We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel,Pity about the Staff and the Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calista Luxury Resort
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Belek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Just returned from 10 nights at the Calista.Our first impressions when we arrived were quite good.Lovely looking hotel and the standard rooms which are adjoining are very big.

At the usual buffet breakfast on our first morning...we were amazed that hardly anyone spoke English,not that one should expect it,yet yo udo feel a total minority.Apparently there were only 14 british people staying there..!

Without being stereotypical,,,it is Russian.people..their manners are atrocious,rude and quite frankly disgraceful.Undoubtedly this has worked its way into the staff's manners.Invariably the staff just shrug their shoulders..a smile would be nice.

The staffs english is so poor,that when using the other restaurants,extra monies of course,it at times impossible to explain what you want...we had two dinners where the wrong food was delivered,cant be that hard as the menus as pretty limited.

Avoid the mexican at all costs..well if that was Mexican food...We must have been eskimos

We hired a pavilion for a few days...my wife would go reception and ask,.."all full"..would be the answer....go back with some notes accidentley slipped on the desk....and hey ho,suddenly it is take your pic.!...Sad,but that was all too often the case.

Of course some of the staff were lovely..but most arent..and the language barrier truly was annoying in the end.

I couldnt fault the drink selection..it was tip top for an all inclusive...the food though was particularly disapointing....Didnt think much of the restaurants,same old staff that been working elsewhere recruited as stand in waiters...It was a relief that they had hot dogs and hamburgers in the evenings....

It still a nice hotel....yet just lacks something....ironically,two families who are friends of ours stayed at similar hotels with several kms from us...we all agreed we have tried Turkey and alas,never again..!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jamespl2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akaya, Front Office Manager at Calista Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear James,

thank you for your review. We regret that you didn't like your holiday with us. Our professional team is committed to assist our guests in 4 different languages: English, German, Russian and Turkish. Of course our restaurants staff also speaks english and would like to fulfill any request of our guests.

Our master cook in the main restaurant has been awarded several prizes and creates more than 200 specialties each day for our guests. In our a la carte restaurants our team also speaks english and serves our guests exceptional and tasty delicacies.

We hope we can welcome you again and convinc you positiv from our hotel.

Wish you all the best and kind regards

Myriam Sanders-Zeytin
CRM Assistant
Calista Luxury Resort
crm@calista.com.tr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

I travel a lot; I have been doing in average 40 - 50 trips a year for the past 20 years. I am involved in top class sport and we usually stay in 5 star hotels. Calista not a luxury hotel; it is miles away even from average 5 star hotel. Calista is one of the dirtiest hotels I have ever seen; rooms and amenities are worn out. Blankets and pillows are filled with rubber foam like in a 3 star hotel – very uncomfortable + the air-conditioning is super loud and blowing cold air into your face the whole night – an absolute nightmare! The gym has not been cleaned or disinfected for years – all equipment sprayed with peoples sweat – absolutely disgusting. When you walk through the resort you find leftover food plates and drinks cups everywhere. Very unfriendly staff and I am not evaluating based on one single experience, but thorough observations made throughout the 7 days of our holidays. None of the staff says ever “hello” so one feels very unwelcomed. Most of them speak only basic English so if you order a meal you can be pretty sure you get something else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pavel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akaya, Front Office Manager at Calista Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Dear Pavel,

Thank you for your review. With regret, we had to read that you have changed your opinion about our hotel. Please allow us the question about the reason for the change in your opinion.

For our team a great service and perfect cleanliness is very important. Our rooms are modern and meet the ultimate in luxury. Our fitness area is hygienically cleaned with great care and offers our guests a wide variety of fitness equipment. Our team is highly motivated, friendly and will help our guests in English, Russian, German and Turkish.

We would appreciate an email in which you explain shortly why you have changed your opinion about our house so dramatically and remain happy until then
kind regards

Myriam Sanders-Zeytin
CRM Assistant
Calista Luxury Resort
crm@calista.com.tr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Everything at this hotel was first class. The service, food and room were all superb. We stayed for one week and ate in 6 of the A La Carte restaurants, which offered wonderful food in a relaxed atmosphere, served by staff who generally can't do enough for you. On the final night, we also ate in the main buffet restaurant which also had an amazing selection of food on offer - the deserts in particular were to die for but watch out for the chocolate fountain as you won't be able to resist it. Be prepared to put on a few pounds!
Treat yourself to a massage while you're there - they're not the cheapest but certainly worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akaya, Front Office Manager at Calista Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive entry about our hotel. Our aim is to offer our guests the highest comfort., nice if we succeeded in this with you.

Our a la carte restaurants are offering culinary delights to our guests from the Italian, Turkish, Asian and South American cuisine. A fish and BBQ restaurant complete this.

Qur excellent SPA center awaits our guests with a wide range of treatments.

We hope to see you soon again in our hotel and wish you all the best.

Sunny greetings from Turkey

Myriam Sanders-Zeytin
CRM Assistant
Calista Luxury Resort
crm@calista.com.tr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Well, we came to the Turkey for the very first time and were pleased... everything went smooth from the beggining, to the last look at the lobby. Last drink at the black bar, last view of the very clean and peaceful see.
I can´t describe any problem, there were none, except for one funny stuff.
I can start with it.

People have no problem wearing very strange stuff. The dresscode was simply forgotten somewhere very, very far away.
We though about going to the dinner at a 5* hotel in shorters, they didn´t even bother changing their swimsuits and went for lunch all wet.
You sometimes could have had really good laugh at it. The difference between men and women was unbelievable, most of the women was wearing beautiful coctail dresses, perfect make-up, sophisticated hairstyles... while their male company deffinitely didn´t care.

Seeing that as the only thing that soured the sweetnes of our stay, everything else was twice as good as we expected.

The family room we occupied was lovely for our family situation. (2 parent, 14 and 7 years old children.) it was duplex and very comfortable, always clean, towels changed everyday, and so the huge collection of hygienc stuff. Two big LCD TVs with a variety of wellknown all languge channels took our comfort to the next level, :)
Althought I don´t think it is very suitable for families with very young children, because of the spiraled stairs in the room between the floors.
We were lucky to get a brilliant see view without paying extra charges for it.

Food was great. The variety was big, you may find everything you want. Every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday, there was a thematic dinner (seefood, italian and turkish.) We also tryed the Japanesse A´la carte restaurant, but I think that the main restaurant is comfortable enough.
There are bars running all over the hotel at everytime you wish. You don´t have to pay for anything, your all inclusive suits all the coctails and drinks...
We really enjoyed the hotel pier, and its bar, sitting there and playing carts, reading, or just looking at the magnificent sea.

The entertainment was breathtaking. Every second day, there was a night show made by profesional artists ( magics, artists, dancers...) We enjoyed it very very much.
everyday evening, there were great live musicians singing and playing smooth jazz music, which was sometimes interrupted by the next hotel Cornelia Diamonds loud discos.

The beach was very clean with brown sand. The sea was peaceful in the morning untill afternoon, then it was a little windy, but you can always find a free seat by the pool. Sometimes even happened, that no one was in the pool.

There is also a huge collection of watter sports, dance lessons and brilliant SPA.
we were very pleased with all of them.

Thank you, Calista, for unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitchie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Having stayed at a few '5 star' hotels along this stretch of beach we sort of knew what to expect but unfortunately we were left feeling disappointed.
The hotel itself is fantastic. You just can't knock it. The standard rooms are massive and you would be a bit picky to complain about them. The pools are huge and spotless. In fact the whole complex is huge and spotless. 10/10 to be honest.
The food is excellent. Plenty of variety. A bit repetitive but if you get it in mind to try something different each night then again difficult to pick fault. No surprise to anyone who has been 'all inclusive' before.
Bars are great. Plenty of cocktails, spirits, soft drinks to choose from along with Carlsberg on draught!
We chose this holiday as it was Platinum graded in the Thomson's brochure.
Expensive but we really thought the extra would really make the difference.
This is where we made the mistake.
We got it in our minds this hotel was going to be quiet and a bit more exclusive than we what we had previously experienced (Grida Village and Gloria Verde - both excellent and cheaper!!). Our image was relaxing days by the pool, laid back lunches, fantastic meals at night, a few beers and cocktails (a few might be a bit conservative on some nights) and of course the compulsory dodgy entertainment which you come to expect.
At our meeting with our Thomson's holiday rep she banged on about how 1400 people are at this hotel and you won't even know it. No need to reserve sun beds and this will be the most relaxing holiday you'll ever have. She had this to say "I've been monitoring the sun beds. The Germans don't do it any more and the Russians are not bothered. In fact it is the Britsih that seem to reserve the sunbeds here at this hotel". That was the only bit of information she gave on the hotel and then went on to try and sell you the normal style of trips. Rubbish.
Everyday at 7.30 the towels are on the sunbeds. By 8.30 they are all gone. Four British families were here when we were so someone else must have been putting them down out of the other approx 1370 guests. You can sit next to sunbeds either side of you and don't see anyone sit on them although their towels are down. A waste
.
Children. My God there are hundreds of them. Nothing wrong with children we have 3 but hopefully yours, like mine, didn't / don't scream at their top of their voices and run around the restaurant. (Hope not - ours are in their 20's now). The lobby, which is stunning, is like a childrens creche, bloody kids running all over the place. Parents just sitting there like nothing is happening while 3 year olds are climbing all over the furniture.
Lunch and eveing meal in the main restaurant is like the feeding of the 5 thousand (albeit there is a bit more choice than bread and fish). One point to note is the greed of some people. Without generalising or pigeon holing some nationalities I think there might be a certain amount of 'new money' knocking about. Yuo can read into that what you want.
The staff are unbelievable. They work so hard and in my opinion too hard. 90% of them are almost robotic as they go about their duties very, very qucikly, heads down with maximum efficiency.
If you want Wifi. I'll leave that for you to find out yourself. I'm not even going to go there.
The hotel is a complete money making machine. It is, in my opinion, over crowded, too many children (again please understand we just had it in our minds something entirely different) and no personality to the whole experience.
Unbelievably well run business and you would be very happy if you were a share holder but sadly lacking the holiday feel. I could go on and on but I'm sure you get the gist... we won't be going back.
p.s. We were asked our opinions at the end of our stay. Ouch.
Any more inforamtion needed e-mail me if you want:------------

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PaddyMulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akaya, Front Office Manager at Calista Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear guest,

thank you for your review. Our hotel is pleased to welcome guests in the high season from around the world. Our perfect team, the beautiful ambiance and the large resort guarantee our guests even at a full booking situation a unique service and comfort.

In our pool area and our large stretch of beach are enough sunbeds for all guests. Additionally our beach still has a beautiful pier, on which there are also sunbeds.

Of course, in our house childs are welcome. A large and more comfortable Mini Club awaits children ages 4 - 17 years. The children have their own restaurant and our excellent team has a wide range of activities.

Our friendly staff is always ready for every need and want to give our guests with a warm and lovely atmospher a feeling of home.

Thank you again for your comment. We wish you all the best

Kind regards

Myriam Sanders-Zeytin
CRM Assistant
Calista Luxury Resort
------------------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Normaly an 5* all inclusive hotel in Turkey has nothing to do with a five star hotel. Me and my wife has stayed on many of the leading hotels in the world so we did not expect to mutch on this all inclusive hotel. But we were about to be surpriced. This is on our top 3 hotels in the world. Everything is absolutly fantastic. International 5* standard. I can not put one finger on anything exept the many russian guests. They still need to learn how to behave when the are among other nationalitie.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AFreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akaya, Front Office Manager at Calista Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear guest,

thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased that you count our house is among the top three hotels in the world.

For us is a perfect service, upscale environment associated with satisfaction of our guests on the first place . For this reason, we are very happy about your review.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and wish you all the best until then.

Warm greetings from sunny Turkey

Myriam Sanders-Zeytin
CRM Assistant
Calista Luxury Resort
crm@calista.com.tr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

In Calista Hotel came our dream true :
great service
great architecture
great garden
Clean every where
The general manager Ali is great!

Room Tip: Lots of space, good quality bed, bathroom, television. = high quality !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Potain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akaya, Front Office Manager at Calista Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear guest,

thanks for the excellent rating of our hotel.

Holidays are the most important time to recover and spend a nice time. Our hotel wants to make these beautiful days through excellent service and a luxurious ambience even better.

We are pleased that we were successful for you and you have such beautiful days spent with us.

We wish you well and you would be very pleased to welcome you back again.

Sunny greetings from turkey

Myriam Sanders-Zeytin
CRM Assistant
Calista Luxury Resort
crm@calista.com.tr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belek hotels
2.3 mi away
Maxx Royal Belek Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Regnum Carya Golf & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
Sueno Hotels Golf Belek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rixos Premium Belek
Rixos Premium Belek
#11 of 94 in Belek
3,975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Susesi Luxury Resort
Susesi Luxury Resort
#34 of 94 in Belek
2,145 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gloria Serenity Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calista Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calista Luxury Resort

Address: Kadriye Mah. Tasliburun Cad. No: 14-1/A, Belek 07525, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Serik District > Belek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belek
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Belek
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belek
#8 Spa Hotel in Belek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Belek
#9 Family Hotel in Belek
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Belek
Price Range: £109 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Calista Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calista is named after a Goddess in Mythology, a young woman of rare beauty. She becomes so obsessed with her beauty that she would risk everything, in order to eternalize it. Then Calista dedicates herself to goodness by combining this physical beauty with the beauty of her soul. After a while, her soul becomes too beautiful to remain mortal. She becomes a Goddess. The name Calista signifies the Goddess of Rare Beauty from that moment on she reflects the pure Beauty. Calista: Perfect Beauty! The Goddess of Beauty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Calista Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calista Luxury Hotel Belek
Hotel Calista Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing