prices.

Thank you very much for having shared your feedback with us and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again hopefully soon for another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was our second year at the Residence, we being my wife, adult daughter and myself, and once again we were delighted with the apartment and the service from the hotel. This year, our apartment on the 4th floor overlooked the marina and the Ria Formosa in all its splendor, and you could be tempted just to sit on the balcony and watch the world go by, but of course that would be to miss out on the wonderful fish market where the fish is so fresh it is practically still swimming. One small complaint about a missing blind was dealt with quickly and efficiently, otherwise the apartment was well equipped and spotless. The place is so good that we would happily go back time and time again!

Room Tip: Ask nicely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigmacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We enjoy reading all reviews, but the ones we enjoy the most are the ones like yours from repeated guests who are planning to visit us time and time again.
Nothing shows more appreciation than this and we are therefore really grateful that you visited us for the second time now and that your stay was so excellent that you are planning to visit us again and again.

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Residence.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Immaculate apartments in a great location. Full sized kitchen with very good high quality equipment.

Quite area but plenty of bars and eating places. If you are going for night life, go to Albufeira.

Will be back in Spring as we loved the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetegaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We just mentioned it in the review above, but we cannot repeat enough that the biggest possible compliment is a guest who returns. We were therefore really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you will be back next spring.

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Real Marina Residence for another great stay with us.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
0 mi away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
6.9 mi away
Monte dos Avos Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
1,063 reviews
21.4 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Residence

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Olhao
Price Range: £51 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Marina Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Residence Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Residence Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing