We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel ?? definitely NOT 5 star staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel is lovely, and spotlessly clean. And there it ends!!!
Everything is a hassle, and made obviously so. Apart from the really nice guy who checked us in and explained where everything was, we did not encounter one more smile, or even an acknowledgement of our existence, unless it was a disapproving look when you asked for ice.,etc.... Food was bland. and uninspiring. As the owner of a 5 star business, I know how hard it has been to earn and keep the accolade. Real Marine, give your team a shake, they are not meeting standards. Not acceptable!!

Room Tip: pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We regret that you were disappointed with your stay at our Hotel, mainly because of the unfriendliness of our team. We have to admit that we were really surprised about that, since usually the point guests appreciate most about us and praise in most reviews and comments we receive is the exceptional friendliness, hospitality and helpfulness of our team. We assure you that we will do our utmost to keep our high levels of standards and provide a friendly and efficient service at all times.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,935 - 1,941 of 3,011 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

I think the hotel is fantastic well finished looks great lovely spot / setting looking over the boats. Only moan would be out door pool should be warmer.Rooms and bathrooms excellent , easy free parking . Breakfast good choice hot stuff touch on the cold side.Loved staying here will 100% stay again.Anyone staying here should enjoy and not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA so much that you are already planning to return. We hope that until then we will be able to solve permanently any problem that might affect our Buffet equipment. The pool however, is a different issue. Our outdoor pool has a solar heating system, which is permanently activated, but if there is no sunshine, the temperature of the pool does not increase significantly. However, whenever the weather is bad, the outdoor pool is hardly ever used anyway and most guests opt for the heated indoor pool instead.
We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon for another pleasant stay with us.


Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is the first review I have ever written as I was blown away by this hotel. We were just looking for a few days away to somewhere nice for relaxation and we definately got it at this hotel. We upgraded our room to a seaview and it was worth every penny as every room has a balcony and it was lovely to sit and watch the world go by in the busy wee town. I wouldn't say it is a resort as such but more of a lovely fishing village with a nice marina and lots of very nice cafes and restaurants with mostly locals about rather than tourists. If you want a lively holiday Olhao is not the place for you but if you want relaxation, people watching and a 15 minute drive from Faro Airport then this is the place for you. We went B&B and the breakfast was amazing from Cereal & Fruit to cooked breakfast and pastries. Hotel lives up to its 5* rating and the staff couldn't be more helpful, anything we asked was no bother to them and they were always smiling. There was free wifi which was great as I was able to email home on my phone without having to pay for internet use and it even reached the hotel rooms and balcony. The weather was nice but not hot enough to lie at the pool so twice in the 5 days we used the spa which had a special offer on every day. Staff were wonderful and it was very good value for money. Only fault we could find were the prices of bar snacks and drinks at the bar were quite high but it was a 5* hotel so thats only to be expected. We used the local supermarket for drinks as there was a fridge in the room. The bed was also comfortable and was nice to have a Super King bed rather than 2 singles pushed together like you usually get abroad. Faro City Centre is 2 stops away on the train and was nice to go to for a few hours. Can't recommend the hotel enough and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your kind and detailed review.
It is always rewarding to read reviews, but of course the most rewarding ones are the ones from guests who had such a perfect experience as you had. One point, however, which you mention and which you enjoyed was only available due to a temporary failure that hasn’t been fixed yet, but probably will before your next stay. The wi-fi access usually is not available free of charge, but is a service provided by an outside company and also charged by them. Due to a problem with the network, it has been and is available free of charge, but it is only temporary and might be restored soon.
We hope that we still will be able to welcome you back for what will hopefully be another enjoyable stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hotel located in Olhão, a fishermen town which is pretty much off the Algarve tourist track.
The staff is very welcoming, effective even despite their young age. This of course is of key importance is a hotel at the upper end.
Nice, reasonably spacious rooms with modern but cosy decor. Great beds - slept very well indeed.
As others have pointed unless your room faces the marina the view outside isn't great and it can be a bit smelly due to the movement of the boats.
Personally I loved the fact that the hotel boasts Portuguese products - Vianense chocolates which are left in each room in the evening, amenities from Castlebel - as too often Portuguese hotels are shy to display the best the country has to offer.
Gym is small, as is the indoor swimming pool. Outdoor swimming pool is nice with views over Ria Formosa. There is a small turkish bath (had trouble working during my stay!) and sauna.
We went on a package including a body treatment (booked directly with the hotel) which I can recommend. Hélas there is a full list of treatments available and daily promotions at the spa (50% discount on the "treatment of the day" at the time of our travel in April 2012 - you can check the brochure at the hotel website).
Breakfast is good quality but could use a little more variety (although it's not a repeat day in day out!) and you'd probably expect a cook at 5-star level.
In all if you're looking for full luxury, pampering 5 star comfort you will not find it here, but if you're willing to trade a full blown
infrastructure for peace and comfort at great value prices then yes that's what you'll get.
Be warned that getting to the nearest beaches requires either a car or a short boat trip. I think this partly explains the value prices on offer.
In all if you don't mind the fact there is no beach close by this is a great option and sits favourably close to visit the Eastern part of the Algarve coast.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina / sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ip202659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad that you have had the opportunity to try out a few of our services and facilities and that you were more than satisfied with all of them, including our Spa and we would like to add that the special offer mentioned, was not only available during April. It is available for a few years now and for the time being, we plan to keep the selected discounted treatments.
We agree that our Hotel does not boast the sumptuousness and opulence of some luxury Resorts, but this is not our intent. We want to offer and pamper our guests with a high-quality service in a comfortable and relaxed service at affordable prices and are proud that, judging by yours and other comments, we succeed most times.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Great week in this first class hotel. Weather not so good but hotel and the entire staff made it very enjoyable. Easy walk to many excellent local restaurants and the must see Fish Market.

Room Tip: A sea view is really better but the others are still very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank islajamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review and are very glad that you have enjoyed not only your stay at our Hotel, but also the town of Olhão.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA for hopefully another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I'm torn about how to phrase this review. My feeling when leaving after our one night stay was about as indignant as I have ever felt about a hotel. After a couple of weeks of reflection, the many issues could probably be explained away by small print, technicalities and glitches. But they added up to a very frustrating experience. To be brief.........

- I was asked to sign paperwork in the name of a different person with the same name, the reception staff would not reproduce it correctly.
- We were told at reception that the spa facilities were included and then told at the spa itself that the sauna cost EUR10. Also, unless you happen to carry a swimming cap around (anyone??) then the indoor pool or jacuzzi costs EUR2.
- It took about 5 minutes to gain the attention of a waiter in the pool bar, and when we did order it took the better part of half an hour for 9 drinks to arrive.
- The bedroom walls are so thin that my mum in the room next door actually answered a question my wife asked me in ours because she could hear so easily.
- Our "double" bed was two single beds made up separately and pushed together. Pushing two singles together is common practice (and one which I dislike) but they could at least be made up as a double - we are man and wife and would like to be treated as such!

Now I accept that there is probably a good excuse for each of these individual issues but you can understand how they mount up. For a hotel which is lucky enough to garner a 5* rating, I felt it was poor. The service issues should be manageable with training and better presentation (like for example the reception staff being trained not to tell people that spa facilities are included when they aren't!). Bar service is a basic which any hotel should be able to master. Rebuilding walls to give some semblence of privacy might present more of a challenge.

The (single) bed was comfortable, the bathroom was excellent and the breakfast buffet was wide ranging and tasty. We also got a very well priced deal and it seems perfectly possible to do this.

Olhao is a nice town with not too much tourism. We had a very good cheap and cheerful meal at a restaurant down the road and there looked to plenty of other similar establishments. I would go back to the town, but I wouldn't stay here.

Room Tip: One at a different hotel. If you must stay here, get three rooms and sleep in the middle one to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ajhutch_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear guest,

We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and apologise for any inconvenience you might have experienced. We do not know if the Pool Bar on the occasion you mention has been very busy, but still it should not take 5 minutes to be attended and another long waiting time to be served the drinks. The department head in charge for F&B has been informed and we assure you that we will do our utmost to improve the quality of the service.
Our rooms are sound-proofed, therefore it is very unusual that the person next door is able to overhear a conversation if it is held in a normal tone of voice.
We regret if our reception gave you a wrong registration card to sign at check-in. Whenever we receive a new reservation, we check if the guest had stayed with us before. Like this, we are able to check his preferences and we make the check-in easier, as instead of filling out a new registration card, the guest only needs to sign a previously filled out form. Apparently another guest who stayed with us before had exactly the same name is you, that is why you were given a registration card with a wrong address. Our reception staff is well trained, but such misunderstanding are unfortunately not always avoidable and the real intention was not to harm you, but to make your check-in easier. We were surprised that our reception informed you that all Spa facilities would be free of charge. They are all informed and well aware that treatments and the use of the Sauna and Steam room, are charged and this information can be also found in our Hotel documentation.
We also regret if the bed was not prepared as you wanted it to be. Unfortunately, we were not aware of your preferences, but since you know that single beds can be easily made up as a double room, one quick call would have solved the problem immediately and we would have been more than pleased to prepare you a double bed, since all our beds can be easily converted.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

ok. i'm not a huge fan of these larger hotels & spas but i have to admit for the price this place is really a great value. it's very clean and the service is fine but let's clear the air here - the establishment isn't a 5-star. it's a great maximum 2 night stay w/ a few good local restaurants in the area as well as a few eco-tours around the rio formosa. the food is ok & over priced like all hotels but there are great reasonably priced local restaurants within a five minute walking distance.

Room Tip: sea view suites are huge - 2 bathrooms w/ a livingroom and a wrap around balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3TravelMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad that although you usually prefer smaller hotels, you still enjoyed your stay with us, but we regret that you felt that we did not deserve our 5 star rating. Unfortunately, no further explanation is given, but we would like to assure you that our Hotel fulfils all criteria demanded by Portuguese law to be a 5 star Hotel. Of course and as can be deducted by the rates, we are not one of the most luxurious and opulent hotels in the world, but believe that we offer the comfort, high-quality service and facilities you would expect in a 5 star Hotel at very affordable prices.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina for another relaxing and enjoyable stay with us.


Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,743 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
19.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 152 in Albufeira
2,472 reviews
20.5 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 152 in Albufeira
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: £58 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing