We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xanadu Resort Hotel
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Belek
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel and most of the facilities are first class. Everywhere we found to be very clean and the garden rooms are very comfortable and fairly spacious.There was never any shortage of sunbeds and those around the pool areas had there own attached sunshade which was great. There is also now kettle and tea/coffee making facilities available in all rooms.

The food and drink are of good quality with plenty of choice. For lunch we ate most days at the pool bar as the the chicken and pizzas were tasty and there was a very good salad bar to chose from. We had breakfast at the secret garden restaurant every day and again there was plenty of choice. We enjoyed two of the A La Carte restaurants in the evening (Chinese and French) Both were very good and the service was excellent. Other evenings we ate in the main buffet restaurant which has a good selection of indoor and outdoor eating areas, all of which seemed well spaced out withouth the 'canteen' type feel which many buffet restaurants have.

I'm an ice cream freak, so was delighted by the choice and availbility. Available most of the day from the Secret Garden, the pool bar and the a la carte in the evening. Ice cream heaven!

The bands which played at the Xanadu bar were mostly very good, only one was a not great but it was still music and gave us some laughs. Our first few evenings were verycold by 10pm and it was great that they provided us with cosy blanket wraps to keep us warm. A very unexpected good service. The shows in the amphitheatre were good visually but the sound track was awful.

We had a fantastic holiday at the Xanadu and woudn't hesitate to return. There are a few 'tweaks' which would make it perfect:

Staff need more training, I agree with a previous reviewer where it was obvious some didn't have a clue what they were supposed to be doing. We also had great difficulty making some understand what drinks we required even though we tried a few Turkish words (many of the staff turned out to be from the Ukraine!).

The entertainment team need to be more pro-active about getting people involved. They anounced the activities over a tanoy but there was no active encouragement from them to get people to join in.

Generally the food needs to be served hotter (heat not spice) Some really tasty dishes were spoiled beacuse they were almost cold when served.

We needed a late check out room and was charged 88 Euros to keep our room till 6pm which is astronomical however we paid it for the convenience.

Speaking to other guests who have been visiting this hotel for years we were told that the owneship had changed and they definitely felt that things had gone downhill. We would not have guessed this as apart from the muddly service we felt that this was the best hotel we have stayed at in Turkey.

As my title says, 'Almost Perfect' which is why I have only given four stars.

Room Tip: The garden rooms (bungalows) are vey peaceful and even those by the pool are not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Amazing hotel in an amazing forest territory. No words required: everything is on the highest level. Animation - like on Broadway, services like in Mayfair, hospitality like in Paris...
The cousin is very good and simply delicious. Really, one of the best experiences of mine in Turkey. No glamour, no posh, for those who need to get rested of routine life...
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The first thing to say is that we had a really good holiday at Xanadu and none of the issues that we had spoiled it but there are a fair few issues that they need to sort in order to be the 5 star hotel that they claim to be.

Firstly the good:
The room was very nice, if a little bit dated and the housekeeping staff were excellent and the hotel itself was very clean and well kept.
Food in the buffet was generally excellent, although after a week it was beginning to feel slightly repetative - Especially at lunchtime.
The grounds of the hotel are large and there are plenty of different areas to visit and relax and it never felt busy or crowded.
There's a good range of drinks on offer and by and large the staff at the pool bar were excellent, friendly and helpful.

The bad:
The service was so hit and miss to believe that they don't provide any staff training at all - There were times when we were trying to get a drink at breakfast or lunch and there would be staff stood around doing nothing and ignoring the fact that people were trying to get their attention. Staff at reception were the same, you could have 3 people standing about in front of you chatting and not paying any attention - We had to ask 3 times for laundry bags to be sent to our room which never happened and nobody apologized for. A great deal of the staff seemed to speak little or no English.

We ate one night at their 'a la carte' fish restaurant and the food was disappointing in the fact that it was more or less the same as what was on offer in the buffet, and in the case of at least one of the dishes nowhere near as good.

Some parts of the hotel are very neglected and tatty - The 'Sports' bar in particular and the 'cheesecake cafe' which felt like something out of a 1980's travellodge.

Some of the entertainment was spectacularly awful - One singing due on particular brought to mind Vic Reeves Club singer.

In short though we did have a really good time and the only real major issue that the hotel has is the service - Everything else you could live with and caused no issues at all but dealing with staff was at times very frustrating and annoying - Especially when you saw that some of them were excellent it was hard to understand how they could get it so wrong.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room if possible, the noise of the entertainment during the day and the evening at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alfie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Another 9 days in Belek :) Loved the tea/coffee in the room, sweets in the lobby (glad we live in a bungalow and had to make a special trip to choose some !!) and Secret Garden breakfast in May.
Were looked after beautifully by Nesli, Özgür, Yilmaz and Banu - really made the holiday.The birthday celebrations were as good as ever ,though we did miss the cocktail bar at the Antique pool.
Guest relations took care of all our small niggles straight away and with a smile .The service generally was as good as we have ever had , some of the trainees were very competent - others not so much but we always got what we wanted in the end.
I must agree with R1ch1et , the air con was practically non existent - but a bungalow room is a lot cooler from the word go so we weren't too fussed. All in all we had another fantastic holiday and are already looking forward to our 14 days in September. As the title says '.....where the heart is' and ours is still in Xanadu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belekx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have never been keen on holidaying at all inclusive hotels but friends who were frequent guests at the Xanadu convinced me it was worth giving a try. We arrived quite late on a Saturday evening. I had previously requested a junior suite on a high floor and was a little disappointed when allocated on the first. We unpacked and went to bed. Next morning stepping on to the balcony was akin to being in a tree house, there was little light and hardly any view as we were staring into the branches of a huge pine tree. After approaching reception we were shown a much more suitable room on the floor above.
The room was kept very clean, bedding and towels were changed each day. We had a mini bar which was restocked daily and a kettle. There were ample toiletries available in the bathroom. As we were staying for two weeks the free laundry service was also available which was a huge benefit. Air conditioning in the room was OK and fairly effective but could be better. Any problems reported to reception were resolved the same day.

FOOD

We ate mostly in the MDR and also booked the Italian, French and Chinese restaurants. Food was plentiful, varied and well prepared. Our favourite meal each day was breakfast and we found we were rarely ready to eat again at lunch time. Snacks such as pizza and burgers were served throughout the day at the secret garden restaurant or Xanadu Bar. Late night meals were also available at the Irish Bar. We did not avail of room service but there is a limited menu in the room. Tea / coffee and drinks were freely available at many venues throughout the resort.
Service was generally very good, staff were friendly and very hard working, although their English was limited they did very well. It is unfair to visit another country and expect waiting staff to speak English fluently. Junior bar staff could perhaps benefit from better training. Often I ordered a drink for myself and another for my husband and ended up with both drinks in the same glass!

Public areas of the hotel were clean and comfortable.

GROUNDS

The swimming pools were large and there were ample comfortable sun beds. A very short walk took you to the beach (sand and shingle) and there were plenty of beds under the trees. Towels are freely available. Our favourite pool was the Secret Garden. The hotel is build on extensive land and I would liken the grounds to a park. Gardeners are constantly tending to shrubs and flower beds and the grounds are a credit to them.

MINOR NIGGLES

There are too many trees planted in close proximity to the hotel and therefore several balconies are deprived from views / light.

It was very pleasant to stroll around the delightful gardens and a few more benches to enable guests to relax and enjoy the scenery would be beneficial.

There were three main outdoor swimming pools and all could be rather noisy, especially by the antique pool where music (not to my taste) blasted all day from speakers. It would have been lovely to have a ‘quiet pool’, where you could relax with a book and not have to listen to noisy ball games taking place in the pool. This is primarily a family resort so it can be expected that there will always be a number of children staying, especially during school holidays.


I understand that the hotel has recently been taken over by new owners and an extensive new build and renovation programme is planned.
We enjoyed our holiday and may consider returning to Xanadu in the future.

Room Tip: If staying in a garden view room be aware that the balcony may have an obstructed view due to trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Observor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our 9th visit in 6 years. We went with a large group of friends who have also been to the Xanadu many times. We had a great holiday as usual HOWEVER is saddens me to say that things do seem to be going downhill. People going for the first time would not notice, possibly, but regulars will.
The positives first.
Fantastic yoga!
Kettle in the rooms - great!
Sweeties In the lobby
Housekeeping (in bedrooms) - very good
Staff including buffet good plus the buffet staff seemed to understand a bit more English than usual.
Not so good -
Less choice in buffet at night - they have taken some of the BBQ choices away.
Although the food was fairly good, many times the salads were poor choices, no beef wellington and taken the entrecote off French menu. It was easy to see some little cut backs.
Poor-
The cleanliness overall was an issue. Never thought I would ever be saying this! Everything is normally immaculate, not this time.
A lot of green algea around the sides of antique pool, also at the back of the main pool steps. Never seen this before. The pool floor wasn't great either.
The lifts were dirty every time I went in one! Normally they are polished to an inch of their lives. Always seeing a cleaner coming out of them several times a day. Didn't see one in 2 weeks and the control panels in all lifts were dirty as was the mirrors and hand rails.
I had to report to a member of staff that their was vomit all over the outside door (inbetween outside buffet door and lobby bar door) and all down the wall. I dont know how long it had been there. After I reported it it was cleaned straight away. Maybe it had just happened?
Many times we had to ask for a clean glass! especially the water glasses in the a la cartes often smelt horrible.
6 times in 2 weeks we had to send drinks (cocktails) back because they had a strange, terrible taste???? None of us could identify it but was totally undrinkable.
The terrible singing Duo that drive almost everyone out of the Rosebud bar just about EVERY night!
We know the hotel has new owners so hope these are just teething problems and we are already booked to go back in September so, fingers crossed, things will have improved. You cant cut back on cleanliness!
We wont be going back for another birthday (if the new owners carry on with it) and next year will be going to the Island instead.
There were a few other 'mysteries' going on but I wont go into them on here but it does involve card members and the secrecy. Hopefully all the above will soon be sorted and the Xanadu that we all know and love will go back to its former glory.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wisteriaBrittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stopped at the xanadu over the last week and after numerous complaints to guest relations about the air conditioning working in the hotel nothing has been done about it I have to advise anyone thinking of booking this hotel please avoid if you cannot sleep in 27oc heat in your bedroom over night. The air conditioning in the bedrooms is non existent and having read a couple of past reviews over the problem with the air conditioning the hotel obviously thinks they can save money by letting guests suffer in the heat. I am sure there are other guest who have felt the discomfort and hopefully they will comment also on trip advisor so that the hotel will take the complaints seriously and do something about it. Thank you xanadu for ruining my holiday !!!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank R1ch1et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belek hotels
1.9 mi away
Papillon Ayscha Hotel Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Anfora
Anfora
#76 of 93 in Belek
19 reviews
7.3 mi away
IC Hotels Santai
IC Hotels Santai
#32 of 93 in Belek
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Bellis Deluxe Hotel
Bellis Deluxe Hotel
#24 of 93 in Belek
1,461 reviews
4.5 mi away
Susesi Luxury Resort
Susesi Luxury Resort
#35 of 93 in Belek
2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Golf Resort
Gloria Golf Resort
#7 of 93 in Belek
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Resort Hotel

Address: Acisu Mevkii, Belek 07500, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Serik District > Belek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Belek
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belek
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Belek
#25 Luxury Hotel in Belek
#26 Family Hotel in Belek
Price Range: £92 - £787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Belek Village nearby Antalya in Turkey. This grandly scaled property, directly on the beach, offers a High Class All Inclusive resort experience for the holiday of a lifetime. Be carried back to the times of the ancient Romans among the columned walkways, ancient-style pools and amphitheatre of the five-star resort with something for everyone - the Xanadu Resort Hotel. This very impressive resort has a grand presence with its commanding architecture and beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xanadu Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Hotel Belek
Xanadu Belek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing