We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had such a fantastic holiday at Real Marina that we came home and booked to go back in September.

Rooms: large, plenty storage space, sound proofed so no noise from adjacent rooms, good quality bedding, comfy bed, balcony not overlooked for town facing room, free WiFi worked great on kindle fire in room

Food: breakfast - plenty of choice. Meat, cheese, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, cooked breakfast, juice. No meals eaten in the hotel other than breakfast.

Pool: no shortage of sun loungers (comfy), not enough space - too close together. Didn't try indoor pool as caps are mandatory.

Gym: well equipped. 2 treadmills, 2 cross trainers, 2 exercise bikes and 1 recumbent bike. Loads of weight machines and some free weights, stability ball and mats.

Local area: loved it! Fantastic choice of restaurants - food was excellent and prices were brilliant. You know the fish is going to be be good when it comes from the fish market just across from the restaurant! Such a friendly town. They are clearly trying to make improvements - paving major tourist spots. But so much character up the back streets!

Can't wait till we go back in September!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is very special to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service, our staff and with the hotel in general. Thank you for the qualification of your experience as a “fantastic holiday”. Only the best guests make possible to us to be the best hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again, in September. We will make sure that your next experience will be unforgettable!

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    627
    157
    25
    8
See reviews for
370
1,248
53
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My fiancé and I chose to stay here for a weeks holiday after some research into Portugal and it's towns / hotels as we had never been before. The trip advisor ratings for real marina were very good so we went with quite high expectations. We did not want your average party type town with lots of tourists and Olhao itself has proven to be a lovely place to stay. It has a lot of locals and spanish people on holiday there and has numerous good quality restaurants to eat in at great value. The local people are friendly and the trips to the nearby islands / beaches make the experience a bit more cultured to most package holidays. The hotel however was more like a 4 star and lacked a bit of soul. It was clean and the rooms were well maintained by house keeping. The staff were pleasant at breakfast and there was a good selection of food. ( We went b&b and were happy we did as there were so many good restaurants to try in the town). Our room had a funny smell which I noticed straight away and when we said to the house keeping lady she did try to do something about it but I think it was coming from the drains outside and was never going to go away easily. One reason why we had chosen the hotel was because it had said that the rooms were sound proofed as My fiancé is a very light sleeper. It was very disappointing then when at the weekend, we had to listen to extremely loud dance music coming from a nearby nightclub until after 2am. Our room was at the back of the hotel over looking some waste land ( we didn't mind the view as we weren't spending much time on the balcony anyway). We are not afraid of a bit of music ourselves but would have gone to one of the more livelier resorts if we wanted to listen to music until the early hours. When I said to the reception staff about it, they did not seem overly concerned about the fact that we had to get up for a very early flight the next morning and were going to have little sleep with the noise. I don't complain about anything and am normally very easily pleased when on holiday as long as the rooms are clean but we had chosen the hotel for good reasons and were slightly disappointed. Will definitely be returning to Olhao but not fussed on the hotel. If you are staying here, I would definitely pay the extra for a sea view at the front of the hotel which means you won't have to listen to the night club noise.

Room Tip: Sea view at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

We regret that your stay at our hotel did not entirely correspond to your expectations and would like to thank you for your constructive comments and feedback.

We will take in consideration your comment and do utmost to improve the service. We regret that your sleeping time was not perfect.

We are happy that you enjoyed our team and our food selection.

The daily goal of our team is offer the a great experience and a great service to our great guests.

We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again and show you our high quality standards.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

we had a nice experience at the Real Marina, it wasn't outsatnding but it did not fall below what I was expecting either. It was clean, modern and staff (except one) extremely helpful so I have nothing to complain about. The only thing I would say the bar was a bit dull but we went out every night so this wasn't much of an issue. Olhau was great and I really liked the place but be warned if you are under 30 and want a party lifestyle this is not the place for you! Saying that we are in our 40's so the bars and the restaurants were great for us and it was a good place to go exploring from as well either by boat, train or bus. All in all I would recommend Real Marina and Olhau and I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

After deliberating which country, area and hotel to visit, my Fiancé and I chose to book a one week holiday at this hotel to enjoy some 5 star relaxation and explore this area of the Algarve. We enjoyed a lovely week at this hotel in which we were able to enjoy great quality food (half board), lovely furnishings, good air conditioning in the rooms to chill the heat and enjoyed two boat tours to the lovely, local islands and also hired bikes to explore the area (all booked inside the hotel reception).

The food catered for most tastes with usually at least a couple of choices from the a la carte menu or more choices from the occasional buffet evening. The breakfasts were the same each morning, this was fine due to the wide range of choices but did become a bit boring/repetitive after a few days.

The hotel was very clean and all the staff that we spoke to were very helpful and attentive.

Due to the town being small and fairly sleepy, we would not return to the hotel purely to visit the town, but if I was needing a week to wind down and relax with great weather, swimming pools and luxury, very comfortable rooms then I would definitely return.

Room Tip: I would not pay the extra money for a sea/pool view, we had a town view which was perfectly fine and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWhit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Third stay at this hotel and my wife and I had another fantastic visit. Very comfortable clean hotel, great choice of buffet breakfast and first class staff throughout this hotel. Stayed in a sea view room this year for the first time and I would certainly recommend it. Thanks again to all the staff at the Real Marina for another enjoyable relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are brilliant if you can afford the extra money but city view rooms are okay in my op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigSlimJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very proud about your positive comment regarding our hotel. Our guests comments help us to improve our service every day.

Thank you for the time that you spend with this comment and we are happy that you enjoyed the quality of our buffet and our rooms.

Your comment will be shared with our team, who will be delighted.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My mother and I stayed at the Real Marina in May 2014. Prior to arriving, my mother had a hip replaced and unfortunately was unable to use a bath and rooms we had book only had baths and not showers. I contact the hotel prior to arriving and explained the position to the team who promised to see what they could do. To my surprise they managed to source a device to allow her to swing into the bath and fitted before our arrival. In addition, we requested a number of additional things for the room which they sent up immediately - without asking twice. The rooms were large with plenty of room and very clean. The Wifi was ok for hotel rooms - except during peak times (tea time and early evening). The reception staff were extremely attentive and well informed on local restaurants and services. Olhao is a small fishing port and there are a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. We were on a B&B basis so only had breakfast which was excellent with plenty of selection. The spa was lovely and we did use the services on a number of occasions, there was a tendency to shave minutes of some of the treatments but the treatment was a nice experience. The hotel is only a short transfer time and 22$ each way. Overall we loved the hotel and would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment. It’s important to us to know that our guests enjoy at maximum the hotel and the facilities!

We are happy that you enjoyed the availability of our team and your mother stayed comfortable, relaxed during her stay with us.

The biggest compliment that our team can have is your desire to return.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the quality of our food and our rooms.

We hope for your new visit, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Real Marina in May 2014. This hotel is fantastic. Our room looked over the water, definitely worth the extra £70 for the view. The room was immaculate with a huge bed and flatscreen tv on the wall, and the bathroom was also very big. There was a safe in the room at no extra cost. Wifi is available and we had a great signal, although this may because we were on the top floor as friends who stayed here the week after us were on the third floor in the room right below ours and struggled a bit to get a signal. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff cannot do enough for you. Breakfast was great and had just about everything you could imagine, including champagne. The swimming pool was lovely with plenty of beds. This seems to be a hotel for more mature couples rather than youngsters looking for great nightlife which suited us down to the ground. Olhao itself seems to be untouched by tourism. It is full of fantastic restaurants serving all types of cuisine including the most superb fresh seafood. Eating out is incredibly cheap, as is the drink.On average, for a 2 course meal and drinks, we were about £35 for the 2 of us. This was the first time we had been to Portugal, and we loved it so much, that we have booked to go back to the Real Marina in October.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gallser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the complete and great comment.

It is very special to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service, our staff and with the hotel in general.

Thank you for the qualification of our hotel as a “fantastic hotel”.

We are very happy to know that we will return in October! We are excited to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
18.8 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing