We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We're staying here for the next 10 days. Been here 3 days already.

Total and utter luxury , the rooms are so clean, staff are very helpful polite and charming, go out of their way to help.

Breakfast'!! Very varied and plent of choice, also hot food. Can't find any negatives.

Room Tip: Sea view a bit more expensive but well worth looking out over the Formosa and watching the boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 2,685 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just spent 10 nights here and was very pleased with the hotel.
Good rooms with nice balconies, free to use safe and very good aircon. Had the village view which was fine and didnt think the additional cost of a seaview was worth the extra as only really slept in the room.
Pool area very nice, plenty of sunbeds available.
Reception area pleasant, but definitely something missing around the lobby area. Its not particularly welcoming and really the management should do something to make it appear more comforting and attract more people to sit there.
Didnt try the food other than breakfast which had an extensive choice and was very good.
Business centre with free to use internet and printer very handy.
Niggles: As pointed out many times already. No tea and coffee facilities in the rooms which I find highly unusual.
The sneaky water left in the fridge. I thought that this was complementary upon arrival only to find a small note on the desk saying water was 2.50 euros for a small bottle after I'd drank it. I feel a note on the fridge door would be more appropriate to make it clear they werent free. Bearing in mind 5l of water for 0.42 euros at pingo doce shows how pricey it is too.
Wifi intermittent outside reception but then I dont want to be on the internet all day on holiday so worked for me.
Olhao itself was great. A proper portuguese town full of characters and families socialising in the evenings. Great choice of restaurants too with generally very good prices. We came home with money to spare.
The ferry in the town rather than outside the hotel was quicker, cheaper and better overall.
Armona was lovely, Culatra much busier I found but still nice.
Olhao felt very safe too for anyone worried about personal safety.
I would definitely go again and hope next time the hotel has sorted the minor issues and it would be great.

Room Tip: Town view fine really unless you want to spend lots of time on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We had a five day stay here in August and I really couldn't fault the hotel. The minor concerns people have raised didn't impact on our enjoyment at all. The best feature is the staff who were always friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Beers in Happy Hour were 1.75 and it did make me very happy.
Another plus was the wifi reception by the pool didn't work so the Mrs had to actually talk to me, an unexpected turn of events that worked out surprisingly well.
Breakfast was a pleasure and, barring the distinctly mediocre scrambled eggs, the food was great.
The only concern I found during the stay was being thrown out of the indoor pool for not wearing a swimming hat. I didn't know that you had to wear hats to swim indoors, but the nice lady from the spa did her best to explain that indoor hats are not optional. I still don't agree with her to be honest, but she was so delightful and charming I didn't like to argue.
Brilliant place to stay for the price, will return next year.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank bigles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic week at this hotel, modern, large cool reception area, nice pool area, (although beaches are far superior), rooms large comfortable great air con, lovely balcony and massive bathroom with superb facilities. Best of all breakfast is amazing sets you up perfectly for the day.
Olhão is an up and coming area and even though the island beaches are a bit away the ferry leaves right across from the hotel and well, well worth the trip as they are stunningly beautiful and clean.
Everything here is spotless and the coffee and cakes are excellent as obviously is the fresh fish and seafood. Perfect for a week or long weekend as only 3 hours from Glasgow.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Paisley_buddy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great hotel, great view,great food and great reception,,being there for a week and thinking going back again,we enjoy also the boat tour with NATURAL(jaime),great restaurant around the hotel just at a working distance, we just love it

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Oumar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

check in was very swift we was then taken to our room and was explained to how the air conditioning works and the safe, breakfast was a nice choice no hassle no matter what time you went down for it, at the pool you could go down to it anytime of the day and still get sun loungers,rooms could be cleaned every day if you wanted or just put a do not disturb sign on your door if you did not want them to clean it, we was in room 445 sea view and could get the free wifi about 85% of the time our stay was from 15 Aug to 22nd Aug, I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hallinhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have just spent a lovely 10 Days at the Real Marina Hotel & Spa.
The good bits: The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The pool area is good and reasonably clean - you do not have to rush to get a sunbed early in the morning. The breakfast is great. The drinks package with evening meals is good.
The niggles: Evening meals were ok, we recommend you explore the restaurants in the town of Olhao or go to Faro do not recommend Half Board. Wifi is not good in the hotel. Not enough entertainment for the kids - no kids club. You have to buy a hat if you want to use the indoor pool - 3 Euros!!!!

Room Tip: Book a Sea view room on the fourth floor. the other side you see a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrutiSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment and for the great opinion in our hotel!

It’s very special to us see that your experience was great and that you had opportunity to know Olhão.

Regarding your comment about the kids entertainment, we will analyze the situation with the department head in order to improve the service daily!

We are very happy that you want to return and look forward to welcome you again at Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind Regards,
João Máximo,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,153 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,638 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
5.0 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: £50 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel & Spa Olhao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing