We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fruity & Delightful Piece of Cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lola 38

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lola 38
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Foca
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fruity & Delightful Piece of Cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed at the green room (suite) with my wife for three nights and had wonderful experience. It had colourful but quite tasty decoration and antique furniture, high ceilings, and excellent location within Foca. We spent a very good time even by just sitting in the living section of the room and watching and appreciating the ornaments, the colors, the furniture and the objects. The room also had separate entrance with marble stairs and it was such a pleasure to sit at those stairs and read or watch the sea about ten meters away or the people passing walking narrow street or sidewalk in front of the building. Owner/operator quite friendly and helpful. Very pleasant to listen to him about his experience with and passion for this building. We really wish we could stay longer but the room was booked. The only noteworthy drawback was the limited storage space despite the room being quite large (60 sqm divided into three quarters) but given the other huge positives it did not really matter. Well done Bahri Bey!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyz01123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
49
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Lola 38 (also in the Rough Guide as Foca Konak) is a totally charming old house right on the waterfront in the surprisingly unspoilt village of Foca. We had the Pink Room - luxurious four-poster bed, attractive furniture and huge bathroom with shower and jacuzzi bath - looking out over the bay. Family run with great attention to detail. Superb breakfast. Quite expensive but worth the money.

Room Tip: Pink Room is definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 238anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

This small hotel situated right on the waterfront is first class. The rooms are spotlessly clean, warm, beautifully appointed and run by a delightly family. You couldn't improve on this accommodation. The breakfasts were sumptuous - enough food for breakfast and lunch and the setting is superb. Foca is a very pretty seaside town. Being a fishing village we ate one of the best fish dinners ever. It is the perfect place for rest and relaxation, for walking along the waterfront, exploring the shops in the tiny streets and enjoying the local market if you're lucky enough to be there on a Tuesday.
Gaye & Dennis - Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myhoney089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

I almost hesitate to recommend this hotel - I would like to “review” each guest beforehand just to make sure they don't spoil it. We stayed in the Pink Room whose tall windows open out onto the beautiful bay, enjoying the extravagant décor and bright colours, the high ceiling with its magnificent chandelier, the large bathroom, the comfortable bed. The room was lovely, but it was our hosts who really made our stay. The Urgun's themselves have restored and decorated their old house with attention to detail and a sense of gaiety and fun. There is nothing “packaged” or “commercial” here, every room is colourful and different. The hotel itself is a labour of love, and we as guests were welcomed into a family project – to create the loveliest hotel possible and to make their guests feel pampered and special, right down to the homemade breakfast prepared int the restored old kitchen. By the way, if you are wondering about the name, the reference is to the longitude coordinates of Foca – 38 degrees!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AriPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Only 5 rooms in this charming inn. The main house and separate buildings are tastefully decorated. Breakfasts and afternoon tea are delicious. Just steps across the street to a relaxing beach with crystal water. Walk to all restaurants in town. The family that runs this hotel put 4 years of love into fixing up an 1891shipowner's home. Everyone in the family is somewhere around to help with any request that you might have. We felt that we were leaving old friends/family after only 2 nights as they all waved goodbye as we drove off.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foca hotels
0.4 mi away
Focantique Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Karacam
Hotel Karacam
#3 of 15 in Foca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
7.7 mi away
Alize Tatil Koyu
Alize Tatil Koyu
#11 of 15 in Foca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensar Butik Hotel
Ensar Butik Hotel
#15 of 15 in Foca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bulbul Yuvasi Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Menendi Otel
Menendi Otel
#4 of 15 in Foca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lola 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lola 38

Property: Lola 38
Address: Ismet Pasa Mah. Reha Midilli Cad. No:140 Foca Merkez, Foca 35680, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Foca
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Foca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the idea of turning a unique 120 years old Greek mansion into a boutique hotel with six rooms, a Turkish-American exclusive interior designer Aylin Urgun's point of view to decoration and design shows its difference at first glance. With sea and sunset view on the front and a peaceful back garden, the mansion is on of the gorgeous historical places in Foca. In this exciting place's garden, it will be possible to held wedding ceremonies and invitations in the summer of 2011. LOLA 38 Hotel always works to be more special and keeps welcoming its exclusive guests.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lola 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing