We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and town & excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Youghal, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and town & excellent value”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for a week in April - the reception staff were very friendly , helpful and informative & our1st impression was very good.

Initially, we were given a room on the top floor which faced west & had the afternoon sun - perfect for sun worshippers but we immediately realised that it would be too hot for us so we asked if we could move to a room facing east (on the floor below) which the staff were more than happy to arrange and we'd like to thank them for that.

The sea facing room was beautiful and a pleasure to come back to every day - it was well appointed with a huge bed and had free wi fi and a fabulous private & spacious balcony with glass front so that we were able to enjoy the views of Ria Formosa National Park which is magical.

The town of Olhao is busy enough with plenty of bars, cafes & restaurants ranging from locally caught fresh seafood (simple & delicious), Italian and even Indian cuisine.The 'old town' was absolutely charming and the main area of the town (behind this) had everything required.

We liked Olhao because it is unspoilt - the residents were very friendly & it is an authentic Portuguese working town and as such has activity all year round. It is not a laid out tourist 'resort' so if travellers are looking for that (clubs etc) then this is not the place. There was a good article in 'The Guardian' about Olhao which more or less said it all!

There's a lovely shaded promenade adjacent to a marina which leads to the indoor fish and vegetable market which is the hub of all activity. Beyond that is the fisherman's harbour. apparently Olhao's port is the most important on the Algarve.

A short train journey (10 minutes) takes you to Faro which is beautiful - the 'old town' is spectacular (with old Roman walls) and is well worth a visit. And there are many more shops to browse.

The only suggestion we would make to the hotel management would be to install some stylish lounge furniture to 'fill' the space in the lobby/reception & bar area in order to encourage guests to relax & perhaps have a drink. At the moment this hotel does not have a 'lounge' area (except the sunbeds) and the existing furniture near the bar/reception area is very 'upright' and unappealing,This is just an observation intended to enhance the hotel's facilities & didn't affect our enjoyment in any way.

We will definitely return to this hotel and will perhaps explore more of the Eastern Algarve (Tavira & Vila Real) next time.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Top floor balconies are exposed to the sun. Lower floor balconies have a ceiling. The west facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sophila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,472
    721
    179
    29
    14
See reviews for
441
1,419
62
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great hotel equivalent to a 4* in UK. Good location, a short distance from the airport though not if you want a holiday resort. Hotel rooms and public area are well appointed with good facilities. It is a quaint working town though would appear to be just getting over the recession. ideal base for exploring the Algarve or west Spain. Lots of reasonably priced excellent restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank 627CAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just back after a week there in April. Really nice hotel, very clean, very comfortable. We had a city view room and realised very quickly we should have paid the extra e150 for a sea view but they were all booked.
Gym and indoor pool excellent. Buffett breakfast up there with the best too.
Only real flaw is the appalling wifi, so don't expect to be able to use the internet as it's dodgy at best.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimbob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Wonderful accommodations, pool area was really nice. Parking was free in a lower level garage, very secure. Nice views of the bay area, often gets cloudy in the morning so the view comes out around 1100 and is nice until the evening. Walking distance to many restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a car if your stay is for an extended period of time to visit nearby cities. Olhao is nice but c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned after a four night stay, I would highly recommend this hotel. We had a suite on the fourth floor (room 425) which face south and west so you have sun most of the time. This room is massive, large bedroom with sitting area and a separate lounge area, two bathrooms and a very large balcony facing south and west. Something I have never come across before the mini bar was not stocked, you have to fill in a card and hang it on the door, this worked nicely we just went to the shop and filled it ourselves, All the staff were very helpful and keen to oblige, the breakfast was also very good and again the staff are so efficient.
One thing to mention is I would not want to stay too close to the lifts as they make a noise every time they arrive.
I would have no hesitation to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for three days in April and the weather was great. We had a third floor room with views over the lagoon, which I would highly recommend as the balcony was spacious and sunny. The breakfast had all you could wish for. We ate in local Portuguese restaurants so cannot speak about the hotel restaurant other than for breakfast.
staff were friendly and very informative on arrival giving a good idea of what is available. The trip to the island arranged at the desk in reception was well worth going on. Rooms are very comfortable and a good size. Unfortunately wifi was a bit sketchy in the room so you had to go to the passage to get a good reception. We loved the fact that Olhao is not too touristy and a genuine Portuguese experience. We would definitely go again and would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Front facing is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a very quiet hotel off the usual tourist route in the Algarve. We had a junior suite which was huge and overlooked the lagoon. Very clean and well presented hotel but a bit 'cold' feeling especially in the dining room and bar. Food was perfectly ok but not outstanding, plenty of local restaurants just a short stroll down the road from fish, pasta, Indian etc. Didn't use spa or pool as were out and about but looked ok.

Staff very good and can recommend the island tour.

Room Tip: Our room was on third floor at the front of hotel and very nice, however be aware there is a busy ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,031 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
15.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing