We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walk back in history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estalagem Santa Iria
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A walk back in history”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This cute hotel is on an island and the rooms have balconies that over look the park and river. The hotel is older but that adds to it’s charm. We spent one night there and the rate included breakfast. We actually tried to change our flights to a later time to spend another night there as we found the hotel so charming. Short walk to restaurants and short drive to the castle. Staff was very nice to deal with. The town of Tomar is small and driving in town is not an issue. Parking is free. We slept with the windows to our room open and in the middle of the night and heard nothing, it was sort of eerie and then at 4 AM the clock struck four, that was cool.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank get_with_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    53
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
19
76
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Charming hotel in a terrific location in Tomar. Nice staff, very friendly. A little updating wouldn't hurt the rooms, however. The water from the hot water tap in the bathroom was a strange brown colour (possibly rust?), and that put me off a bit. But otherwise it was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realmsofgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We only stayed at the Santa Iria for one night but could'nt have picked a better location. We could have gone for a more upmarket modern hotel situated directly behind the Santa Iria but frankly, we wanted to experience something of the real Portugal. As previous guests have commented, the breakfast is a little limited but the service is more personal and the coffee delicious!
The hotel is accessed via a narrow bridge that takes you across the river into the middle of the park. You can easily miss the sign so do not drive past too quickly.
There are plenty of restaurants nearby in the town serving all types of fare ranging from Indian, Italian through to traditional Portuguese food. All within easy walking distance.
The hotel itself is clean and comfortable for a couple of nights but you probably won't find enough here to stay longer than this. Good 3* accomodation with very polite and attentive staff.
The morning after our stay at the Santa Iria, we walked up through the town all the way up to the castle and the convent. You can easily spend 2-3 hours here as the convent and castle grounds (if you choose to walk the wall) are considerable. The convent charges only 3 Euro's entry per adult (cheap by UK standards). Very good value for money.
I suggest if considering walking up the hill to the castle, you have very sturdy shoes the pathway is only secure about two thirds of the way up but has been eroded by water damage towards the top so is not in great condition all the way and you have to pick your way carefully. There is a car park so you can drive up and there are some stalls at the top selling fruit, ice-cream and cold drinks. The convent also has a cafe although it was not open on the day we visited.
I would definitely recommend a visit to Tomar and the Santa Iria. An extremely intesting historical site and very pretty place. Even my husband enjoyed it and he is not that inspired by history.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaldingUKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We stayed in Tomar for one night in May. It was a cool day and we had nowhere reserved but looked at possibilities on TA beforehand. We had a pleasant little room with a terrace overlooking the pretty park and up to the monastery. Very very reasonably priced and it included breakfast. Parking out front was perfect for us. Short stroll through the park across a little bridge (the same one you use to access this hotel - was confusing when we first arrived!) and you are in town. We wandered around for a bit but it was very chilly and most restaurants were closed as it was a monday. However we saw a couple of likely lads (a small group of well dressed men) heading into this little doorway so we thought we'd check it out. Had a fanatastic, simple but very very tasty meal (my husband had steak, I had sauteed kidney's in the most devine mustard and wine sauce). Its very small, only 6-8 tables, but had plenty of wine to choose from with dinner. Called A Casinha D'Avo Bia on Rua Dr. Joaquim Jacinto on one of the streets leading from the river. I mention this because it was hard to get a good restaurant open and this one isnt listed in the restaurant section. (I hope they dont mind). All and all very happy with Tomar and the monastery is fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gidday!again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This estalagem is located within walking distance of the historical center of Tomar. The rooms are a decent size and well furnished. It makes a good stopover. It is a tad old fashioned, but in a pleasant way. Rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnetonkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indy
Level 6 Contributor
867 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed at the Estalagem Santa Iria for one night in 2 rooms (a twin and a double). Both rooms had ample space in both the bedroom and bathroom. Both were on the front with balconies. Others mentioned the hotel was a bit worn but we didn't notice that.

The hotel is on a small island, walk down a short drive and you are in the town center. The island is a park and very peaceful. The water on all sides was pretty and relaxing. The hotel is far enough from the road that we did not get any traffic noise. There are cheaper hotels in town but they are noisier, specially those on pedestrian streets (I know as I stayed there last time). The staff were pleasant but not very helpful with dinner ideas. They assured us there were no vegetarian meals to be had, but we found a few with options and the one we finally chose (Gold Restaurant on Everaro) was excellent, the best meal of our trip. Breakfast was continental. I didn't care for the bread, which was a soft yellow, but my daughter loved it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We stayed one night while touring Portugal. We liked the Santa Iria, mostly for its very pleasant location in the park and the nice walk down an alley of trees to get into the old town. The fellow at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful, and the price was certainly good value - we paid 70 Euros for a room with a double bed including breakfast (mid-season rate). The breakfast was very good and the dining room very nicely turned out. The room was good sized but not spacious.
On the con side - the bed was very hard but kind of bouncy and there was a faint sewer-like odor in the bathroom. The odor in the bathroom got to be very strong if the door was left closed. Nevertheless, if we found ourselves in Tomar again, I would probably stay in this hotel because of its location.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tomar hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
2.7 mi away
Residencial Uniao
Residencial Uniao
#4 of 9 in Tomar
163 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa da Avo Genoveva
Casa da Avo Genoveva
#2 of 9 in Tomar
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residencial Trovador
2.8 mi away
Thomar Story - Guest House
2.9 mi away
Hotel Kamanga
Hotel Kamanga
#4 of 16 in Tomar
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Santa Iria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Santa Iria

Property: Estalagem Santa Iria
Address: Parque Municipal do Mouchao, Tomar 2300-332, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estalagem Santa Iria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the city center in a island at the most beautiful and peaceful site at the city of Tomar the Mouchao Park, among flowers and landscape of the Nabao river. The Estalagem of Santa Iria have a beautiful garden, restaurant with fireplace, a meeting room, a bar with fireplace and a private car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Estalagem Santa Iria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Santa Iria Tomar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing