We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xanadu Resort Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Belek
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed 31st July til 14th Aug , in a bungalow apartment , I expected a sigle storey building as it was called a bungalow but was infact a two storey cluster of about 16 rooms , we had what was described as a family room but was infact 2 adjoing rooms with a communicating door , ideal for us and our son had his own room with two beds and his own en-suite . Rooms are clean and tidy but a bit tired and old fashioned by present day standards in other countries , ie Dolphin freeze with matching bed spread , however the rooms are very clean , beds are comfy and excellent free laundry service .
We spent most of our time in the secret garden area with its own restaurant , quite pool and good service , however most sun beds gone by 7.30 and the best locations by 6.00am !!!! ,
Food was disappointing , not much choice at lunchtime , we enjoyed the doner Kebab at the beach restaurant , the weekly lunchtime bar b q , and the pizzas . The drinks were excellent . The al la carte restaurants were not great , we tried them all apart from the turkish , they were ok but not great , the russian was very poor in the only seperate restaurant with no atmosphere . Service very poor , the staff work hard but they need more staff and leadership . The al la cartes apart from the Russian are located on two sides of the main buffet and are open to it so you here the noise etc and they do not feel very special . Children under 7 are not allowed in the al la cartes which caused issues for some families.
Entertainment in the evening was very good , some of the best we have seen at all inclusive hotels , the games room is also very good and our son and his freinds spent alot of time in it. Hotel shop very expensive , dont forget to take suncream ,shaving foam etc .
Not very impressed with the beach compared to the beaches in the caribean etc but boys enjoyed jumping of the pier . Water slides were good but the large slide is for over 16s only , I had a nasty graze on my back after doing the large slide and I noticed many other people with the same.
Staff were mixed some great other not so , The staff in the secret garden were great , Gozday and Dogan were stars and were always cheerful and wanting to help , many others also were very good .Ice Cream lady in the Xanadu bar was miserable and not very child friendly !!!
In all a good hotel which could be great with better service and food , we enjoyed our holiday but perhaps 5 star hotels in Turkey are at a lower level than other parts of the world .
Cheap internet access wifi throughout the hotel , they charge 1 euro per day .
Evening entertainment was very good ,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    243
    95
    22
    17
See reviews for
546
331
23
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I normally reccomend this hotel to everyone when i get back but from now on i'm not telling a sole. Last year we had a bungalow room and this year we were in the hotel and after our initial reservation we actually found the hotel much better. How anyone can fail to have a good time here is beyond belief, the place is very clean, great food choice and the quality of food is superb for an all inclusive resort, rooms are comfortable not that you spend much time in them, both pools have enough beds around them without having to get up at the crack of dawn to throw your towells on (although a large group must've had a decent rota going as they had the same spot every day), indoor pool is wonderful to jump into after being in the sun all day or having had a bit of time in the gym, sunbathing on the beach is superb as you get a lovely breeze flowing over you and service is polite as ever but please please please git rid of those savoury sticks in the irish bar that are just so moorish and ruined my dinner hahaha.
If i was being picky i'd say they need more fans in the outside bars and main restaurant, this became intolerable some nights and we found ourselves retiring to the irish bar far too early, some of the entertainment leaves a lot to be desired but then saying that i thought The Circus was the best thing i've seen there in 2 years, still cant work out how that woman managed to get her lower body doing a circle around her body whilst she was in a crab position.
my one last gripe as to be too many english this year compared to last year, which is why i'm no longer telling anyone about this place and those that have been and enjoyed themselves i'd implore you to do the same haha.
Whoops i almost forgot the Spa is fantastic, i treated my wife and 2 teenagers to a day in the main room there, you spend 8 hours being fed and watered, massaged and just generally living very nicely, it's a few quid but for that special occasion its worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazza027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izmir
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Top quality vacation in all respects. Even cleaner than your home. We never worried about our little girl crawling every where. Stuff is very quick and helpfull. Beach comfort is excellent. Umbrellas are huge enough if you prefer shading. No need to hurry up to grab a good place around pools. Everything is just huge in number. Food is excellent, you will definitly gain some weight after tasting all of them.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dealex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

What can i say about this Hotel.
After reading some of the reviews on here i was thinking of changing hotels. I am so glad that i didn't
From the time we got off the mini bus outside the hotel i was so happy. bell boys waitting at the door for your luggage, then you were taken to your room.
I had booked a JR Suite with sea view, and we weren't disappoint with the room. we have a large lounge with a sofa and one chair and also a desk and a flat screen tv.
the bedroon opened out onto the balcony where you had to sunbeds, we had a double bed in the bedroom with also a flat screen tv.

The buffet resturants was lovely could not be faulted,

They had three pools two which were very loud but there was a secret garden pool that was alot more quieter.

The Beach isn't much to right home about but tell you the truth we only went there once, as we stayed by the pool or in the gardens.

Would i go back to this hotel yes we would

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alfi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Let me start this review by saying that me, my wife and children (boys 11 & 12) had a nice relaxing holiday, but I'm affraid the Xanadu just never lived up to it's billing.In our opinion this is not a 5 star hotel.
We arrived 2nd July for 2 weeks.
Room - I would describe as functional. We stayed in a "family room" (Thomas Cooks description) in the Bungalows, this consisted of 1 twin room and 1 double room with an interconnecting door. The beds were firm and comfy, the air con worked very well. Decor and furnishings looked a little tired. Maid service every day.
Pools - The pools were all great with loads of beds to go round (no need to get up at 7 in the morning). Pools and pool area as well as hotel grounds and gardens were kept spotless day and night. Pool towels are provided.
Beach - The beach wasn't great, lots of stones, don't think it was very popular with the hotel guest as it was more or less empty any time we went down (kids loved jumping of the small jetty into the sea). The beach snack bar was just that, with a very limited menu paper plates and plastic cutlrey.
Pool Bars - We ate breakfast at the "secret garden" pool bar most mornings found this to be better than the main buffet breakfast where everything tended to be to cold. (cold fryed egg mmm tasty). We ate lunch at this bar twice but found the food to be very poor with a limited choice, the same goes for the Xanadu pool bar where my wife was served raw chicken in breadcrumbs we left when it arrived and never user it for lunch again. (they forgot to cook it).
Food - I would say the food was OK, thats about all I can come up with. I wish I could have said it was delicious or amazing but realy it wasn't. We went to the satellite (a la carte) restaurants and found these to be more or less to the same standard.
Service - This for us was the worst we have experienced in a long time. I would say the hotel is drastically understaffed.The staff were pleasant enough but were just not very good at their job. Every night at dinner we had to ask to have our plates cleared between coarses or just did ourselves. Asking for a drink was even a chore as they never seemed to understand what you were saying. Most of the staff seemed to be very young therefore very inexperienced and it showed, we heard various reasons for this the main one being that a lot of the older more experienced staff had been moved to the new Xanadu Island Resort to provide training etc. Lucky old us hey!! I have to point out the problem with the service was a major bugbear with just about everyone we spoke to.
Entertainment - The animation team provide this around the antique pool during the day with games and sports, I would say that if you spend your days at the "secret garden" pool you won't see sight nor sound of them. In the evening there are shows in the amphitheatre mostly music and mime performed by the animation team, my wife and kids went some of these shows and enjoyed them. Every night there is live music at the Xanadu Pool Bar. Oh my God it could be pure torture at times. Think of Tony Angelino's version of "cwying" in Only Fools and Horses and you'll get where I'm coming from. The "rosebud bar" had live music on some nights to, enough said, we thought this place lacked any sort of atmosphere only went in a few times. There is a disco every night in the nightclub our kids could'nt get in so I can't comment on that (over 16's only).
Hotel shops - Overpriced is putting it mildly, here's two examples 8 euro for a tube of toothpaste and 42 euro for a 150ml bottle of ambre solaire, Ouch.
Well there it is our review of the Xanadu. It does seem to go against the trend for this hotel on tripadvisor but we feel this is a fair and honest review of what we experienced during our stay. At the moment it's ranked number one in Belek, but realy we don't no why. The Xanadu just never delivered that wow factor that we were expecting and left disappointed to many times during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PaulOnHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Just returned from a stunning 2 weeks at the Xanadu resort. Highlights were the food, range of activities and cleanliness which everyone goes on about at length and I fully agree.

The big disappointment for us was the childcare and the miniclub. We always like to let our son have a couple of hours a day in the miniclub so he can play with other children in a supervised environment (and we get a break) and to play there in the evening after the mini disco! However at Xanadu the staff do not seam that interested in the children. The miniclub has no registration process which did not make me feel comfortable leaving my 4 year old. The majority of children in the club whilst we were there were Russian and with the miniclub staff also being Russian my son felt left out and the staff did not interact with him the one time we left him for an hour (we were watching him from the gym which overlooks the miniclub). He was not included in the facepainting or craft activities and left to play on his own.

The alternative was to use the babysitting service which was €20 / hour in the day or €30 / hour in the evening and the babysitting may still take place in the miniclub!!!

This was a small drawback and we still had a fantastic holiday - you will have a fantastic holiday if you go with no expectations for the miniclub.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

UPSIDES

All we can do is reiterate what other reviewers have said and more. Had a very very enjoyable and relaxing week in a family room in one of the Bungalow blocks near the secret garden pool. We had breakfast at the secret garden pool every morning and used this pool as well which was quieter than the main pool, although i think under 12's should not be allowded in this pool.
Tried most of the restaurants apart from French and Russian and were all excellent and believe me you will put weight on!
Staff were brilliant and so helpfull and accomodating.
Be prepared for your liver to take a hammering as the drinks are branded (if you ask for them) and the measures are at the least trebbles!
The resort is spotless and well kept and a pleasure to walk around, the beach is ok and we have seen alot worse believe me.
You will enjoy Xanadu if you do not then do not go all inclusive because this is the best we think.
There is plenty to do at Zanadu you will not be bored.

DOWNSIDE

Thomas Cook, OMG they are abysmal the reps Danielle and Hannah worse than useless.
Reps at the airport useless and ignorant.
The plane, old cramped, uncleen and not fit to fly
They need to get a grip we had a 27 hour delay going home and they abandoned us, if they treat there pets like they treat us the RSPCA would have been called.

Antalya airport, what a stinking filthy cess pit, with abysmal staff who can speak English when the want to but choose to ignore you especially the Steelbird staff (Thomas cooks sub contract airport agents) who nearly caused a riot on our delay because of there incompetance and refusal to do anything to help us.

All in all fabulous hotel and resort but shame on you Thomas Cook and Antalya Airport will never ever use you again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DennisWhicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belek hotels
2.7 mi away
Maxx Royal Belek Golf Resort
1.6 mi away
Gloria Verde Resort
6.2 mi away
Regnum Carya Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cornelia De Luxe Resort
2.5 mi away
Voyage Belek Golf & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gloria Serenity Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Resort Hotel

Property: Xanadu Resort Hotel
Address: Acisu Mevkii, Belek 07500, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Belek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Belek
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Belek
#18 Luxury Hotel in Belek
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belek
#26 Family Hotel in Belek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Belek Village nearby Antalya in Turkey. This grandly scaled property, directly on the beach, offers a High Class All Inclusive resort experience for the holiday of a lifetime. Be carried back to the times of the ancient Romans among the columned walkways, ancient-style pools and amphitheatre of the five-star resort with something for everyone - the Xanadu Resort Hotel. This very impressive resort has a grand presence with its commanding architecture and beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xanadu Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Hotel Belek
Xanadu Belek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing