We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but bad matress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Estalagem Santa Iria
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The place is awesome, in the middle of an island near the city center, with free parking for guests, nice architecture, good restaurant. The only bad thing is that the mattress is really bad... The furniture is old, for me this is ok, but the mattress should be better. Even though, I recommend the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina Brasileira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Estalagem Santa Iria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

On its own island in Tomar, the Estalegem Santa Maria, in a park on an island in the center of Tomar is a place out if time. With its vine covered balconies, although the rooms are small and the bathrooms could use updating, the hotel is truly charming and there aren't many like it. We were very happy to spend 3 nights there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the vine covered balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

my husband and I stayed for two nights in Tomar. location is wonderful crossing a small bridge to enter the park. Hotel is dated but when you look beyond the worn carpeting you can see the old world elegance and charm it once had. Room is small but adequate, bathroom was ok with good water pressure. Tomar is an enchanting town.....maybe it was the constant rain that made everything so beautifully green and the hotel's location was perfect. Hotel staff was accommodating. We enjoyed the town, the charming streets, good restaurants, very friendly people. the Convento of Christ is spectacular.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking the park.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

First of all, if you're planning on coming to Tomar, be advised that about THE only thing to go there for is the Templar castle - which is spectacular, however. The hotel is a nice choice for a number of reasons - the first being the beautiful location on a small island in the middle of the river. It's close to the middle of town and convenient for anything you want to do, including a number of decent restaurants. The hotel itself, as has been noted by others, is getting a little "faded": the carpets on the stairs are a hazard and it could use some paint but the rooms, though smallish, are well-appointed with nice balconies overlooking the river (not too many of these) or the front (the island is a public park). We especially liked the staff - several of them were very helpful with inquiries and they made a thoughtful effort to remedy a dietary concern of ours. The only concern was the slight annoyance of the noise, if your room is on the front of the hotel - kids and people in the park can be a little noisy (during the day) and there is some traffic noise as well. However, all in all, we'd heartily recommend Santa Iria.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper balcony room on the river side, away from the street and park.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riderfan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thanks to other TA reviewers we found the hotel easily, over the little bridge and into what looks like a park. No lift, so be prepared to haul luggage upstairs. We had a room for one night with a tiny balcony, but too cold to sit out. Modern windows and very cosy inside. The water in the shower started brown, but no big deal - in fact good shower and bathroom. The beds were quite hard.
Breakfast was beautifully served in the dining room overlooking the grounds, consisting freshly squeezed orange juice, rolls ham and cheese, which we enjoyed.
We had only booked one night but would have happily stayed longer, especially as Tomar has a lot to offer.

Room Tip: Room 10 has single beds and a tiny balcony because it is on the end of the corridor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good location, pretty grounds. Aging property, but clean. Small room, hot water took so long to come on, I was already writing the negative review in my mind, but then it finally did come on. Having free parking is a huge benefit in a town like this, and the reason we stayed there. It was very convenient to park, leave the car, and explore the town on foot. However, we felt that it was too far to walk to the Convento de Christo (a must see). It is a long uphill walk, plus then the walking once you are there, and then to come home - too long. We drove, free and easy parking. But walked everywhere else - dinner, shopping, and back to bed.
Note that the bar was just below our rooms and there were loud drunk soccer fans cheering, singing and talking until around midnight. We didn't mind, but others might.
Oh also, the beds were very hard. Good, free wifi though.
Our breakfast was included, and it was fine.
NOTE: we used an IPHone online nav to guide us there and it took us somewhere totally different - into the incredibly narrow streets in the old quarter. Finally, we got out and walked - it was too narrow to drive. Asked for directions and were directed properly. Then we tried the Android phone google map and it took us to the correct place. Just be aware of this - those tiny streets are NOT where the hotel is.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyK41129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel in Tomar is in a great location. It is located by the river with huge gardens surrounding it. The hotel is in the old quarter.

In days gone by, it would have been a grand majestic hotel but now it is starting to show its age. The rooms are a decent size with a balcony overlooking the gardens. The furniture is nearing the antique stage. For a one night stop over it was adequate. The evening was cold so the heaters were on.

I think you are paying for the location.

Parking was in the grounds of the hotel which was great. We left the car there after checkout and toured the town on foot.

We enjoyed Tomar. The convent was worth the 6euros admission. You can walk up to the convent from town.The town was also interesting.

The hotel was antiquated but it had character.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomar
2.7 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
2.7 mi away
Residencial Uniao
Residencial Uniao
#3 of 9 in Tomar
166 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa da Avo Genoveva
Casa da Avo Genoveva
#2 of 9 in Tomar
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residencial Trovador
13.4 mi away
Estalagem Lago Azul
Estalagem Lago Azul
#2 of 2 in Ferreira do Zezere
95 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thomar Story - Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Santa Iria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Santa Iria

Address: Parque Municipal do Mouchao, Tomar 2300-332, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range: £38 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estalagem Santa Iria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the city center in a island at the most beautiful and peaceful site at the city of Tomar the Mouchao Park, among flowers and landscape of the Nabao river. The Estalagem of Santa Iria have a beautiful garden, restaurant with fireplace, a meeting room, a bar with fireplace and a private car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Estalagem Santa Iria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Santa Iria Tomar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing