We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice swimming pool and beach. Bedrooms basic. Disgraceful hygiene standards. Avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Papillon Belvil Hotel
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Belek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We travelled to this resort in August 2010 with 2 other families. All with young children between the ages of 4 and 7. This was a case of the good, the bad and the ugly.

The Good
Nice swimming pools, nice beach, lots of sun loungers (although you do have to be down at the pool before 8am to reserve loungers). Super efficient and friendly guest service run by an American lady.

The Bad
Unfriendly and unhelpful reception.

A scam whereby the hotel doctor sent sick guests to the local hospital where they were completely fleeced. A friend of mine who was travelling with us went to the doctor with a bad stomach. He was sent to the hospital and even had heart tests - total cost over 800 euros

The food was very poor quality and repetitive

The Ugly
This was an all inclusive resort so free bottles of mineral water were included. One night I was at the bar and saw a guest ask for 2 bottles of water, I saw the bar person take 2 empty bottles and fill them from a jug. He then put the lids on. When he gave them to the guest he made out as if he was opening the caps in front of the guest (pretending that he was breaking the seal).

They had a pizza making station close to the second swimming pool. I watched the chef take a handful of flour and rub it across the faces of some kids who were waiting for their pizzas. Bearing in mind that the kids were probably covered in chlorine and sun tan lotion, with the same hand he then picked up some mozzarella to make the pizza. Absolutely filthy.

One day we were by the kids pool. One of the kids who was there took a dump in the pool. We phoned the reception who didn't seem to bothered (there were still lots of kids in the pool at the time). Finally it took the reception 1 hour to send some people down to close the pool. We stood there to make sure that they drained and cleaned the pool before refilling it. Some other guests who were there said that they had seen the same thing happen before and normally they don't drain the pool.

After pretty much every meal we had stomach ache. There were 11 of us travelling together. 8 out of the 11 were sick at some stage and based on the poor hygiene I am not surprised. I would never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travel4workandplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
There are newer reviews for Papillon Belvil Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2010

This hotel is rated as a 5 star . Its facilities were excellent and all inclusive proved to be good value for money, although the food a little repetitive and poor quality beef, chicken, turkey ok - no lamb. Salad Bar and sweet table excellent. Very little fish except for makerel and salmon.There was no information in room regarding excursions - it seems its all done by travel reps (thomas Cook, Cosmos etc) so if you book independently there is no help whatsoever at the hotel - it cost me £26 on mobile to book one excursion with some welcome help from a Thomas Cook Rep - although we hadn't booked thro them! No info at all on golf unless you wanted to play their own Montgomery Course!The Guest Relation Manager was helpful but her staff were hopeless. When we arrived there were no plugs in bath/sink/ the air conditioning didn't work/ the safe didn't work - it seems despite efforts by reception maintenance was non existent. Another example of this was friends of ours went to onsite cinema "Robin Hood" and halfway thro the screen went blank - no explanation - the end will be seen at home!! The hotel was very clean and cleaning staff were obliging and sociable, but generally the staff were more attentive to other nationalities - very few Brits staying here. There were exceptions particularly in the Main Lobby Bar. We arrived in October and were given a sheet about all inclusive - meal times etc. This all changed in November to "but we were not informed and missed dinner as it ended at 8.30 pm. They did supply salad and cold cooked meat. There was not room service at all for food and when my wife was ill and could,t make the dining room one evening - I had to choose from buffet and it was carried to room by a very obliging member of staff. There is nothing basically wrong with this hotel but is nowhere near 5 star at present although it has tremendous facilities for families - if only they would put a brochure in the room explaining what and where they are ! We only came across the cinema by accident. One bit of advice which is not clear in their advertising - during winter season the Mexican/Chinese and Italian Reataurants are CLOSED - no-one told us when we booked. They didn't tell us the Air Conditioning would also be switched off during Winter Season - when temps still reach 26 degrees! - perhaps its considered cold by management! Come on Papillon you talk the talk now walk the walkl!! - you could be 5 Star!! and also give the BRITS a smile!! Perhaps it was the Winter Season and all staff needed a break! and the wine was beyond description - rasberryade at 11% with white and red tasting exactly the same - couldn't drink it!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrecOnbeacOns52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Papillon Belvil and enjoyed it thoroughly. We had checked it out on Tripadvisor prior to booking and the rave reviews it received are indeed worthy. We are considering a further holiday next year. The transfer time is around 30 minutes and the reception staff was very efficient and courteous even at 2am. We were offered rooms in the main hotel but with a sharing bathroom with our friends but were declined and took separate rooms in the bungalows. The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. The bathroom although showing it age with the décor was always clean with fresh towels and toiletries provided. We did appreciate the mini bar replenished each day with water, cola, orange and beer. The staff are all friendly, courteous and perfectly groomed at all times. Food, what can I say, it was 24/7 with a wide variety either at the main restaurant, al a carte restaurants and snack bars. We all gained quite a few pounds within the week. Bars were also well stocked and offered a wide variety of drinks and even cocktails. The entertainment teams do a wonderful job throughout the day and night offering a selection of interests for all ages without pressure. The weather was only marred by one day of heavy rain but again we were able to read, offered a vast amount of games and even the cinema. The indoor pool was in demand by the kids. Our only demand for the future would be if the adjoining area had something to offer, we would have loved a beach promenade for a long walk. As stated on other reviews, this is a great family hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrecklesNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Just returned from a week long stay at the Papillon Belvil in Belek with children aged 13, 10 and 5. We had looked on Trip Advisor to help select the hotel for our holiday and Im pleased to say we were not disappointed. We arrived about 10pm and were offered an upgrade from 2 bedrooms (as we were a party of 5) to a mini-suite meaning we could all be together which was excellent as there hadnt been the option to choose this on the website we booked through. The rooms were very comfortable and immaculately clean. In fact the whole hotel was spotless and we even saw the water in the swimming pools being checked. There is plenty of entertainment that you can join in with or avoid altogether if you like. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The food is plentiful and the choice immense- ice cream for the kids at the pool bar is not included in the all inclusive price but they can get ice cream in the main restaurant and there are lovely crepes and cakes available every day. We had one day of bad weather but as there is an indoor pool and spa with sauna etc there was still plenty to keep the kids entertained. I would happily go back to the Papillon Belvil any time. I wouldnt buy anything at the Hotel shops though as they were ridiculously expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We had a nice time at this hotel ,we arrived in the evening,the staff were frendly and we had drinks and food ,before going to how room ,we were given a ground floor bunglow ,it was fine .but my husband asked to move to a upstairs room ,and they moved us to room 2010 it was very peaceful ,and near everything but not so close to keep you awake.This place was really clean ,the staff worked really hard ,and the maids were lovely ,always a smile and wave and honest ,i left some of my belongings in the first room and didnt realise but they left them in my new room,we had three days of sun and the rest of our week was cloudy ,but we still enjoyed it my son made friends and we didnt see much of him ,his 14 but said when can we go back and my husband had a laugh with the shop people trying to barter them down [all good fun]we got some nice things ,and made freinds too ,it was mostly german and french some english ,but we didnt have any problems ,everyone was just doing there own thing,we had freinds with us and they also had a nice time ,the only thing i would have liked was ,in other reviews there were beach partys and foam etc but we only had shows ,and i think thats because it was the end of oct ,otherwise all i can say is thanks papillon for a nice time

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RINGOEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Papillon Belvil was probably one of the best hotels i have been to. We got there and was driven to our room in a golf buggy which was fun, room service everyday. The rooms had a mini-bar in it with drinks. The pools where great, sea was surprisingly warm and the place had great entertainment every night at the amphitheatre at 21:15. Had fun playing volley ball with people from England,France,Germany,Russia,Czech Republic and Turkey. The food was great (24/7). The bars had great cocktails for kids and adults, The only downside was that there was alot of wasps,the pool water was cold and if you're allergic to them...lots of cats. But other than that brilliant... forgot to mention the games room with pool,russian billiards,air hockey and others games, the spa with sauna and hamam and the boiling indor pool.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cafcjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We've stayed one week at the Papillon Belvil in October This hotel - resort in fact - is part of the Papillon hotels group which has 5 other hotels near Belek.

The location, near Kadrye, is the temple of resorts : if you check on any map, you will realize that there are plenty of such resorts all around. The city nearby, Kadrye, is accessible by Dolmus - local bus - for EUR 1.5 TRY (0.75 EUR) in 10 mins. Unfortunately, nothing really interesting to see there, excepting maybe the local market every Tuesday.

Now, about the place itself : this resort has about 500 rooms (divided between 150 hotel rooms, and 350 "Villas", which are small apartments). Villa rooms are ok, would maybe need to be refreshed a bit.. but always very well cleaned ! The walls are a bit thin....

Everything is in the middle of a huge garden, and I can say that the gardeners are doing a very good job : nice flowers & palmtrees everywhere, lot of trees, grass etc. When you are in your flat, and you look out through the windows, you don't see a wall, but trees ..

A couple of swimming pools are available - a main one, another one for kids with slides, and even a small one indoor.
You won't miss your beach chair, since there are about 200 near the pools, and 500 on the beach. The beach is made of sand, and a lifeguard is often on duty.
The water sports team offers to use canoes for free, and many other activities.
Extras : a spa is available, an internet café as well, few small shops ..

The service is very good : people are pleasant, and even though they don't speek very fluently any other language than turkish, they always try to speak in your own language.
The food is very good, I would even say exceptionnally good for this type of resort. Plenty of choice (for both food & drinks), the food quality if very high, and of course, since you are in an all-inclusive place, you can eat & drink 24/7, including in your room's minibar...
A few specialties restaurant are available as well, depending on weekdays, an upon subscription : Chinese, Turkish, Mexican, Itialian. All are included, and be prepared since they serve individually a lot of food.

This resort is mainly frequented by people from Germany, Russia and England, with families. People are quite respectful of the place, so it keeps quite clean.
The nightly events & show are ok (for families), even though the multi-language context make them look sometimes funny (translation in 5 or 6 languages ...)

The excursions nearby would be Antalya (main city 800 000 people), and ancient places like Perge (one day trips).

Overall, this is a nice place (food, service, location, beach). The only con, as usual in such place, is what neighbours will you get (we had to change room once - not a problem at all, staff was very accomodating - because our neighbours were switching on the TV very loud at 3 in the morning ..).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcflyyoupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belek hotels
3.7 mi away
Papillon Ayscha Hotel Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Papillon Zeugma Relaxury
0.5 mi away
SENTIDO Zeynep Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cornelia De Luxe Resort
0.1 mi away
Bellis Deluxe Hotel
Bellis Deluxe Hotel
#32 of 88 in Belek
1,293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Kaya Belek
Hotel Riu Kaya Belek
#22 of 88 in Belek
2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Belvil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Belvil Hotel

Address: Tasliburun Mevkii | Belek Turizm Merkezi, Belek 07500, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Belek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Belek
#13 Family Hotel in Belek
#15 Spa Hotel in Belek
#15 Romantic Hotel in Belek
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Belek
#19 Luxury Hotel in Belek
#22 Business Hotel in Belek
Price Range: £109 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Papillon Belvil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Papillon Belvil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Belvil Resort
Hotel Papillon Belvil
Papillon Belvil Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing