We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Have visited this hotel twice ,great experience on both occasions ,rooms spotless ,pool great ,pity about having no entertainment but other wise couldn't fault it .try and book a front room as the views are great

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front as the view from the back of the hotel is barren land and not very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanette Nette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,352 - 1,358 of 2,870 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Have just returned from a 10 day holiday at this fantastic hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. The pool area was spotless and sunbeds were always available no matter what time you went down. Restaurants were within walking distance and were very reasonably priced. The only down side was the walk to the supermarkets but that is a minor problem. We decided not to pay extra for a sea view and were very lucky with our garden view as we could also see the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary120154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 10 nights in July.
Check in was very fast with information given on everything from breakfast times to the nearest supermarket. I won't go over everything as by now you will know this is a lovely hotel with great staff.
Only gripe I would have is that there is no atmosphere around the lobby or bar, it's like a train station with people just walking past, I'm surprised they don't have lovely seating and a more inviting bar.
Shop is 10 mins walk.
Food at pool bar was very nice, really loved the burgers.
Paid extra for a Seaview room, very large bed.
If you want a relaxing holiday with good accommodation well don't look any further than this hotel and resort.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Irishlad66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is spotless and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely with something to please even the fussiest eater. The pool area was wonderful and best of all, sun beds and umbrellas available anytime of the day. No getting up at silly o'clock to get a bed.

My only gripe was the cost of drinks. Rather expensive when you can get a beer and a glass of wine in any of the local bars and restaurants for less than 5 euro.

The happy hour, was more slow hour as everyone went to get drinks at this time.

The wifi only worked at the pool bar and in reception. In a 5 star hotel it should work in every room. It is 2014 and people expect it these days (especially with mobile providers charging for calls and texts).

Our room was lovely and the view was just wonderful (sea view), well worth the extra.

We would stay here again if we return to this part of Portugal.

Room Tip: Sea view is so worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jollibobs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

It is very special to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our staff.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service and with the hotel in general.
Thank you for the qualification of your experience as a “excellent stay”. Only the best guests make possible to us to be the best hotel.

We are happy to know that you wish to return and we wait, anxiously, for your next visit at Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in the self catering apartments adjacent to the hotels. Overall the apartment was lovely- very modern, very spacious. The rooftop pool has beautiful views, isn't that large but there is enough room and sunbeds to relax around the edge and it's perfect if all you want is a bit of a dip. The area of Olhao is lovely - a beautiful little working town with fab fresh food reasonably priced restaurants. If you are in the self catering apartments there are 2 supermarkets close by, one in the town and a larger one better accessed by car.
The only downside is that in the apartment there is toilet roll and soap and that's it! You'll need to buy washing up liquid, kitchen roll - even salt and pepper! Unfortunately if you want to use the hotel facilities such as their pool or entertainment there is quite a considerate extra charge.
Would definitely return. Had a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dsmith91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were well impressed with our service.

Only demanding customers like you allow us to improve our service and continue to exceed expectations.

We will take in consideration the points, that in your opinion, need to be improved and we guarantee that we will do our best.

It was especially gratifying to learn that you would definitely return and we look forward to welcome you again, hopefully soon.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very modern hotel
Good parking and 5 minutes from bars and restaurants
Large rooms and bathrooms and balconies
Staff very friendly and helpful
Easy drive to airport
Place bustles on Sunday with market

Room Tip: Request a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

It is very special to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.
It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service, our staff and with the hotel in general. Thank you for the description of our hotel!

Only the best guests make possible to us to be the best hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again, soon.

Kind regards,
João Máximo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Real Marina Hotel and that is very rare for me as I like to try new areas but I think Real Marina Hotel & Olhao has just about it all. I travelled this time with my husband, daughter and another family. The hotel is quite small with only 144 rooms but they are immaculate and spacious. The bathroom is cool with all you require including shampoos etc. There is plenty of room around the pool and no early risers to book all the sun loungers. Food and drink is quite expensive at the hotel but we found Emotions right next to the hotel which was fab for lunch and cocktails.

There is a lovely indoor pool and jacuzzi although it think there may be a little too much chlorine in it.

Breakfast has a really good choice. There also seemed to be activities around the pool my only criticism is that there were not as advertised and on several occasions they did not happen. Atmosphere in the hotel is pretty laid back. Not sure what has happened to the indoor bar which used to be opened last year at night. I think the hotel could do more to attract the guests at night by doing special early meals etc. Again at the pool there was a show cooking sign which seemed to indicate bbq style food during the day but this never seemed to happen. I would recommend the hotel as it ticks all the boxes and with a few tweaks it really could be TOP. I would advise the hotel to make their entertainment more regular both a night and during day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,706 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
293 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
14.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: £47 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing