We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing! It was a big surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pegoes Aqueduct

Pegoes Aqueduct
Book In Advance
More Info
US$439.11*
and up
Tomar and Almourol Castle Tour
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Tomar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing! It was a big surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lot of time to spare and walked 45 mins to find it. So completely worth. Not only can you walk all along it and is spectacular but missed by loads of tourists. We were there a hot day in July (i.e. yesterday) and had the whole thing to ourselves! Spent about half an hour there in the end

Helpful?
1 Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    83
    20
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not to be missed if you have the time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I would agree with some fellow reviewers, well worth a visit if you have the time and the transport to get there. Something different.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brave-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what engineering!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

a wonderful sight. Amazing engineering. Well worth a visit........
You can access the top & the views are magnificent

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheri5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Has a 'wow' factor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Thank you Trip Advisor reviewers for alerting us to this. A short drive out of town on the Leiria Road and there is a brown sign, so it's easy to find, if you're looking. Somewhere I read that it's not old, meaning as old as Pont du Gard. It is still a 500 year old engineering feat worthy of admiration. While the view from the top doesn't give anything monumental to see, I suggest it is worth the climb.
I hope it doesn't just deteriorate due to lack of interest.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gulliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot in Wales
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Made to last”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Find your way to this great work of engineering. On the morning that we visited there were no other people, lovely. There is no official car park but a bit of ground where you can park - for free. No gift shops either. Stunning and peaceful.
If we had had the time we would have walked on the footpath from the Convent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobCScotinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pegoes Aqueduct also viewed

Tomar, Santarem District
 
Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 

Been to Pegoes Aqueduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing