We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Best of the East: Faro, Olhão, Tavira and Vila Real de Santo António
19

Book in advance
from
£45.23
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Mercado de Olhao
from £45.23
More Info
from £52.19
More Info
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
316
183
36
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
316
183
36
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit fish market saturday morning fresh fish seafood great market stalls selling self catering local produce fish section worth a visit spent a week cafes and bars cold beer veg kilo butcher
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 543 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2015

This place lives up to its reputation. A must see. It is open everyday but only until 130 and if you want the best fish you should get here at least by 10. But for other types of food, meats, cheeses, vegetables, local products timing doesn't matter so much. On saturdays the street between the market and the water turns into a farmers market with locals selling all sorts of produce, olives etcetera. Once you are done shopping, there are many cafes lining the market as well as a nice ice cream store.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank albert-basant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Olhao is a wonderful fishing town with a moorish feel and great architecture of a domestic kind . I was therefore horrified to discover that a lot of the wonderful cobbled squares had been paved over with hideous blocks and a few naff sculptures installed. The hand cut square cobbles are part of the Portuguese heritage and should not be disregarded, what are the local council thinking?ps the mercado is a great fish/fruit market and totally authentic and untouristy

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank sophiahughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

This market is excellent. On Saturdays thereis a full fruiand veg market in one of the historic buildings and a fresh fish market in the other one. Outside there are clothes stalls with good leather goods at very low prices. It is also great for people watching. A short walk.. 50 metres and you are in the marvelous back lanes of Olhao. .

Date of experience: June 2015
4  Thank 943fk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

If you like fish, this is the place to come. Just make sure you get there reasonably early........no later than 10.00am.
Great atmosphere in both the fish and fruit and vegetable sections.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank jonm339
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Fun experience from the get-go! Shopping locally is always a priority, I feel as though I am giving back to the community for the hospitality they show to me. The Olhao market is no exception. Sure, speaking fluent Portuguese might be a help, but there was no problem when we only knew how to say Bom dia, obrigado, and danada. Merchants recognize that you are a foreigner and write down the amount you owe so you can figure out the coins and paper money. Even if you do not buy anything - the 'looking' is fun! The selection was great and it made shopping an experience!

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank patpetetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews