We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but bad wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
stockholm
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel but bad wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Good hotel that is still in very modern and good condition. Nice poolarea and nice rooms. Expensive at the hotel to eat and drink. Recomend the small place around the corner from the hotel 'emotions' for food and drinks at lunch, half the price and more flavour. Would stay again and seaview is amazing. The wifi sucks and hotel personel asked me to sit in the reception to use it.... yeah nice to sit in your robe in the morning working in the reception... The road in front of the hotel worried me when we booked but the traffic is not at all bad, very quiet. Would come again but ask for a room above reception since thats where they have the wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and the good opinion about our hotel.

We regret that the wi-fi connection was not positive to you, we assure you that we do our utmost to improve wherever we can.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and is special to us to know that you definitely will return to Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Best Regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    636
    159
    25
    8
See reviews for
376
1,261
53
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We are currently at the real hotel & spa arruved after requesting a sea view we couldn't have been further from a sea view was not put off by that tho. Breakfast was again just ok certainly not 5* by any means would stay again .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We regret that your experience was not perfect to you.

Your team makes all the efforts to offer the best service to our guest. Offer amazing experiences is our mission!

Usually our guest praise the quality and the variety of our breakfast, the breakfast service have available the best selection of products, suit to all the guests preferences.

We are happy that the points that you mentioned did not influence negatively your desire to return.

We will analyzed your comment and do our utmost to be ready to welcome you again, hopefully soon at Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Best Regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent 4 nights here at the end of June and our stay was completely enjoyable and relaxing.
Our room was nice with a super large bathroom with everything in good working order and super clean. We had a sea view double room in the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. We could occasionally smell smoke rising up from the bar area when our balcony door was open, but we were able to close it and rely on the air conditioner to block it out. The hotel is super quiet and we slept well here - decent beds. We did have a room with an adjoining door to the room next door - this door is rather flimsy and had we or the neighbors been noisy, it could have presented a problem, so if this kind of thing bothers you, you may want to ask for a room without an adjoining door (we only heard our neighbors showering and running water).
Breakfast was really nice with a good selection of fresh foods every day. A couple of mornings we had to wait for a table for a couple of minutes.
The pool is really nice, clean and almost always empty, but for some strange reason, they don't allow you to swim in the early evening (7pm!). There is no sign indicating this, nor is it written anywhere in the room information. Not knowing this, my niece went in for a swim at 7pm and was asked to leave by one of the waiters who was serving in the bar area. They should allow a night swim as the pool area is lit up and very beautiful at night.
The underground parking garage is so dark - the lights are on a timer and switch off before you make it to the elevator. Kind of creepy.
The 3 tiny elevators are slow and with one of them out of order during our stay, we had long lift waits. Oh, well, I'm just being picky here to validate the removal of one star.
The people who work at reception are cold and robotic - they don't go out of their way for you. Those who worked in the restaurant/pool area were more personable.
This hotel is a great base for exploring the beautiful islands in the area. Armona was the one that I found to be the most glorious (take the long walk from the ferry drop area to the opposite end of the island for the most magnificent beach complete with rental chaises and toilets).
If you have a car, drive to Tavira for the day and take the ferry to Isla da Tavira - another glorious beach with plenty of room to spread out on your own and enjoy a day.
We signed up for the 3 hour boat tour of the islands with the company that runs the tours in the lobby of the hotel. The tour begins directly across the street from the hotel and they use the ferry boat to run the tour. First they drop off the ferry passengers, then they take you on the island hopping tour. I highly suggest taking this tour at the beginning of your visit so you learn more about the area. The guy who runs it is really nice and knowledgable and the captain is a sweetie. Remember to tip them at the end of the trip.
WiFi is almost non existent from the room - that is something we asked about and they dismissed it as technical difficulties and blamed the carrier! That is definitely not the case as so many others have similar issues. Just be forewarned that you need to go down to the lobby or the bar area with your tablet to have uninterrupted connectivity.
The town of Olhao is quaint and has a lot to offer as far as restaurants, little bit of shopping and the marina, too. It is a lovely evening stroll along the waterfront from the hotel to get to the little downtown area. If you take the sidewalk along the main road, you pass some smelly horse stables with some townies hanging around - but not to worry, the police station is also right there, so we never felt in danger, but suggest crossing the street and walking along the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmntal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

We have to inform that our hotel is a 5-star hotel. Recently, we received a visit from "Turismo de Portugal" - The authority that inspect and is responsible for the hotels rating and Real Marina Hotel & SPA overcame the requirements needed to be clafissified as a 5-star hotel.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied. Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review.

Your description about the hotel and the local will be very useful to our future guests.
We have to inform that the light in garage work with a presence sensor to be sustainable.
We are surprised for your opinion regarding your staff. Usually the friendliness and availability are very praised for our guests.

Regarding the Wi-fi connection we will do our utmost to improve the signal.

We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully soon,in our Hotel.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nothing is ever perfect, but this hotel was pretty close!
Hotel location is excellent, a twenty minute car/bus ride from the nearby Faro airport. It is across the road from the marina, within very easy walking distance of the boat taxis/ferries that make the nearby beaches easily accessible (very inexpensively so if I may add) and within a five minute walk, literally, of a few dozen excellent restaurants on the road facing the marina.
They hotel staff were fantastic; very friendly, courteous, with brilliant attention to detail. They could not have done more to make our stay better. We stayed as a bed and breakfast option (with nearby outstanding and inexpensive food outlets as an alternative it is a matter of personal taste whether to take up the hotel's reasonable uplift for half board). The buffet breakfast was excellent, cereals, yoghurts, breakfast wine (if that's your thing), breads, cakes, jams, hams, fruits etc. Everything was plentiful, well laid out, and with the staff constantly tending to the tidiness, it made a great impression.
They hotel had good facilities, good reception for wi-fi around the reception areas but fading (still possible with patience thought) in the bedrooms and at the pool. The pool is on the south side of the hotel, and it was quite easy to spend the whole day at the poolside, with constant sunshine without hotel shadows available from mid morning until early evening. They nearby bar was available all day, well tended by waiters/waitresses who would bring food/drink poolside.
The spa featured a heated indoor pool, good gym and had various services available. My wife took advantage of a special offer full body massage, and said it was brilliant and thoroughly recommended.
On the downside, and this will not be the same for all rooms, but approximately half the hotel rooms face south (good views of marina, but perhaps little relief from sun/heat during day), or north facing rooms (face wasteland to rear, overlooking old town). All rooms are well air conditioned, but unfortunately for us our room directly overlooked the hotel's central air conditioning units. These were very noisy and would make for an uncomfortable sleep for those who wish to keep the balcony doors open at night. It should be possible to screen these units off from the rear face of the hotel and deflect at least some of the sound away, but they are open and facing rear rooms and the noise must be tolerated. That, together with bins getting emptied from the hotel's service access at early - AM hours was the only downside of this fabulous hotel. A quick change to the bin emptying schedule, plus getting something done about screening off the air conditioning main units would leave very little in the negative column.
By way of ending on a positive note, nearly every other resident that we talked to during our week long stay at the beginning of July 2014 thought as we did 'We will definitely be returning'. I will be booking early for July 2015 to hopefully have another fantastic week at this location.

Room Tip: If you can, pick at room facing south (front facing) if noise at night might disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Damien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My partner and I spent 5 nights at the Real Marina in early July and booked it largely due to the wealth of good reviews on Trip Advisor. We booked a sea view room and really felt that this had been a wise decision. The room was enormous as was the bathroom and balcony and it was immaculately clean and light with very efficient air con. The bed was extremely big and comfortable and there is no noise from other rooms - slept amazingly! Wifi doesn't quite stretch to the room but can be accessed easily from the lobby. Breakfast was a very extensive buffet and included champagne if desired - consistently high quality and very efficient and friendly staff. The bar was very well stocked and the happy hour was great - 3-50Euros for an outstanding daily cocktail which was always delicious and varied. The pool and sun lounger area was nice and even when it was very busy, had a nice feeling, In the afternoons they did tend to play 'lounge/dance music' over the loud speakers for a few hours which grew to be irritating but not a major flaw. The staff were faultlessly friendly and efficient and the hotel location is so great - 2 mins walk to the town of Olhao. We would certainly return for another stay and felt it offered very good value for money. Only tip - don't bother with the themed buffet evenings in the hotel restaurant. We did a Portuguese themed evening which entailed a live singer (excellent but sang two songs then had a break, then two then break again so not a constant evening of music). The food and drink was a set price of 30E per person but the buffet was a little sorry looking and the wine not great quality so it did feel rather lacklustre - better fare in town!

Room Tip: definitely go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and 2 teenage kids stayed at the end of June until the start of July. The rooms are lovely and spacious, very clean and well maintained. My husband and I had a junior suite and the kids a twin room both of which were back facing, not sure what the views were like from the front facing rooms but it didn't bother us being at the back as we didn't use the balcony much. The staff were all very polite and efficient, couldn't fault anyone from reception to housekeeping. Breakfast was good, fab coffee, lots of bread/pastries, yoghurt and fruit as well as hot food, never ate in the restaurant at night, went in for a look but thought €30 for what was on offer per person was a bit much as we could get meals outside for 2 or 3 nights for the price although the dishes looked lovely. Restaurants in town varied, but lots of lovely fresh fish. Always make sure you've got cash on you as a few won't take cards. Have to try Gelvi Ice cream parlour in the old library buildings, fab selections and open really late. Recommend hiring a car to get about the area, only takes 1hr 40 to drive to the furthest peak at Sagres which is worth a visit. With a car you can get around quite a bit even just in one day. All in all a great break away.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rodders032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for pointing out the details of our hotel and service. It’s very important to us know that our guests are completely satisfied with our facilities and services and will be very useful for other guests.

It was especially gratifying to learn that you would definitely recommend our hotel, thank you.
We look forward to welcome you again to the our Hotel

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We have recently returned from a really relaxing week, and a lot of that was down to the excellent Real Marina Spa Hotel.
Firstly, the service from the staff was consistently very good. The room was bright, clean, well decorated, and if you can get a sea view then I would recommend that highly. Breakfast was of a high quality with plenty of choice, try the fresh fruit, very nice! Bar food and drinks prices were cheap compared to UK hotels. €3.50 for a pint of local beer, around €6.00 for a large red wine. Happy hour is every day between 5pm and 6pm with beer and a selection of cocktails at half price.
The town is pretty 'rustic' to say the least, but you are with the locals and that makes a difference. It grew on us as the week went on. This is not a touristy area, there are no English theme pubs, no sky sports, just authentic Portuguese. Eating out is cheap and quality is generally good

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments so complete and excited! We loved it!

Your review transmit precisely what we want our guests to feel.

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.

Thank you also for your detailed description of our services and facilities, but also our location as well as the services closer. We are sure that these will be greatly appreciated and very helpful for future guests.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another good time at our Hotel.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
18.8 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing