We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Agree with Picard1 on most of what s/he says, but we had sea view and it was worth it for us.
I would like to add that the staff were without exception helpful and genuinely pleasant to deal with.
The Fado night was excellent, but the very lovely and talented artist had to perform to an audience some of whom talked while she sang. Rude! Hotel clientele mixed age groups and nationalities and a good atmosphere. Accessibility good and excellent spa facilities. We used
gym, massage, indoor pools and there is also steam room and thalassotherapy. Best boat tour was 'Natura Algarve' with Jaime Pinho, informative and blissfully relaxing. Best restaurant was
'Prazeres' opposite the fish market. We also are returning soon to Olhao, love it.

Room Tip: we had a room near the lift but it was quiet - we never heard a sound from machinery or other guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments about the friendliness of our team, which were really appreciated. Your qualification as a “excellent hotel” means a lot to us.

We are happy that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

It’s very special to us to know that you will return!

We hope to welcome you again, soon.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,484
    725
    182
    31
    15
See reviews for
451
1,429
62
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baildon west yorks
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at The Real Marina Hotel and Spa again in June having previously stayed here in September 2013. Once again excellent! The hotel is lovely, made even more so by the wonderful staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The food was buffet style (we were half board),good choice and quality. The dinner was moved from the downstairs dining room to an area just off the pool bar for the last 3 days of our stay and,in my opinion,this was for the better. A word has to be said for all the dining room staff, brilliant!
Thanks once again for a great holiday!

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments so complete and excited! We loved it!

We always look for the small details to make big differences and our main objective is that the customer feels it. Your review transmit precisely what we want our guests to feel.

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another good time at our Hotel.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Room was a good size, it's clean and comfortable but lacks the following.

Tea/coffee making facilities
A iron
Hair conditioner
Body lotion


When I requested ice they wanted to charge me for it. 5* hotels do not charge for ice!

We paid for an upgrade to a sea view with balcony at a charge of €20 per night, our balcony was in the shade most of the day which was disappointing as we'd specifically said we wanted to be in the sun.

On the first day we arrived back at our room at 4pm and it hadn't been cleaned. We contacted reception and 30 mins later I went and spoke to a cleaner in the corridor myself.

On the 3rd day we arrived back to our room at 6pm and the door hadn't been closed properly and the patio doors to the balcony were wide open. When this was raised with reception we didn't even get an apology. The dirty towels we left in the bath had been removed but they weren't replaced with clean ones.

Breakfast was ok but every morning there was a queue and clearly not enough staff. I asked for a salt cellar and the waitress pointed me to the buffet and told me to go and get a sachet. This isn't how you treat guests.

The wi-fi dropped on a very frequent basis. It only appeared to work in the bathroom.

The swimming pool and outside areas are good. The temp of the pool was nice and there was always sun loungers. The prices of the drinks were also very reasonable.

I was told by a local that this hotel is in the hands of the bank now and they have laid off staff. It was fully booked the week we were there so I hope if this is true they do improve their service as it has the location and potential to be very good.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room as what they call 'village view' is an area of very unattractive roug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
MsVictoria

We sincerely regret that you feel that we do not deserve our 5-star rating, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive with many guests praising the helpfulness of our team and our service quality. We regret your experience has been so different but we will pass your comment on to the department heads and assure you that we will continue trying to always provide a high-quality service in all areas and circumstances.

We would like to point out that we do not charge the ice itself that we deliver in the room, via room service, the amount is the room service charge.

About housekeeping situation we apologize but we understand that it was just a one-off situation, it is unusual that happen.

The Hoteis Real Group is a solid company, operating 9 hotels, in Lisbon and Algarve and is not laying off any staff.
Regarding specifically the Real Marina Hotel & Spa, it is exactly the opposite, the hotel is hiring employees, due to the anticipated high level of occupancy during the peak season, to offer our guests a very efficient and pleasant service throughout the summer season.

Thank you for having left your feedback.
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is pretty much what others say. Not top notch 5* but good 4*. There is Cava for breakfast if that's to your taste - which is was for me on couple of mornings, but alcohol that early is well you know :)

Room was lovely and matched the pictures on all booking sites. Bathroom very spacious.

We did not have sea-view room and to be honest I'm glad I saved the money for other delights. I could see the view whenever I wanted, which is lovely,but as we don't spend much time on a balcony, but are out and about, why waste your dosh. The view at the back is a quiet car park and views of Olhao town, and you get lots of sun in the morning so DON'T stress over having sea view room.

Spent no time around pool, but did have swim in it couple of times. This was in between using indoor pool which was great.

Would use hotel again, but won't as you will see by comments below we want to eat more local produce.

Olhao itself is a great town with lots of restaurants cafe's etc. All sell very reasonably priced food - especially seafood!!!!! So if you like all kinds of sea food (which we do) this place is heaven!!

There is no access to sandy beach without getting on a boat :) The most spectacular is on the island of Cultura - a must visit! Return for two people is just over 7€ so very cheap. Again restaurants on island sell the most mouth watering sea food and of course ice cold beer a 1€ a bottle....we're going back to Olhao and surrounding area again without question.

Next time we will rent apartment so we can use fish market :) Fruit and vegetables incredibly cheap compared to UK! 1.5-2€ for two kilo of peaches for instance. Ripe gorgeous figs for the same price or cheaper! etc!

ps. the 250ml bottles of water in your fridge when you arrive will cost you 2.5€ a bottle. DON'T touch. 2ltr bottles are about 1€+ in town.

pps - Visit Vai e Volta restaurant. 8.5€ - all fresh grilled fish you can eat served with potatoes, bread, olives etc. A MUST.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is of a really good standard but not quite 5*. It just lacks somewhere to chill out in comfort. The area between reception and the large dining room is far too austere, the seats should be replaced with couches, armchairs and coffee tables.

All staff (reception, housekeeping, dining room and pool/spa) were extremely smart in appearance and most helpful and polite. Everywhere is cleaned to a very high standard, especially the dining rooms where the glassware, crockery and cutlery positively gleam.
For the first week, breakfast was buffet style while evening meals were brought to the table by waiters. For the second week, as diner numbers picked up, it was all buffet style. Food was hot and tasty. Evening main courses were varied and usually consisted of one hot meat dish, one or more hot fish dishes, and one vegetarian dish, with potatoes, rice and/or pasta.

The dining room runs a “drinks package” which for 5 Euros per person entitles you to unlimited water, soft drinks and alcoholic drinks with your meal, definitely the best value option if you want more than a single drink. In terms of alcohol we can only speak for the red wine and beer, both are very palatable. Just make sure you let the waiter know that you want the “drinks package” when ordering and they will repeatedly top up your wine until you tell them to stop! As you leave the dining room you will be asked to sign for whatever drinks you have consumed. Live entertainment is provided in the dining room a couple of evenings a week and is of high quality.
Rooms are spacious with good facilities; air conditioning quality TV, safe and refrigerator. Bedding and bathroom linen is spotless.

The hotel is in a somewhat isolated location. If you don’t want to spend all of your time sunbathing around the pool, you will need to hire a car or familiarise yourself with the local transport systems. The bus terminus and train station are a few hundred yards apart and are about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Reception staff are happy to print off bus and train timetables on a daily basis, together with a map of the areas of departure and destination. Trains are quicker, cheaper and more frequent to neighbouring resorts of Tavira and Faro, both places well worth a visit. Be aware that if you choose to take the train to Albufeira, you may need to change trains at Faro (ask the conductor) and that Albufeira train station is miles away from the beach. If going to the beach take a ‘Giro’ bus to the terminus and then using the same bus ticket (within the hour), take a second bus (No.16 or 17) to the centre of Albufeira, alternatively a taxi (10 euros).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan&Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

5th visit!! love this place. The hotal is by and large great, although dont expect anything from the bar area or reception area, very boring. However, the staff are fantastic. If you are looking for bright lights big city give this area a swerve, but if you want a taste of the real Portugal, you can't go wrong. This is a fishing village/town. Local p0eople and local restaurants. There isn't much to do, but if thats your scene, it's perfect. Lots of sun loungers around the pool, very few children as there is no beach here. There is a great new cocktail bar just opened across from the hotel called Emotions, great fun, wonderful young owner, amazing cocktails, give it a go. It has atmosphere unlike the hotel bar!!. There is also a beauticians across from the hotel, I can't recommend them highly enough, go for a pedicure, you will be walking on air all day!. I was at the hotel for my birthday again this year, and was greeted on my return from a wonderful boat trip by a bottle of fizz and cake and fruit. Going again in September, love this place

Room Tip: We have stayed in a standard room, juinior suite and a corner suite, all are excellent. All have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzybabe-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review. We will analyzed the points that, in your opinion, need some improvements.

We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully soon, to Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had such a fantastic holiday at Real Marina that we came home and booked to go back in September.

Rooms: large, plenty storage space, sound proofed so no noise from adjacent rooms, good quality bedding, comfy bed, balcony not overlooked for town facing room, free WiFi worked great on kindle fire in room

Food: breakfast - plenty of choice. Meat, cheese, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, cooked breakfast, juice. No meals eaten in the hotel other than breakfast.

Pool: no shortage of sun loungers (comfy), not enough space - too close together. Didn't try indoor pool as caps are mandatory.

Gym: well equipped. 2 treadmills, 2 cross trainers, 2 exercise bikes and 1 recumbent bike. Loads of weight machines and some free weights, stability ball and mats.

Local area: loved it! Fantastic choice of restaurants - food was excellent and prices were brilliant. You know the fish is going to be be good when it comes from the fish market just across from the restaurant! Such a friendly town. They are clearly trying to make improvements - paving major tourist spots. But so much character up the back streets!

Can't wait till we go back in September!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is very special to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service, our staff and with the hotel in general. Thank you for the qualification of your experience as a “fantastic holiday”. Only the best guests make possible to us to be the best hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again, in September. We will make sure that your next experience will be unforgettable!

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,041 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
15.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing