We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring vacation in Olhao 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed one week in hotel Real Marina with our two sons (17 and 21), two rooms on the third floor with great view on the harbor and rio formosa.
+ breakfast, view and balcony of the room
+ location (walking distance from the best seafood in the world!!)
+ sundeck and pool, parking facilities if you have a rental car ( like us)
- hotel beds (small, hard and covered with plastic undersheets!)
- sometimes noisy at night (loud bass music from cars that are "parked" near the harbour after a night out)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank giseladagmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review and for pointing the advantages of our hotel.

We will take in consideration your constructive opinion and we will do our best to improve.

However we were surprised because beds quality and the soundproofed rooms are usually highly praised.

We hope to be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,418 - 1,424 of 2,823 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent sums up this hotel.
It is situated opposite a small local marina with the coastal road just in front (quiet road).
There are plenty of restaurants within a 5 minute walk.
The property is exceptionally clean and well maintained, the rooms are of a good size with very good bedding and working air con. We had room 414 which is on the top floor at the back of the hotel.
All of the staff are very efficient and helpful.
The swimming pool is situated on the first floor over reception which gives a lovely view out over the marina.
I found breakfast good with excellent (eggcellent!!!) scrambled eggs and proper orange juice, the usual breads,pastries and hot selections are all here too.
Overall I think that the hotel deserves it's 5 star rating we had a very comfortable 14 nights here.
It is also very close to the airport 15 minute drive (no noise though).
It is also reasonably close to Vilamoura, Praia da Rocha etc, but in my opinion you do not have to have a car to enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: The wi-fi worked well for us on the dressing table by the phone line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oddw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service in general. Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review and for mentioned the areas of the rooms, the cleaning, the pool area and the quality of the breakfast.

Our team makes a daily effort to serve the best quality products. We trie to have a plenty variety in order to answer to the guests preferences.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon,to our Hotel.

Kind regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for a week in April - the reception staff were very friendly , helpful and informative & our1st impression was very good.

Initially, we were given a room on the top floor which faced west & had the afternoon sun - perfect for sun worshippers but we immediately realised that it would be too hot for us so we asked if we could move to a room facing east (on the floor below) which the staff were more than happy to arrange and we'd like to thank them for that.

The sea facing room was beautiful and a pleasure to come back to every day - it was well appointed with a huge bed and had free wi fi and a fabulous private & spacious balcony with glass front so that we were able to enjoy the views of Ria Formosa National Park which is magical.

The town of Olhao is busy enough with plenty of bars, cafes & restaurants ranging from locally caught fresh seafood (simple & delicious), Italian and even Indian cuisine.The 'old town' was absolutely charming and the main area of the town (behind this) had everything required.

We liked Olhao because it is unspoilt - the residents were very friendly & it is an authentic Portuguese working town and as such has activity all year round. It is not a laid out tourist 'resort' so if travellers are looking for that (clubs etc) then this is not the place. There was a good article in 'The Guardian' about Olhao which more or less said it all!

There's a lovely shaded promenade adjacent to a marina which leads to the indoor fish and vegetable market which is the hub of all activity. Beyond that is the fisherman's harbour. apparently Olhao's port is the most important on the Algarve.

A short train journey (10 minutes) takes you to Faro which is beautiful - the 'old town' is spectacular (with old Roman walls) and is well worth a visit. And there are many more shops to browse.

The only suggestion we would make to the hotel management would be to install some stylish lounge furniture to 'fill' the space in the lobby/reception & bar area in order to encourage guests to relax & perhaps have a drink. At the moment this hotel does not have a 'lounge' area (except the sunbeds) and the existing furniture near the bar/reception area is very 'upright' and unappealing,This is just an observation intended to enhance the hotel's facilities & didn't affect our enjoyment in any way.

We will definitely return to this hotel and will perhaps explore more of the Eastern Algarve (Tavira & Vila Real) next time.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Top floor balconies are exposed to the sun. Lower floor balconies have a ceiling. The west facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sophila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great hotel equivalent to a 4* in UK. Good location, a short distance from the airport though not if you want a holiday resort. Hotel rooms and public area are well appointed with good facilities. It is a quaint working town though would appear to be just getting over the recession. ideal base for exploring the Algarve or west Spain. Lots of reasonably priced excellent restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank 627CAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just back after a week there in April. Really nice hotel, very clean, very comfortable. We had a city view room and realised very quickly we should have paid the extra e150 for a sea view but they were all booked.
Gym and indoor pool excellent. Buffett breakfast up there with the best too.
Only real flaw is the appalling wifi, so don't expect to be able to use the internet as it's dodgy at best.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimbob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Wonderful accommodations, pool area was really nice. Parking was free in a lower level garage, very secure. Nice views of the bay area, often gets cloudy in the morning so the view comes out around 1100 and is nice until the evening. Walking distance to many restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a car if your stay is for an extended period of time to visit nearby cities. Olhao is nice but c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned after a four night stay, I would highly recommend this hotel. We had a suite on the fourth floor (room 425) which face south and west so you have sun most of the time. This room is massive, large bedroom with sitting area and a separate lounge area, two bathrooms and a very large balcony facing south and west. Something I have never come across before the mini bar was not stocked, you have to fill in a card and hang it on the door, this worked nicely we just went to the shop and filled it ourselves, All the staff were very helpful and keen to oblige, the breakfast was also very good and again the staff are so efficient.
One thing to mention is I would not want to stay too close to the lifts as they make a noise every time they arrive.
I would have no hesitation to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
293 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,684 reviews
14.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: £47 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing