We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for a week and have to say what a lovely hotel this is , rooms are lovely and are kept very clean . food was very nice , staff were very polite and helpful , pool and spa very nice , hoping to return again later this year for another break , highly recommended .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank outlaw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 2,808 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 8 nights in July. Cost €24 in a taxi from Faro airport which is not bad as taxis are very expensive.

Location of the hotel is beside the Marina which is packed full of restaurants so plenty of choice. We did take the buffet option once in the hotel but it was poor. €35 each for it too but that included loads of wine. The breakfast is a lot better.

Room was good but we didn't opt for the sea view so were stuck out the back above the air con units and delivery area. Was noisy especially when they unloaded barrels at 12:05am every day! We requested to move but they just offered us a room in the same place two floors up.

The reception is very dark and soul destroying which I think reflects on the reception staff. They really need to lighten it up. elevators are slow and one out of three was broken for most of the week. Negatives a side, the pool area has the sun the whole day and pints are only €3.50, half price on happy hour 5pm-6pm.

We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Request to be far away from the air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnnyEutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our hotel and our service.

Please, in your next stay, so not hesitate to contact us in order to our staff suggest a room more comfortable to you.

We guarantee that our maintenance department did his best to solve the elevator situation as soon as possible.

Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review. We will pass your comment to the departments heads in order to do our utmost to improve wherever as we can.

Our team main concern is offer a great service with a smile. Usually our team is praised for the helpfulness and sympathy.

Learn that you would definitely return is great for us and we look forward to welcome you again, hopefully soon at Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Staff helpful and quick to assist.
We were only b&b but did have the buffet dinner on one night . Good food and wine included . Rooms really pleasant and so quiet. Good choice of English speaking channels on the TV too which was nice when relaxing indoors .
A real treat ... Would recommend it for a relaxing break . Hope to go back one day .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthewsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were delighted with our all-too-brief two night stay at the Real Marina Hotel & Spa in Olhao. We were a bit early to check in a little after 2 p.m. but returned shortly after a trip to the local supermarket to get some supplies. We had a fourth floor room with a nice view of the village and a partial view of the water. The rooms directly overlooking the waterfront are probably worth paying extra for if you intend to spend a fair bit of time at the hotel or have booked a longer stay.

The room itself was generously sized, modern, well-appointed and opened onto a good sized balcony. We relied heavily on the excellent air-conditioning during a couple of very warm days and appreciated the bulk of the curtains which managed to block out the fierce early morning sun, which allowed us to stack plenty of zees.

The staff were efficient and helpful, offering us good tips about the area and helping us out on more than one occasion when we had questions. The breakfast each morning was superb, with a wide variety of delicious hot and cold options.

The only negative I can think of was the very spotty Wi-Fi. On one night I had no problems at all but on several other occasions I was forced to abandon my session as it continually dropped out, making it frustrating to surf the net. Having noted that, we were there to explore the area rather than spend prolonged periods of time online so I wasn't too worried.

It's easy to take a cab to and from both the Faro train station and airport. The ride there from the train station cost EUR 17 including tip and the cab from the hotel to the airport was EUR 25. It was money well spent considering we were travelling internationally with the full complement of luggage.

All in all, the Real Marina Hotel & Spa is an excellent choice offering fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: If you intend to spend quite a bit of time at the hotel, consider rooms with a sea view which is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimmycomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My mother and I had the most fantastic 5 nights at the Real Marina Hotel & Spa. The room was beautiful and well maintained, the bathroom clean and with a great shower and bath. We spent most of our time at the pool, which was wonderfully refreshing after sunbathing on the sunloungers which were very comfortable (rare in my experience). We also enjoyed the extensive breakfasts - the Portuguese custard tarts are a must! Lunch by the pool was also very reasonable with lots of healthy options.

Only downsides - wifi doesn't extend throughout the whole hotel - only really through the lobby and near the lifts. We both had treatments in the spa and were half price - and both thought we wouldn't have wanted to have spent any more than that price. Also seeing as the tap water is undrinkable, we found it annoying that it was 4 Euros for a bottle of water when the same bottle was 60cents in the nearby shop, especially if you're spending the whole day by the pool. One final thing - the music blasted out by the pool was often very hard on the ears, especially if you're there to relax. European dance music at full blast on one day had me reaching for my headphones!

On the whole, we thought the hotel was fantastic and perfect for a short break if you're travelling from London as it's only a 2 and a half hour flight and a quick taxi ride to the hotel. On a side note, our highlight of the hotel was a boat tour with Natura - who have a small kiosk in the lobby. Jaime was our guide and he was really knowledgeable, engaging and funny. A must if you're staying there!

Room Tip: A lot of people had balconies over the pool, whereas ours was at the back and didn't have the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mynameishana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed for 7 nights at the Real Marina Hotel and Spa. When we arrived check-in was fast and the lady gave us information about the local area. As other reviews state the lobby area is dull and needs a blast of light. The lifts are super slow and small. We ended up taking the stairs most of the time. Breakfast was good, lots of choice didn't eat dinner so can't comment. In my opinion the hotel lacked that 5 star feeling. Some points that could be addressed in order for the hotel to give 5 star feeling. Provided slippers in room (bathrobes were provided), water/ cool towels should be supplied at the pool area, no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The wifi is really bad, kept dropping and wouldnt connect around the pool area. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and my parents are considering a trip there in the coming month.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

We have to assure you that our team makes all the efforts to offer the best service to our guests. Our mission is provide unique experiences. For that reason, we regret that you feel that our hotel doesn’t have the “5 star feeling”!

In fact, our F&B team main concern is offer a great selection of products in order to suit all the preferences so we are happy that you enjoyed our service.

Please be assured that also your other comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcome you again, hopefully soon at Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
João Máximo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My fiancée and I spent 8 nights here in July and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is modern, exceptionally well kept and clean. We had a lovely view out on the Water from the top floor and a lovely balcony with two chairs and a table provided (these were comfortable unlike all such furniture in hotel balcony's). The room was very spacious with comfortable beds but it was two single beds pushed together rather than it being a queen/king but not untypical in Europe. All staff we came into contact with were very welcoming, friendly and efficient.

The pool area was very well kept and while busy there were usually some spare sunbeds during the day. The pool itself was so clean.

Didn't eat dinner here which was a buffet but had breakfast each morning which was very good - a great spread and good service.

The one criticism that some could have was the really poor quality Wifi...it kept coming and going in the room. For us this was good as it was a chance to escape email!

All in all, a very enjoyable stay in a quiet, small town.

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
293 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,678 reviews
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: £48 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing