We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“falls short of five star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Susesi Luxury Resort
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Belek
Certificate of Excellence
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“falls short of five star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

I went for a week with my husband, mother and father in law, brother in law and his partner. We arrived late on in the evening and after a stress free transfer arrived to helpful staff who efficiently checked us in and offered us and upgrade! Yippee...

The upgrade however was to a three bedroom suite with one bedroom leading off of another, if you have children great because they can stay off the linked bedroom, but for three separate sets of adults is not convenient. So when ringing down from inspecting the room to say it was nice but inappropriate and ask for our original rooms, we were told that they had no rooms available so we had to stay there for the first night. Which was odd as we had booked three separate twin rooms to start with, so we were left wondering what happened to them???

The hotel is large and impressive with a big conference section, lush well kept gardens, good selection of pools, many free daily activities and nice sandy beach.

Food was great, eating in the buffet restaurant was like shopping each time there was so much choice. The a la cart restaurants were a pain to book, but were a la cart which also didn't leave you hungry with 7 courses! And all the snack and cake bars meant you could never go hungry. Plenty of drinks to choose from too.

As I'm sure I've read in other statements the conference side of the hotel dose spill over, and two of our days were spent trying to escape the poolside conference entertainment . Unfortunately the music was so loud that it was bouncing off the hotel walls there was no escape, even in our room. From one extreme to another the evening entertainment was cancelled and the stage given over to the conference entertainment. Not good especially as they have such an impressive conference section to house them in??

When we did have entertainment it was good and varied although a little holiday park for five star.

In general this is a good hotel if you have not been to other five star hotels as it is impressive, but if you scratch the surface it reveals the almost's.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    327
    127
    41
    44
See reviews for
743
433
16
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cuffley, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

just got back from susesi belek and can honestly say it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in and certainly deserving of 5 stars. We were a party of 13 including 7 guys and 6 girls. From the moment we arrived we were treated so very well and cannot think of a single thing we would change. The staff were extremely helpful, from Pinar on the front desk through to Richy and the entertainment squad, and even as far as the cleaning staff. The food was extremely varied and even someone with a picky pallet like me was always able to eat my fill.
If you are going for golf I would recommend the National and the Carya, although both the Sultan and the Pines were also very good. The courses are not cheap but you would have to pay an awful lot of money to play on like courses in the UK.
Can't wait to return to both the Susesi and Turkey.
TIP- For 4 people to go into town on the tractor was 8 Euro's but a taxi from outside the hotel would take 4 people for 4 Euro's. No waiting around and half price.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GIBBOCuffley_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

Don't get me wrong this is a lovely hotel, But they do let myselfs down,
The a la cart booking system is a joke, I've read trip adviser for months reading people's concerns, thinking it can't be that bad? yes it is. A total cattle market. you queue from 8.30am for a number then queue again till around 9.30am to speak to someone, you maybe lucky enough to get a ticket only to be told the booking of a restaurant is a minium of two days in advance and by the way there is only two a la cart restaurants available. I have travelled all over the world but never seen such a stupid process. It did not spoil our holiday, but it was the main discussion point with guests through out the week. come on susesi management get your act together or you wont see us again

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oldsouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Myself and my other half stayed at the Susesi from 9th to 16th October and having read the reviews was really excited to arrive, however we got off to a bit of a shaky start when the receptionist was quite rude to us and didnt explain anything, just gave us our key and sent us on our way. when we got to our room the door wouldnt lock to the balcony but they did sort it out immediately and we couldnt grumble about the quick response!

The room was lovely we had a sea view room and it was very spacious with a large bathroom that included all the shampoos and soaps etc..
I would recommend that you take your own hairdryer tho as the ones in the room are pretty useless!!
The hotel overall is absolutely beautiful, very impressive certainly the nicest hotel weve ever stayed in, the gardens are lush and the pools are huge and very impressive, there were sunloungers available no problem and towels are supplied!
The food was amazing and so much of it, it is available pretty much 24 hours a day and its very varied and very well presented, we never got to eat in any of the restaurants as to do so you had to queue at guest relations at 9am and this is not my idea of a holiday but as the food in the main restaurant was fantastic we were happy to eat in there every night!
My only comment would be that i wouldnt of said that the service was quite 5 star, ive never stayed in a 5 star before but ive had better service in a 4 star where they would be refilling your drinks before youd finished and always supplied nuts and crisps etc, just little touches like that wouldve been nice, you could have had crisps but you had to ask for them and the staff in my opinion were not that friendly.

All in all the Susesi is an absolutely wonderful hotel on beautiful grounds with fantastic food and i would definately go back again.!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank narkwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

From all the rave reviews on here I was expecting much better, but we were dissapointed with the hotel. The hotel was nice but I wouldnt class it as a true 5 star hotel, maybe its 5 star by Turkish standards.

The service was the biggest issue with this hotel and thats what let it down the most. True 5 star hotels go out of their way to accomadate their guests and make them feel welcome and the staff at this hotel need to take a lesson in hospitality. The reception staff were always cold and unwelcoming and couldnt even carry out the simple task of assigning us the room we had actually paid for. When we eventually got the right room it had stains all over the armchair and sofabed but we had to make do as the hotel was full. We called down to get the spare bed made up, the receptionist missunderstood us and sent the cleaners up with a travel cot. When we explained to them that it was a mistake and told them what we actually wanted one of them started shouting in Turkish at the other one and was rolling her eyes and tutting at us. It made us feel really uncomfortable. Also some of the staff at the sandal bar were very rude, we would order drinks and because I would order non alcoholic drinks they would roll their eyes at us and mutter stuff under their breath, it was very strange. We did come across a couple of nice girls that worked here and they were very freindly to our daughter but the majority were rude.

The hotel grounds are nice and well kept but our room was very average. We had a seaview room, the size of the room was quite small and there were stains everywhere. The balcony was also small. The bathroom was a nice size and there are lots of toiletries available but we never used them. The housekeeping was appalling. In the first week I dropped a blob of moisturiser on the bathroom floor near the sink and we stayed for 2 weeks and it was there the whole time so the bathroom floor wasnt cleaned once. In the bedroom the bin never get emptied, there were crumbs on the floor that were there for ages. The cleaners would come in everyday but I think they just made the beds.

The food was ok it was nothing special and after 2 weeks you grow sick of it. We ate at the turkish restaurant twice. The first time the food and the service was very good and the second time it was surreal, the restaurant was only half full but it was as if they were full and they couldnt cope. We ordered drinks which came when we had nearly finished our mains, we were given the menu to look at when we had already finished the starters. The waiters were running around flapping about, I wonder how they cope when the restaurant is actually full.

We also ate at the Mexican restaurant and the Turkish take on Mexican food is certainly interesting. Our favourite food is Mexican but we never went back there so I guess that says something. The buffet had a different theme everynight but they still had alot of the same food there everyday and it did get repetitive.

The pools were nice there was always somewhere to get a sunbed. We only went in the pool one day as we prefer the beach and the pools were very cold. The beach was nice, I was expecting it to be all stones but I thought it was nice and sandy. Only a couple of days were there some stones on the beach but I didnt see that as a problem.

I know alot of people will probably like this hotel and for some it might be the best they've ever been to but I have been spoilt because I have stayed in some very nice hotels and naturally I comared this hotel to them and there is no comparison they are in a different league and for that reason I would not come back here. I want to feel like im a valued guest and I never felt that once at this hotel. My partner agreed and said he would not return here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leafycambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Susesi is a very nice hotel, its relaxing with beautiful gardens lots of restaurants to choose from. We stayed in one of the lake suits and it was wonderful to swim right outside your room. The staff is very good they enjoy what they are doing so the service quality is very good for an all inclusive resort. Don't hesitate to book , there is something for everyone. It is so much better value than Spain or Portugal.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perssonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Just returned from a 10 day holiday and the title says it all. I have been lucky to have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and can honestly say that the service here is the best I have ever encountered. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure that you had what you wanted. There was a good mix of guests and a lot more brits than I was expecting from previous reviews.

This was our first trip to Turkey and our first AI. Went DIY with good BA flights from Gatwick and a hotel pickup at Antalya. Had booked 2 standard terraced rooms for 4 adults and were delighted to receive an upgrade to a triplex terrace with 3 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms and a large living/dining room. Flat screen TV's and mini bars in every room - fab. The area where the terrace rooms are located is beautiful and very quiet with a pool bar serving the area. The hotel grounds are vast and immaculately kept and it is very easy to find a quiet place to relax if that is what you are after - hammocks and bean bags on a large lawned area for example.. The areas around the pools are livelier with the animation team laying on various activities throughout the day but with no pressure to join in. All in all the hotel and grounds are a delight and everywhere is kept spotlessly clean.

Now for the food and drink. Where to start! The main buffet restaurant has a lovely outside area overlooking a small lake with a fountain which was our favourite for lunch. The range of food is vast, wonderfully fresh salads, soups, freshly cooked bbq meat, prepared meat fish and vegetable dishes, amazing cakes and deserts - everything beautifully presented. The staff were fantastic, constantly clearing dishes and refilling glasses, always with a smile. If you don't fancy the buffet there are 2 snack bars near the pools serving kebabs, pizzas, hotdogs etc from 12.00 - 4.00 and then cakes, waffles, biscuits from 4.00 - 6.00. The is also the the Gozmele tent serving savoury snacks from 11.00 - 6.00. Oh, and lets not forget the patisserie open for coffee and cakes 4.00- midnight just in case you're still peckish! During our stay there was a large conference which packed out the buffet one lunchtime but they opened the Aqua Bistro as well to take the pressure off so this did not really cause a problem. The Aqua Bistro is also an adult only option in the evening but has a much limited choice compared to the main buffet. As there were no school aged children there during our stay this was not an issue. The bistro opens again at midnight serving light meals and sandwiches. We were lucky to get bookings for the A La Cartes for most evenings during our stay and the food and presentation were excellent. The Asian and Steak were our favourites - used both twice. Many of the dishes served were swanky London restaurant standard.

The drink selection in the bars is fantastic, branded drinks if requested, speciality coffees, cognac and a good selection of bottled beer. Service was again fantastic - you could barely put a glass down without it being refilled. The pool bar is fun in the evenings when there is music until midnight. After that it's off to the lobby bar for a nightcap but beware - the late barman here pours lethal drinks!!

The hotel was also showing live English football in Edwards Bar (which was otherwise shut) and even laid on bottles of beer on ice to help yourself to - and then a manager appears to make sure that the beer selection is to your liking -how cool is that!

So, in summary, we had a fantastic holiday at Susesi and would return in a heartbeat. I would definately recommend the terrace rooms which, if booked directly with the hotel are cheaper than the standard hotel rooms - don't understand that. And do try the A La Carte restaurants. And go easy in the late night bar if you want any chance of making breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie6London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belek hotels
0.2 mi away
Ela Quality Resort Belek
3.7 mi away
Titanic Deluxe
Titanic Deluxe
#34 of 88 in Belek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cornelia De Luxe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Regnum Carya Golf & Spa Resort
1.8 mi away
Maxx Royal Belek Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Sueno Hotels Golf Belek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Susesi Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susesi Luxury Resort

Property: Susesi Luxury Resort
Address: Iskele Mevkii Belek, Belek 07450, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Belek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belek
#14 Romantic Hotel in Belek
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Belek
#22 Spa Hotel in Belek
#24 Family Hotel in Belek
#31 Luxury Hotel in Belek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Susesi Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Susesi Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Susesi De Luxe Hotel Belek
Susesi De Luxe Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing