We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very good modern hotel situated at one end of what is basically the promenade. Excellent staff, large rooms, plenty of room and beds by the outdoor pool. Plenty of choice at breakfast and all very tasty. It's not 5* by usual standards, but it's the best here by far and we had no complaints at all.
Olhau is a small fishing village. Very easy to navigate and 22 EUR for us (each way) from Faro airport. Hotel arranged return taxi which was there before the booked time.
We loved our long weekend there.

Room Tip: Sea view probably better but ours was just fine given the time we spent in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,870 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one week with our 9mth old baby and i must say it was such a relaxing holiday. The bedrooms are very large so no problems fitting travel cot. We also asked for a kettle in our room for the bottles and the hotel supplied this. The pools outdoor and indoor are beautiful and the spa has great daily offers. The breakfast is wonderful and the fruit and bread are so delicious and fresh. The pool bar also offers very good lunches but a bit more expensive. Overall i would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teresaardara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment.

The biggest compliment that our team can have is your desire to return.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the quality of our food and our rooms. Our F&B service tries to offer a culinary diversified selection in order to suit the preferences and tastes of all guests.

The available and the sympathy of our staff is a permanent characteristic of our staff.

We hope, anxiously, for your new visit, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Fourth visit to Portugal and we decided on a change of venue and liked the sound of Olhao. Loved it, especially around the markets and the selection of restaurants between there and the hotel. If you are looking for boutiques and lively night life though this is not for you. Hotel very nice indeed and ALL staff very pleasant and friendly. Junior suit was a luxury for two (the settee is a fold down bed so ideal if you have children with you). Very clean, frequent linen change. pool towels available at Spa or reception free of charge. Good pool area. Breakfast as good as a buffet style gets, plenty to choose from. We were B & B (recommended) so cannot comment on evening meals but we did see the prices! There are so many little cafe's and restaurants close by all with excellent variety. They don't look much but the service, friendliness and value are very good and some really nice inside. One small criticism of the hotel - there was hardly a soul to be seen in the evening. The bar area is dull and unwelcoming, perhaps a happy hour would attract some customers. Otherwise thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with a sea view will have the sun, the floors below have the shadow of the balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Captainfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here, extremely nice room and a good location. Takes a while to get to the beaches but worth it when you get there, perfect and quiet.
We also saw dolphins when we were sat on the beach which was special. Olhao is quiet but has some very nice resturants. Breakfast in the hotel was good but could have done with a bit more variety.

Brilliant value as well!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cjmm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just amazing!! Definitely deserves 5 star. When we first walked in all the reception is marble and it's really well presented. Staff are so friendly with good english and very professional. Our room was lovely and once again all our bathroom was marble. The only thing is our view from our balcony wasn't the greatest but if you are in the front of the hotel the view is lush you can see all the sea and down the marina. Restaurant was lovely but the swimming pool and sunbathing section was my favourite. I would love to visit again! Only problem is you have to get a ferry ride to the closest beach but it's only a few euros and only takes half an hour. The local restaurants had all fresh fish etc and was amazing! The area is very cheap too :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jade933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service. Thank you so much for review.

The best compliment is when our guests wants to return! This fact make us very happy!

We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully soon,at Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Real Marina Hotel & Spa is a beautiful & well run establishment & well deserves it's 5 star status,that cater to your every whim. From facilities right down to staff this hotel is superb,rooms are immaculate & spacious with every mod com you could wish for as is your bathroom & always comfortable with air condition included in your package & not an extra as so many places. To give you some idea of the extra little touches they have over many rival's. My wife's birthday fell in middle of our stay on set day while getting ready to go out that night there was a knock on our door & there was room service with trolley with champagne on ice, birthday cake & chocolates & birthday card signed by every member of staff, that for me is going that extra yard & good reason why it gets a thumb's up from my wife & I, and why we have no qualm's i recommending this hotel to potential holiday makers. Try it you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor which is top floor noise was non existent as all rooms sound proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your compliments to our staff and the details of our service. Small details, big differences is our purpose! We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team and who, will be delighted.

We are happy that you and your wife enjoyed our surprise in this special day.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, for another excellent experience.

Kind regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had never been to Portugal before and had done a lot of research on hotels in the Algarve before we chose this one, and we weren't disappointed! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and cleaned every day. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice from fresh fruit and meats and cheeses to full English if you want it. I would advise a sea view though, as the rooms to the back of the hotel look out onto wasteland and its not very pretty! I would also suggest B&B only - there are so many restaurants and cafes to eat in the town and much less cost than full or half board in the hotel would cost.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlisonMichael2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for pointing out the details of our hotel and service. We try to offer a culinary and breakfast diversified selection in order to suit the preferences and tastes of all guests.

It was especially gratifying to learn that you would definitely recommend our hotel, thank you.

We look forward to welcome you again at Real Marina Hotel & SPA

Kind regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,706 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
293 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
14.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: £47 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing