We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After deliberating which country, area and hotel to visit, my Fiancé and I chose to book a one week holiday at this hotel to enjoy some 5 star relaxation and explore this area of the Algarve. We enjoyed a lovely week at this hotel in which we were able to enjoy great quality food (half board), lovely furnishings, good air conditioning in the rooms to chill the heat and enjoyed two boat tours to the lovely, local islands and also hired bikes to explore the area (all booked inside the hotel reception).

The food catered for most tastes with usually at least a couple of choices from the a la carte menu or more choices from the occasional buffet evening. The breakfasts were the same each morning, this was fine due to the wide range of choices but did become a bit boring/repetitive after a few days.

The hotel was very clean and all the staff that we spoke to were very helpful and attentive.

Due to the town being small and fairly sleepy, we would not return to the hotel purely to visit the town, but if I was needing a week to wind down and relax with great weather, swimming pools and luxury, very comfortable rooms then I would definitely return.

Room Tip: I would not pay the extra money for a sea/pool view, we had a town view which was perfectly fine and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NWhit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 2,684 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Third stay at this hotel and my wife and I had another fantastic visit. Very comfortable clean hotel, great choice of buffet breakfast and first class staff throughout this hotel. Stayed in a sea view room this year for the first time and I would certainly recommend it. Thanks again to all the staff at the Real Marina for another enjoyable relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are brilliant if you can afford the extra money but city view rooms are okay in my op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigSlimJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very proud about your positive comment regarding our hotel. Our guests comments help us to improve our service every day.

Thank you for the time that you spend with this comment and we are happy that you enjoyed the quality of our buffet and our rooms.

Your comment will be shared with our team, who will be delighted.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My mother and I stayed at the Real Marina in May 2014. Prior to arriving, my mother had a hip replaced and unfortunately was unable to use a bath and rooms we had book only had baths and not showers. I contact the hotel prior to arriving and explained the position to the team who promised to see what they could do. To my surprise they managed to source a device to allow her to swing into the bath and fitted before our arrival. In addition, we requested a number of additional things for the room which they sent up immediately - without asking twice. The rooms were large with plenty of room and very clean. The Wifi was ok for hotel rooms - except during peak times (tea time and early evening). The reception staff were extremely attentive and well informed on local restaurants and services. Olhao is a small fishing port and there are a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. We were on a B&B basis so only had breakfast which was excellent with plenty of selection. The spa was lovely and we did use the services on a number of occasions, there was a tendency to shave minutes of some of the treatments but the treatment was a nice experience. The hotel is only a short transfer time and 22$ each way. Overall we loved the hotel and would go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment. It’s important to us to know that our guests enjoy at maximum the hotel and the facilities!

We are happy that you enjoyed the availability of our team and your mother stayed comfortable, relaxed during her stay with us.

The biggest compliment that our team can have is your desire to return.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the quality of our food and our rooms.

We hope for your new visit, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Real Marina in May 2014. This hotel is fantastic. Our room looked over the water, definitely worth the extra £70 for the view. The room was immaculate with a huge bed and flatscreen tv on the wall, and the bathroom was also very big. There was a safe in the room at no extra cost. Wifi is available and we had a great signal, although this may because we were on the top floor as friends who stayed here the week after us were on the third floor in the room right below ours and struggled a bit to get a signal. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff cannot do enough for you. Breakfast was great and had just about everything you could imagine, including champagne. The swimming pool was lovely with plenty of beds. This seems to be a hotel for more mature couples rather than youngsters looking for great nightlife which suited us down to the ground. Olhao itself seems to be untouched by tourism. It is full of fantastic restaurants serving all types of cuisine including the most superb fresh seafood. Eating out is incredibly cheap, as is the drink.On average, for a 2 course meal and drinks, we were about £35 for the 2 of us. This was the first time we had been to Portugal, and we loved it so much, that we have booked to go back to the Real Marina in October.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gallser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the complete and great comment.

It is very special to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service, our staff and with the hotel in general.

Thank you for the qualification of our hotel as a “fantastic hotel”.

We are very happy to know that we will return in October! We are excited to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very good modern hotel situated at one end of what is basically the promenade. Excellent staff, large rooms, plenty of room and beds by the outdoor pool. Plenty of choice at breakfast and all very tasty. It's not 5* by usual standards, but it's the best here by far and we had no complaints at all.
Olhau is a small fishing village. Very easy to navigate and 22 EUR for us (each way) from Faro airport. Hotel arranged return taxi which was there before the booked time.
We loved our long weekend there.

Room Tip: Sea view probably better but ours was just fine given the time we spent in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one week with our 9mth old baby and i must say it was such a relaxing holiday. The bedrooms are very large so no problems fitting travel cot. We also asked for a kettle in our room for the bottles and the hotel supplied this. The pools outdoor and indoor are beautiful and the spa has great daily offers. The breakfast is wonderful and the fruit and bread are so delicious and fresh. The pool bar also offers very good lunches but a bit more expensive. Overall i would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teresaardara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment.

The biggest compliment that our team can have is your desire to return.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the quality of our food and our rooms. Our F&B service tries to offer a culinary diversified selection in order to suit the preferences and tastes of all guests.

The available and the sympathy of our staff is a permanent characteristic of our staff.

We hope, anxiously, for your new visit, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Fourth visit to Portugal and we decided on a change of venue and liked the sound of Olhao. Loved it, especially around the markets and the selection of restaurants between there and the hotel. If you are looking for boutiques and lively night life though this is not for you. Hotel very nice indeed and ALL staff very pleasant and friendly. Junior suit was a luxury for two (the settee is a fold down bed so ideal if you have children with you). Very clean, frequent linen change. pool towels available at Spa or reception free of charge. Good pool area. Breakfast as good as a buffet style gets, plenty to choose from. We were B & B (recommended) so cannot comment on evening meals but we did see the prices! There are so many little cafe's and restaurants close by all with excellent variety. They don't look much but the service, friendliness and value are very good and some really nice inside. One small criticism of the hotel - there was hardly a soul to be seen in the evening. The bar area is dull and unwelcoming, perhaps a happy hour would attract some customers. Otherwise thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with a sea view will have the sun, the floors below have the shadow of the balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Captainfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,152 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,635 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
5.0 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: £49 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing