We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”
Review of Onur Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onur Pension
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Demre (Kale)
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This was the most expensive and worst hotel we stayed during our holidays ( out of 6 hotels in Turkey). This was a big let down as I expected it to be very special given the reviews and media exposure of this hotel. Onur welcomed were very unfriendly and his partner didn't even acknowledge us, not a look or anything. The atmosphere was really unpleasant. The room are tiny and very uncomfortable. The bedding is the worst that I have seen. There is only a central light , no light on side of bed. Bathroom is really small and old looking. To access the room you need to climb to set of ladders which are not suitable for young families or older people. Really it is only backpackers standard which is fine is you pay backpacker tariff but this room was the most expensive of the all trip and by far the worst room. Other reviewers marvel at the location but it is only good when you are in front of the hotel. The rooms are at the back in a dark corridor with no view. Worst, our window was just 10 metres away from the mosque speakers, so don't expect the sound of the sea but a rather loud cultural wake up call at 5 am.
There are few pensions in the same village with much much better rooms , better location right next to the sea, with great view from the room, for half the price of this place.
To be fair the restaurant is excellent , the food is delicious but again as the atmosphere is terrible you better go to eat at Hassan next door where the food is very good and the welcome is just fantastic.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank triptip68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

The hotel is located directely at the sea side. All rooms have A/C and there are 2 terraces with gorgeous view at the sea.
The restaurant is not so touristic, but very good.
The only small thing to complain about is, that the rooms are not cleaned every day. On request they would do it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heinz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I largely agree with the other reviews: this is a beautiful little pension in a tiny town (outside of Kas) on Kekova bay. I stayed for 3 days with family but could have gladly stayed longer. It's easy to explore Kas, Pattara, and other towns, swim, kayak, hike -- many activities are easily arranged. It is also quite affordable: the dinner (buffet mezzes and choice of grilled fish or meat skewer) is a lot of food for 20 TL. More practical details: the beds are small, but comfortable; bathrooms are also on the small side. Staff is both friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Almost decided not to write a review because I did not want to share this incredible little pension with anyone! Cannot recommend highly enough. Like staying in paradise in a quaint, little village by the sea. Pension has steep steps to rooms because historic area does not allow changes to buildings...but onur and staff carry all luggage to and from rooms.
Be sure to visit simena by boat, only five minutes from pension. A extremely special place...and I rarely offer such rave reviews. Enjoy and please say hello to onur from the Kennedy Family!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bschaffer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Although listed under Kas, Onur Pension is actually in Ucagiz (Kekova), a beautiful little fishing village about half way between Kas and Demre. My wife and I had a lovely room with wooden floors and ceilings, with a balcony overlooking the harbour and the bay, under which is the sunken city. We did a lovely walk out along the coast, and back by an inland route waymarked by Onur, the owner. We ate our meals by the water, watching the boats coming in and out. In the evening Onur served us fresh fish, different each day. He was very friendly and helpful, and like everywhere we stayed in Turkey had a friendly dog and cats. He organised a boat trip for the two of us to Simena and over the sunken ruins by the island of Kekova, ending with a swim among fish in a bay with the ruins of a Byzantine church. Everything was good value.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AandK-GBPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

Really unusual accommodation. The Onur Pension is situated in Üçağiz, Kekova a little village between Demre and Kaş. Set right on the busy quayside, it was more like staying on a boat than in a pension. Superb views of the harbour and Kekova Island from both the balcony and the restaurant. My room was bright and comfortable and had an en-suite bathroom. Our meals were taken sitting on the waterfront, a lovely place to relax and enjoy the view and the food (and wine) was excellent. The restaurant was very popular with people from the yachts in the evening, it was very strange to leave our table and climb up the ladder to bed!.
Onur himself was most helpful and his staff were very friendly. He arranged for us to take a boat to the sunken city at Kekova, we went swimming in the sea cave and then walked back from Burc bay through the countryside. We also walked to the beautiful old village of Simena (KaleKoy) which can otherwise only be accessed by boat. It has amazing views from the castle and ancient sarcophagi all around.
This is a perfect get away from it all location surrounded by ancient Lycian history.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scousemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2007

We had stayed at Onur Pansion about 5 years ago and tried it again this year. It was just as lovely the 2nd time. There are only about 4 rooms, which are very simple with basic ensuite bathroom, but it is right on the sea front with a lovely restaurant. It's really lay back and I would happily go back again. The little village in a small bay is a great break from the hassle of mass tourism.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sari_kiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Demre (Kale)
1.0 mi away
Kale Pansiyon
Kale Pansiyon
#3 of 4 in Demre (Kale)
22 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dufa Apart Bungalow
Dufa Apart Bungalow
#2 of 4 in Demre (Kale)
1 reviews
11.3 mi away
Medusa Hotel
Medusa Hotel
#26 of 48 in Kas
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Aqua Princess Hotel
Aqua Princess Hotel
#17 of 48 in Kas
248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ankh Pansion
Ankh Pansion
#1 of 4 in Kekova
57 reviews
12.5 mi away
Beymelek Tas Evler
Beymelek Tas Evler
#5 of 15 in Demre (Kale)
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onur Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onur Pension

Address: Kekova/ Ucagiz, Demre (Kale), Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Demre (Kale)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Demre (Kale)
Price Range: £36 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Onur Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onur Pension Turkey/Demre (Kale), Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing