We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderately Disappointed, (but still pretty decent)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Real Marina Residence
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Moderately Disappointed, (but still pretty decent)”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and main issue is service.

It would be better to advertise more clearly that there is only a weekly maid service. This is the main source of our disappointment. It is accepted that the apartments are not directly affiliated with the 5* hotel but the implication is that the residence accommodation is 5* and in my opinion it is not. We felt like we were a bit of a hindrance to the main hotel and did not feel integral to it.

The apartments are well laid out, well furnished and reasonably well appointed although ours was showing some signs of wear e.g. laminate flooring cracks, stains on sofa, etc. The tv does have some English channels (itv1 &2 and bbc 1 &2) but it is very small and appears disproportionate in the context of the living room.

The pool area in the hotel is very nice and if staying for a while we would recommend buying 8 sessions at €36 rather than a single €10 session but suppose this depends how much you would use it!

Never had breakfast or ate out so can't comment on this aspect.

Olhao is a nice spot, but the stink from the nature reserve can be pretty overwhelming at times. A car would be recommended if staying here.

Overall, we enjoyed our time here but it was slightly tainted by some disappointment and a bit of misrepresentation.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you were pleased with the apartment and your stay, but regret that not everything corresponded to your expectations.

We would like to clarity that the Real Marina Residence is not a Hotel and not 5*. Being a touristic apartment complex, it has no official rating and we never stated or implicated that it is a 5 star hotel. By the contrary, we often adverted in our responses on this site for instance that guests should not expect the same services that they would expect from a Hotel. The Real Marina Residence is recommended for anyone who is looking for a comfortable place to stay, but who appreciates the privacy, independence and home-like atmosphere of an apartment. For everyone who prefers a Hotel with its traditional services and facilities, like daily cleaning, Room service, breakfast, etc. we recommend our sister Hotel, the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

We also regret if the apartment was showing some signs of wear and will instruct Housekeeping and Maintenance to apply an even stricter control.

Thank you once again for your review and for giving us the opportunity to explain some of the differences between the Residence and the Hotel.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again for a, hopefully, even more enjoyable stay at our apartments or in any of our regular Hotels in the Algarve.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    120
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
215
238
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We usually stay in Vilamoura but wanted a change so booked these apartments by chance in May 2013.
First impression whilst walking across the car park was it felt very quiet and a little empty. Once in the aprtment my views changed.
We had 2 bedrooms both en suite with a seperate toliet, large lounge, with British TV, a kitchen that had everything you could ask for and a large balcony. Free safe in the bedroom and security card entrance so very safe.
The apartment shared the roof pool with a few other apartments but during our stay it rained and was cold and damp (worst weather for years said the locals!) but we finally had 2 sunny days so did not use the faciity very much. Olhao itself is a working town for the Portugese and this is reflected in the restaurant, supermarkets and bar prices. We focused ourselves in the market area where there are great fish resturants and a handfull of small bars.
The only downside is there is a short walk to the bars and restaurants it is not, like other resorts, all there on your doorstep, not great if the weather is bad but we will definatly be returning to Olhao in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for an aprtment that gets the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matronknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind, detailed review, which we really enjoyed reading.

We are happy that all your expectations were not only fulfilled, but exceeded and that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and in Olhão. Actually, so much that you are planning to return, which is the best possible feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back for another great stay at the Real Marina Residence and hope that next time you will be able to enjoy the lovely, sunny weather the Algarve is usually known for.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My partner and I stayed late October, check-in wasn't until the afternoon but the hotel took our bags and we were able to wander about the town. I would highly recommend hiring a car as really we didn't find a lot to do in the local area apart from eat - and the shopping centre, train and bus stations are a good 20 mins walk away.

The apartments are very well equipped with full size oven, fridge freezer and dishwasher -so staying in wasn't horrendous. ( as for previous reviews about pots and dishes being supersized - well there were only two of us and we managed fine!) The only thing I would say as per previous reviewer, the beds are incredibly hard and although you get used to it by the end of the week, they really are not hugely comfortable. You are a 8 min walk from lidl along a dual carriageway with no footpath, theres a mcdonalds on the opposite side of the road from lidl, everything else in the town is at the far end really. The gypsy market on Saturday was wonderful, full of life.
We ate a few times in the local indian restaurant (the first one you pass walking away from the hotel), it was really delicious, i would highly recommend. As soon as you sit down in a restaurant they put out the toast, pate and cheese (this is not free, so unless you really want it, just say no thanks!)
We are planning on going back as a family at Easter but this time will absolutely hire a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It was really gratifying and motivating to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were so happy that you will visit us again next Easter.Thank you so much. There is no bigger sign of appreciation than a guest who returns and we will make sure that your kind comments will be shared with our team.

They will also be very happy to recommend you places to see and things to do, while staying with us, like for instance a boat ride to one of the islands, which are definitely worth a visit.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family for what will, hopefully, be another great stay at the Real Marina Residence.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this holiday for my birthday! We stayed here from 19th-26th October and really enjoyed our week away apart from the weather being rubbish but it did not dampen our stay! Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice! All staff in the hotel were fantastic! It was my husband's birthday while we was out there (we had not made the hotel aware of this) and we received a bottle of champagne and a cake via room service which was such a lovely thought! Thank you! We had several meals out and they were absolutely fantastic! Pizza ne Padre was the best! Thank you for a fantastic stay and we will be back!!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We believe however that it was meant to be for our sister Hotel, the Real Marina Hotel &SPA. Just to avoid misunderstandings, we would like to clarify that the Real Marina Residence and the Real Marina Hotel & SPA are not one property, but two individual ones. Being the Real Marina a 5star Hotel with all the conveniences these usually offers, the Real Marina Residence is an apartment complex, ideal for anyone looking for comfort, but also privacy and individuality.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to clarify this.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay at our sister Hotel and Olhão so much that you will be definitely returning and we hope that we will be able to welcome you to the Real Marina Residence.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Having been to Olhao several times over the last few years we decided to return again. My husband & I usually stay at the Real Marina hotel but decided to try the apartments on this occasion as some of our extended family were joining us on the trip. We had a 3 bedroom sea view apartment. The apartment itself was very spacious & well equipped with everything you could need. However my main gripe was with the pool on the roof...it was freezing and far too cold for the children to enjoy playing in the water, which was a shame as they both love the pool and had been looking forward to using it each day during our break. We decided we would pay to use the hotel pool because we know from all our previous stays that it is very nice and suitable for swimming. On enquiring about using the facilities at reception we were informed that it would be €40 per person to use the outdoor pool (there were 6 of us so that would be €240 per day for use of a pool). I found this a completely ridiculous price. I understand that we were not staying at the hotel on this occasion and I had absolutely no issue with paying a reasonable price for using the pool but that price was incredible. In light of this the owners need to look into providing a heated pool at the apartments, otherwise there really is no point in having a pool at all as it can't be used. I would return to Olhao again but will probably not use the apartments again for this reason.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitty_1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We regret that you were expecting a heated pool in the apartment blocks, which we in fact do not have, but we also do not claim to have one or feature a heated outdoor pool in any of our descriptions, brochures or website of the Residence.
We understand of course that the fact that your expectations weren’t met had an impact on your stay. Therefore, we recommend our guests to always research their potential holiday destinations before booking, read their websites and documentation in order to avoid false expectations and subsequent disappointment.
Please note as well that the Hotel and apartments are not the same property, but independent ones and that the outdoor or indoor pool of the Hotel is usually for the exclusive use of the guests staying in the Hotel. They had already made exceptions for guests staying in the Residence, and would have also made it in this case, but considering that the Real Marina Residence can accommodate up to 360 guests, they are not able to offer very attractive prices for the use of their pools, as otherwise they wouldn’t be able to guarantee space and a tranquil atmosphere for their own guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina for a, hopefully, more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The apartments are very spacious and beautifully decorated/ furnished. The kitchen in particular was extremely well equipped so not a problem if you want to eat in from time to time. Towels were provided which we were unsure of before we arrived. There are many nice bars and restaurants just a short walk away as well as a decent sized supermarket (Pingo Doce). Staff in the hotel next to the apartment couldn't be more helpful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our apartments fulfilled all your expectations and needs.

Thank you also very much for your kind comment regarding the staff of the Real Marina Hotel, which we will make sure will be passed on to them.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Residence for hopefully another pleasant stay.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Second stay.This time in 1 bedroomed unit.The kitche is potentially magnificent for cooking.This prospect is hampered by a lack of basic small inexpensive items.The pots are suitable for parties of 30 not 2 or 3 people.The non stick pans no longer live up to their name.The apartment needs
A colander
A peeler
Icecube tray
Decent knives
Whisk
Wooden spoons
Placemats
More plates and mugs to make use of dishwasher.

Apart from the sofas getting stained and shabby the apartment is extremely spacious well appointed.It is now hi time for wi fi. which is unavailable.

It is a big trek to the train and bus stops but well worth it to enjoy the surrounding areas.

I wonder if the hotel can bring any influence to bear on the horrendous litter in the adjoining salt pans and lagoon.They are choked with plastic bottles and building debris.Sadly Cultura is also badly blighted.This area is potentially a great selling point as it is beautiful and teeming with bird life and host flamingos seen each morning.A huge clean up and some information boards would make this a splendid resource.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbszze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have spent an enjoyable time with us, but regret that the equipment of the kitchen did not correspond to your expectations. Please note that a colander, different types of knives, including a vegetable knife to peel vegetables are provided, but all your other suggestions will be taken into consideration.
Thank you also for alerting about the Ria Formosa and the Culatra Island. We will make sure that your comments and suggestions will be passed on to the City Hall.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Residence for an hopefully even more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
0.0 mi away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
275 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Residence

Property: Real Marina Residence
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Real Marina Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Residence Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Residence Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing