We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Residencial Uniao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residencial Uniao
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Bristol
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We've stayed at the Residencial Uniao twice now, both times staying in a room with a tiny balcony at the front of the hotel overlooking the pedestrian only street leading to the main square. Both the room and bathroom are a reasonable size, basic but clean (I think these rooms may be slightly more expensive than others). The bed wasn't that big, and the mattress fairly flat, but we slept ok. The building is old, with plenty of character although some visitors may it difficult due to the stairs as nothing is at ground floor level. The décor is dated and a revamp would do wonders but for the price you can't complain. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful and luckily for us speak English as well as French.

Friends staying in rooms overlooking the side alley commented on the amount of noise (ranging from arguing neighbours to dustbin lorries), even though our room was at the front of the building, the shutters blocked most of the noise, only the loudest late-night revellers disturbed us. Rooms overlooking the central courtyard would likely be the quietest available.

Continental breakfast is self-service in a large airy dining room, a reasonable selection including fresh fruit, yoghurts, crusty rolls and sweet pastries as well as the usual cold meat and cheese. Depleted items weren't always replaced promptly but any oversight came with an apology.

As other reviewers have mentioned, there is free Wi-Fi on site but other than in the lounge area, the signal is very weak. There is also an honesty bar with a good selection of drinks available. Tomar itself is an interesting small town worth a detour from the main tourist destinations with plenty of interesting places to visit. This hotel is well worth considering if you just want a clean basic room in a central location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazyjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    65
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
81
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a pleasant stay for 4 days and can well understand some reviewers comments. We stayed when Tomar had its Festa Temparia weekend and therefore this establishment was ideal. The rooms are a bit small and sparse and one could say its tired but some find this more likeable than a posher hotel. The rooms were clean and the bedding/towels were changed every day. The staff were very friendly and the trust placed by them in the open use of the bar was a nice characteristic. Breakfast was fine and I even saw some quests bundling up fruit and bread to take away. You get what you pay for and we certainly did. I see someone has referred to it in the backpacker style and to a degree I would not fall out with this, as I too have experienced a wide range of these and I would put this establishment high up on my list.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are probably best, for the view, some rooms at the side are next to an alleyway w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brave-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very centrally located old hotel. Rooms very small with barely enough room for the furniture and "bathrooms" as small as possible. It was clean and quiet but there were few staying while we were there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had no Portuguese. Breakfast was much better than the "continental breakfast" we expected. We dined out nearby for dinner.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for its location, character and price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMMC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Although the stuff is very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is centrally located, we haven't slept a wink since the mattresses were old and very bumpy, and the walls were paper thin: we heard the TV from the neighbouring room and the loud chattering of a family with children from across the hall! The next morning, most tables at the breakfast room were covered with the remains of breakfast of previous guests, and many staple foods were missing ( milk and bread). After ten minutes of waiting, a stuff member arrived, and to our request immediately supplied the missing ingredients.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tomar hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

It's cheap, but not cheerful. A lot could be done to spruce this place up. Our bedroom was one of the tiniest rooms we've stayed in, with the half-width door barely clearing the bed. The carpeting was thin and stained, furnishings were basic, and not well-maintained (light broken). Overall, the room was quite cold (admittedly, we were here in November and expected the cooler temperatures), the radiator couldn't really heat up the place, and the bathroom was freezing all the time.

The breakfast room was also very cold, and the portable heaters weren't up to the task. Breakfast was basic, and food was mostly packaged.

The staff were helpful and friendly. Location was ideal being right on the main pedestrian mall, close to shopping and several good restaurants. Distance to the Convento de Christo was quite short, but not walkable. There is no parking attached to this hotel, street parking is challenging to find, but there are a few streets nearby where parking is free.

Wifi was very weak.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel located in historical center of Tomar, on pedestrian zone. Typical 19th century Portuguese building with antique furniture. Rooms are simple furnished, but clean and cozy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Guests with car can use public parkings nearby, but it was difficult to find a free place, we spent at lease half-hour for searching.The only one and serious problem we have meet is the soundproofing of the rooms. There were a lot of drunk and loud youth on the street and they had fun till early morning. Surrounding building resounded this noise and we could hear each word even with closed windows and couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrej M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in several very nice hotels on our 3-week road trip, and payed more for those. We booked a few inexpensive places like this one and we did not expect anything luxurious. It was kind of funky, but that was fine. It was what we were expecting. The room was kind of rickety, an old, bouncy, noisy bed. A tiny bathroom with no place to put your stuff. It was cold. But the staff were friendly, and the common room where you had to go to get wifi, was big and comfy. You have to climb a lot of steps with your suitcase and if you come by car there is no parking. We had to park several blocks away and pull our suitcases. The breakfast was nothing special, but just fine considering the cost. Tomar itself was a disappointment, however. We arrived on a Sunday and had planned to explore the town the next day, but aside from the monastery on the hill, everything is closed on Monday. And I mean everything! Our guidebooks indicated that most places would be open, even in November. Not true.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tomar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
2.7 mi away
Estalagem Santa Iria
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residencial Trovador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Casa da Avo Genoveva
Casa da Avo Genoveva
#4 of 9 in Tomar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thomar Story - Guest House
0.0 mi away
Hostel 2300 Thomar
Hostel 2300 Thomar
#3 of 16 in Tomar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Uniao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Uniao

Property: Residencial Uniao
Address: Rua Serpa Pinto 94, Tomar 2300-592, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Uniao 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL LOCALIZADO NO CENTRO HISTÓRICO, FUNDADO EM 1895, DISPÕE DE 28 QUARTOS COM CASA DE BANHO PRIVATIVA, TELEFONE, TV SATÉLITE, AQUECIMENTO, PÁTIO INTERIOR AJARDINADO E BAR. WIFI GRATUITA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Residencial Uniao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Uniao Tomar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing