We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best of the East: Faro, Olhão, Tavira and Vila Real de Santo António
19

Book in advance
from
£45.19
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Mercado de Olhao
from £45.19
More Info
from £52.15
More Info
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
316
183
36
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
316
183
36
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit fish market saturday morning fresh fish seafood great market stalls selling self catering local produce fish section worth a visit spent a week cafes and bars cold beer veg kilo butcher
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 543 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2023 via mobile

No atmosphere in such a lovely building , the merchants are so used to tourists they dont bother
Nothing more to say

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank U443PRmaryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2023

Interesting market - two buildings side by side - one the fish market, the other a showplace for regional products. Lots of cafes in the area and don't miss the pedestrian streets just north of the market.

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank Gord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2023

Well worth a visit if you are staying in the area. Fabulous fresh in one section and fruit veg and meat in the other..

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank jayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2023

Divided into two parts. The fish section which was fabulous with the freshest of fish. Huge tunas. Other section had vegetable and fruit stalls and stalls that sold home made biscuits and cakes..lovely atmosphere.

Date of experience: February 2023
Thank tinkle_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2023

We took a day trip to Olhao from Faro; what a great little town! Caught an UBER each way ($8 per ride)—easy way to roll in this area—they are fast, cheap and dependable. We had originally considered an apartment there but decided against it, thinking it as too backwater, but this was not the case at all. Instead, we found a vibrant, bustling town with a lively, colorful waterfront area anchored by the central seafood market. Really nice vibe to the place; especially along the wharf, with dozens of outdoor cafes specializing in—of course—seafood. Have a coffee and a pastry and just linger in the sun; we walked through the entire market; many stalls selling fresh tuna ($15/kilo), local sea bass, octopus, cod, anchovies and eel. Another section was for veggies, meats, cheeses, all very nicely organized; friendly vendors who don't mind you taking pictures and overall, just a very nice, lively hustle to the place. Take time to explore some of the older section of town, right across the street--you'll find your typical whitewashed buildings with narrow, winding lanes, lots of local cafes, then work your way back to the port. We had lunch in--of all places--a Chinese restaurant right next to the market (Jin Shan) and it was quite good. Rice noodles, seafood hot pot, a spring roll the size of an empanada, and hot/sour soup. Add a cold beer and the tab was 20 Euros.
One tip: the market is mainly a morning activity; they close at 2:00 PM, so get there early. Both the market and the town are great places to visit.

Date of experience: January 2023
1  Thank 247kenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews