We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Splendid Hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently enjoyed a 9 day stay here. We had a good sized room which was clean and bright with a great big bed which was very comfortable with soft linen and comfy pillows. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped with lovely soft towels. You must, must pay the little bit extra for a sea view as the vista of the marina and near by Islands is simply stunning. Our accommodation was on a bed & breakfast base and breakfast was very good, offering everything and anything your heart desires, including a glass of bubbly! The swimming pool and sun terrace are great and being on the 1st floor you can sunbath looking out over the sea and marina. There is good poolside service for ordering drinks & snacks, when too hot for the short stroll to town (which it was when we were there). All in all a great hotel, just one really annoying thing was not being allowed into the indoor pool and spa without wearing a swimming hat, including my husband who has short cropped hair! They would sell you a hat but we didn't bother, so if you have one take your own!

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

Thank for the description of the hotel services.

Your qualification as a “splendid hotel” is very important to us. Our daily concern is the happiness of our guests.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcome you again, hopefully soon.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    748
    190
    32
    16
See reviews for
487
1,453
63
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have stayed here 8 times !! Never have we ever been disappointed, and if any we had any problem, it was always resolved immediately.
So, without doubt, we are looking forward to our 9th stay coming up. I have been visiting all areas of The Algarve since 1985. Olhao has always been a favourite of mine, and long before the Real Marina Hotel & Spa opened.
There are many Excellent Comments here on TA, by hundreds of very satisfied Guests.
Of course, Olhao will not be suitable for everybody.
So, there are many other places to stay along the Coastline of The Algarve.

The Staff here are totally committed to the comfort of their Guests. So that any problem or issue anyone may have during their stay, just go to the Reception and have a word with any Member of Staff, and give them the chance to help or resolve any concerns. No point in waiting until you arrive home. Why allow a problem to spoil any hard earned holiday, when all you need to do is to ask the Real Marina to address your concerns and remedy any problem there and then.
. Of course, if they do not, then make a TA comment, so as to highlight your concern or disappointment. The Manager, will always responds on TA. Fair?. Yes, I think so. Very few Hotels even bother to do that. I think that shows a genuine commitment to Excellent Customer Service.
What more is there to say?
Well, I absolutely agree with all of those TA comments regarding the "lack of comfortable seating" in the Bar and surrounding area.
Whilst I understand, that this Hotel is also used as a Business Venue , and appreciate the need for open space, for gatherings etc. in the Reception area.
I do feel that, some attention to their Holiday Guests ought to be addressed. After all, there is more than enough space for some comfortable seating. Please ??
People on TA are right too, about the "Soulless Bar" mentioned a few times.
At least it saves you money? by not "lounging" in there for long.
I see there is a new Bar Emotions just outside to the right of the Hotel. Competition ?. for Bar Prices. Although Hotel Prices are always priced higher. So can not be expected to compete.
Usually Hotel Bars, charge high prices, but most provide a comfortable seats too.
Have not been in the new Emotions Bar yet, but no doubt, we will be choosing to take our "nightcaps" in there !
Maybe, its time for the Real Marina to make some changes soon, to boost the spending of their Guests in the Hotel. If the prices can not be discounted for Guests, then maybe a few comfortable seats would compensate a little ?
I realise that is really a matter for The Group to make a decision on, and not in the power of the Staff at the Hotel.
They really are a great credit to the Real, as has been voiced many times on TA.
They work hard and long hours, and deserve all of the praise and accolades, seen here on TA
Always helpful, friendly, courteous, professional and hard working.
Well done !! and long may it continue!
NB I have been meaning to post a Review on here since our first stay, a few years ago now. long overdue sorry.

Room Tip: All the Rooms are the same, choose your view according to your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BellaNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s very important to us to see that you are a frequent guest and you are happy with our staff and service.

Thank you for all your compliments to our staff and the details of our service. Small details, big differences is our purpose! We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team and, who will be delighted.

Our guest satisfaction is our daily motivation. Your comment is perfect because help us to improve our service. The guests feedback allows us to see the points that, in their opinion, should be improved. For that reason we have to thank you! Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and for pointing the aspects that need some improvements.

We are very excited to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Although we enjoyed our stay and the hotel clean, with polite and smart staff. The positive review will reflect the excellent breakfasts and the cleanliness of the entire hotel, together with the pleasant swimming pool and surroundings.

However have to agree that the area between reception and dining room, would be more welcoming with loungers and coffee tables it looks bare and austere.

We asked for milk as we had taken tea bags for our early morning drinks, this was brought to our rooms, however we were very surprised to learn it cost 9 euro for 1L. We bought some later in the super market for 80 cents also 1 L. As a previous customer stated when asking for some ice, there was a considerable charge 7 euros.

We enjoyed our stay never the less and hope to back to enjoy again at a later date.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise, corner suites are large and sunny and some have an a adjoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hilarion I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

have just returned from a seven night stay with my family. I am very fortunate to have stayed in some good 4/5 star hotels as my Son works for a travel company so we get a good deal on Hotels. This Hotel is a strange one The bedrooms are spacious,spotless comfy beds air-con hairdryer robes all provided! we had a town facing room which got sunny in the late afternoon,breakfast all you can ask for ,poached or omlette done on request of your table server/plate whipper!!!! didnt like the Reception/Bar like lots of other reviwers didnt eat as food expensive also so many good places to try. one thing we complained about was the door stop infront of the toilet please take care I hurt my foot on the first night! we just covered it with a toilet rool to make you aware! I did enjoy my stay here Olhao is a great Portuguese fishing town glad I tryed it as my first time to Portugal!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nuttybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Agree with Picard1 on most of what s/he says, but we had sea view and it was worth it for us.
I would like to add that the staff were without exception helpful and genuinely pleasant to deal with.
The Fado night was excellent, but the very lovely and talented artist had to perform to an audience some of whom talked while she sang. Rude! Hotel clientele mixed age groups and nationalities and a good atmosphere. Accessibility good and excellent spa facilities. We used
gym, massage, indoor pools and there is also steam room and thalassotherapy. Best boat tour was 'Natura Algarve' with Jaime Pinho, informative and blissfully relaxing. Best restaurant was
'Prazeres' opposite the fish market. We also are returning soon to Olhao, love it.

Room Tip: we had a room near the lift but it was quiet - we never heard a sound from machinery or other guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments about the friendliness of our team, which were really appreciated. Your qualification as a “excellent hotel” means a lot to us.

We are happy that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

It’s very special to us to know that you will return!

We hope to welcome you again, soon.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baildon west yorks
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at The Real Marina Hotel and Spa again in June having previously stayed here in September 2013. Once again excellent! The hotel is lovely, made even more so by the wonderful staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The food was buffet style (we were half board),good choice and quality. The dinner was moved from the downstairs dining room to an area just off the pool bar for the last 3 days of our stay and,in my opinion,this was for the better. A word has to be said for all the dining room staff, brilliant!
Thanks once again for a great holiday!

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments so complete and excited! We loved it!

We always look for the small details to make big differences and our main objective is that the customer feels it. Your review transmit precisely what we want our guests to feel.

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another good time at our Hotel.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Room was a good size, it's clean and comfortable but lacks the following.

Tea/coffee making facilities
A iron
Hair conditioner
Body lotion


When I requested ice they wanted to charge me for it. 5* hotels do not charge for ice!

We paid for an upgrade to a sea view with balcony at a charge of €20 per night, our balcony was in the shade most of the day which was disappointing as we'd specifically said we wanted to be in the sun.

On the first day we arrived back at our room at 4pm and it hadn't been cleaned. We contacted reception and 30 mins later I went and spoke to a cleaner in the corridor myself.

On the 3rd day we arrived back to our room at 6pm and the door hadn't been closed properly and the patio doors to the balcony were wide open. When this was raised with reception we didn't even get an apology. The dirty towels we left in the bath had been removed but they weren't replaced with clean ones.

Breakfast was ok but every morning there was a queue and clearly not enough staff. I asked for a salt cellar and the waitress pointed me to the buffet and told me to go and get a sachet. This isn't how you treat guests.

The wi-fi dropped on a very frequent basis. It only appeared to work in the bathroom.

The swimming pool and outside areas are good. The temp of the pool was nice and there was always sun loungers. The prices of the drinks were also very reasonable.

I was told by a local that this hotel is in the hands of the bank now and they have laid off staff. It was fully booked the week we were there so I hope if this is true they do improve their service as it has the location and potential to be very good.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room as what they call 'village view' is an area of very unattractive roug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
MsVictoria

We sincerely regret that you feel that we do not deserve our 5-star rating, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive with many guests praising the helpfulness of our team and our service quality. We regret your experience has been so different but we will pass your comment on to the department heads and assure you that we will continue trying to always provide a high-quality service in all areas and circumstances.

We would like to point out that we do not charge the ice itself that we deliver in the room, via room service, the amount is the room service charge.

About housekeeping situation we apologize but we understand that it was just a one-off situation, it is unusual that happen.

The Hoteis Real Group is a solid company, operating 9 hotels, in Lisbon and Algarve and is not laying off any staff.
Regarding specifically the Real Marina Hotel & Spa, it is exactly the opposite, the hotel is hiring employees, due to the anticipated high level of occupancy during the peak season, to offer our guests a very efficient and pleasant service throughout the summer season.

Thank you for having left your feedback.
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,072 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,573 reviews
15.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing