We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A blissful sojourn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A blissful sojourn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We loved our stay and highly recommend this hotel which is perfectly located for weary travellers who want a short transfer from airport to destination and who are seeking sunshine in a beautiful quiet hotel set in a no frills traditional fishing port and town. Staff were all genuinely welcoming, attentive where appropriate and helpful. Thoroughly relaxed after just a day in the hotel and its quiet surrounds. The rooms were spacious and well furnished and the hotel throughout was sparklingly clean.

Could not recommend it more, well worth a visit, particularly if you're seeking a quiet break in sunny portugal. Hope to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view but we did not feel we missed out particularly without!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much. We were not only pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us, but also that after only one day, you already felt 100% relaxed. We know how difficult it can be to unwind sometimes and the fact that you felt complete relaxation after one day, shows us how comfortable and welcome you must have felt.
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Real Marina and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Hotel Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    596
    151
    24
    7
See reviews for
338
1,205
52
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This week we stayed at both the Tivoli Marina and the Sheraton Algarve neither of which charged for WiFi or ice. This hotel charged an unbelievable 7.50Euros for ice.
Village view means air conditioning plant and wasteland with caravans and dog walkers.
These 2 complaints apart it is a nice 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yw928310d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We decided to book a nice short break somewhere hot to get away from the cold weather of the UK. We found this superb hotel on lowcostholidays.com for a very good price, so we booked up!

I will break the review up so its easier to read!

Staff:

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. On more than one occassion I asked the staff questions which they answered almost immediately. We also had the room service one night, which was very convinient and very tasty!!! The maid's will also do a very good job in keeping your room tidy, and also will deliver you chocolates around 6pm everyday!

Rooms:

We had a Twin Village View. When we first arrived at the hotel, we asked if we could have a sea view, but were told no unless we paid £100 extra, which I wasnt prepared to do. However, the maids did come to our room to make our bed into a double bed, which turned out to be massive!!
The beds are VERY comfortable and we were both able to get a really good nights sleep. The rooms are also soundproof so you can hardly hear anything thats happening outside your room!
The rooms are equipped with a lovely bathroom and good shower and hairdryer, aswell as a flat screen TV mounted on the wall which has BBC1/2/ITV/ITV2/CHANNEL 5/BBC ENTERTAINMENT/CNN aswell as plenty of other foreign channels, along with 2 sports channels which show premiership football at 3pm.
Also, the rooms is equipped with a more than adequate fridge for your water/drinks and a good air con system.

Hotel Pool / Spa.

We did not have a treatment in the Spa, however we did visit the indoor pool which was very nice, and just the right temperature. The jacuzzi in the Spa is amazing and is very powerful! You do have to wear a swimcap though to enter the indoor facilities!
The outdoor pool is spacious but a little cold! I found I could only stay in the pool for 30 mins maximum, but it was enough to cool down!!!

Hotel Bars and Restaurants.

Like I said above, we had room service once which was really handy. We only had burger and chips but it was very nice and was a large portion.
We also ate at the pool bar. The portion sizes are HUGE and the food is of high quality, if a little expensive!!
We ate out most nights in the local town as we found it much much cheaper than hotel prices.

Olhao:

What a pleasant little town, with pleasant people. Okay, so this area may not be up everyones street, but it really is a lovely local town and doesnt have the idiots that you find in the more touristy resorts!
We ate at Pizza Na Pedra which was very nice, we also ate out at the Chinese restaurant on the main strip, I cant remember the name, but it is a must if you like this cuisine!! We also ate at the Indian Hut which is a little tucked away in the side streets. This restaurant was my favorite and the flavours were awesome, and being from Birmingham, I expected a below average curry, but the curries served up here are not to be underestimated!
We also ate at Churrasquinho Do Carlos also on the strip. This is a portuguese/brazilian type restaurant which serves up as much steak/pork/chicken you can eat!!

We drank at many of the cafes on the front, all the drinks were much much cheaper than the hotels prices.

We did not take advantage of the boat ride to any of the islands, but the hotel have their own boat which leaves directly opposite the hotel everyday. I think a return journey is around 6 euros.

There are also a LOT of stray dogs in Olhao, but we never found them a problem. In fact, they are part of the scenery and it was quite comical watching them every so often. They are just like Humans!!

The Saturday market in Olhao is worth a visit. Its made of of stalls sellings Perfume, Clothing, Bags, Fruit, Shoes and fish. It is very very popular with the locals!

A taxi journey to Olhao from the Airport will cost around 20 - 23 euros.

In Summary:

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing break away. There is not much to do in Olhao, and I think its better if it stays this way. There are not too many places you can go to now without the usual touristy resort rubbish but this is one of then. The locals are very very friendly and will cause you no problems whatsoever.
I recommend booking through lowcostholidays as we found their service faultless and cheap!!
I will certainly be going back to this hotel in the very near future, and will now use this destination as an "in between" break from our usual week long holidays.

Thanks you Real Marina for making our stay pleasant!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattjwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and detailed review. We are very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break at the Real Marina.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Hotel Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex Uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

First class hotel with superb staff, friendly, caring and professional.
We returned home on 2nd October after spending 5 nights here, and, all in all, it was very enjoyable.

The rooms are massive and very, very clean, all members of staff were truly happy to help.

The only down side was that the food, whilst plentiful, was not as appetising as one would like, as it was sometimes luke-warm and the eggs and bacon at breakfast were at times under/overcooked.

This hotel will be an absolute gem once the surrounding area has been developed, as the surrounding area is arid waste-land, but a walk along the street opposite the harbour brings you to a few nice little pavement cafe's.

Would we return? Without doubt, but we would give it a little time to ensure the areas around this lovely hotel are developed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pecanedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are very glad that you have spent a pleasant time at the Real Marina Hotel SPA and that you enjoyed it so much that you are considering returning. Thank you also for your comment regarding the surrounding area of the Hotel. As it does not belong to our property, we are not sure what or when something will be done, we just know that the City Hall has indeed plans for this area. However, feel free to contact us before your next visit and we will be more than pleased to inform you about the status and any progress that might have been made.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Hotel Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

this is a good 4* hotel with a few minus,as follows

bedrooms (sea view) 5/5
bathroom 5/5
pool 5/5
resturant 4/5
bars 3/5
check in 5/5
the minus are, the service at the pool bar & hotel bar is very slow both for drinks & food
the resturant needs more soft furnishings & maybe a little piped music also the price for drinks are quite expensive
the area around olhao is run down , but the hotel can`t do anything about that iam sure when the word gets out the area will improve

Room Tip: a sea view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eivetsrednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We regret that, although you have spent an enjoyable stay with us, you were not 100% satisfied with all our facilities and services. We are constantly trying to improve our service and have been paying special attention to the Pool Bar service lately, which we believe already made some progress, but we will continue to monitor this area, as well as the Main Bar, very closely. We also regret that you were not satisfied with the music selection in the restaurant. We try to play a nice and varied mix of different kinds of music and will have your suggestion to include more pipes in consideration. Unfortunately, we won’t be able to change the other minus points, like for instance the prices for drinks, at least not sometime soon,. Our prices are based on the costs we have with material, products, staff, etc and as we only work with quality products, the prices are unfortunately higher than in some local bars, but compared to other 5-star hotels, the prices for drinks or any other service or product in our Hotel, are definitely on the lower end. Given the fact that the Hotel is only one year old, we are also not planning to replace the restaurant furniture in the near future, but we will have your suggestion in consideration. As you mention, we also have no influence on the town of Olhão, but we hope that apart from some minor changes, not too much will done to change Olhão. Although there is always room for improvement, Olhão is not a run-down town. It is just different from the many other Resorts in the Algarve that have been purposely built or completely transformed for tourism. It has managed to stay relatively untouched, making it ideal for anyone who wants to know the real Algarve.
We hope that, despite of this, we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Hotel Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

we stayed in a village room view room for a week. We found the hotel to be of a high standard, the room was large, clean and modern, with a bath and shower, large bathroom, massive bed, balcony, tv, and fridge. You could order a film package for 15e a week. The weather was fab and we took advantage of the pool, spa, had a massage and also went on the boat trip to farol island (my husband said it is europes answer to a caribean island! - not much there but lovely pool bars and beaches) our issue was with the hotels location in Olhao. My husband is allergic to fish and i only eat chicken (yes im fussy and my husbands allgery requires eppi pens) nearly 98% of the local restaraunts only serve fish, and the odd steak. We did eat at the pedros pizza, the chinese and indian. Which were all nice, but most of them are located smack at the side of the main high street which is busy, often smells like fish, and isnt the cleanest area. And the inside of the restaraunts were not very tastful decorated. It is a fishing town and nothing else, to bars, pubs etc. Just snack bars full of locals. It was interesting but not for a full week for us to be honest. (we are 27 and 37yrs old) we couldnt fault the hotel thou, but recommend organising your own activites and hire a car!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA, even though the town of Olhão was not as you expected it to be.
As you mention, Olhão is a fishing town and it is famous, at least in Portugal, for its fresh fish and Seafood, so most restaurants in the area specialise on fish and seafood, which obviously is not ideal for someone with a fish allergy. There are some bars and pubs in Olhão, but its clientele consists mainly of locals and not tourists. It is one of the few towns in the Algarve that still has preserved its original charm, which in our opinion, is not a disadvantage, but only adds to its attraction and makes it an almost unique holiday destination in the Algarve.
We obviously understand that this might not be the definition of a perfect holiday destination for everyone, therefore our group also offers a Resort and a Hotel in or close to Albufeira, which we believe is what you were looking for. Being one of the most touristic towns of the Algarve, it offers all kind of bars, pubs, clubs and entertainment and, of course, beautiful beaches.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Manchester flight Friday evening after work, taxi pick up and 15 mins later at reception Real Marina. Victor on reception was 'brill', polite. charismatic, and took us to our room, ever so slighlty disappointed that didn't have sea view (gambled on upgrade rather than pay up front)
Ok, no real problem, room very good and best tv reception ever. Every member of staff courteous throughout stay. The town is fine, much prettier that many reviews would suggest, (if people want white beach and cocktail bars, go elsewhere, didn't get to the islands which boats go to!) Work at 7 am Sheffield and relaxing with bottle of cold local beer (1 euro) at 11 pm, followed by plate of tapas at 1 a.m. and vino verde, more than happy. Weather great, although probably as hot back home, spa facilities were on offer and were excellent, as a traditional northern bloke, bit embarrased re treatments but wife and I found whole thing geat and she has asked me to give special mention to Barbra, perhaps I ought to do same for Claudia.
Keep up the good work and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay with us at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and that, although you felt uncomfortable first, you fully enjoyed the treatments at the Real Spa Thalasso. We are also glad that you were pleasantly surprised by the town of Olhão, but is a pity that you didn’t have opportunity to visit the islands located in front of Olhão, which are well worth a visit.
Hopefully you will have the chance to visit them on your next trip to Olhão and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Real Marina.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Hotel Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
19.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing