We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly Good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neilson Phokaia Beachclub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Foca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Neilson Phokaia Beachclub
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Foca
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazingly Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Simply Amaizing!!!
We have just returned from our week stay at Neilson's Beachclub Phokaia.It was our best family holiday by far and although it did not start very well with all of our luggage getting lost, we had an amazing week full of wonderful memories.
Everything-the hotel facilities and service, beach activity tuitions and equipment,kids club and the food was superb,just spot on.But the thing that makes the difference and makes this place exceptional is the staff-always welcoming,smily ,helpful.Very special thank you to Tommy ,Semih and the rest of the reception team for helping us getting our lost bags and not letting this to spoil our time at Phokaia .Thank you Milo for running the kids club in such a way that our 11y old daughter has now decided to apply for a nanny job with Neilson when old enough:).Thank you Ahmed and the rest of the restaurant staff including the people in the kitchen for the amazing ,delicious food and service.Thank you also to the beach and water ski staff for being patient and encouraging .Tennis as well, was a very popular activity good fun and well organised thanks to the coaching team lead by Mike.We have not done any biking or fitness lessons simply because we could not fit them into our busy schedule but people that have thought they were very very good .
Just to sum up :amazing venue,amazing people ,amazing holiday!Well done Neilson! We will be coming back !(already looked up to book the next holiday!)

Room Tip: We had a third floor room at the main hotel with stunning sea /sunset view.We also had intermittent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YannaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    117
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
244
154
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Second time at Neilson Phokaia June 2014. Two week stay for a middle aged couple. Everything is excellent. If I could describe a heaven then this would be the place. Got very active with the sailing and tennis and improved skills in both fields. The staff are very client orientated. No complaints and will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: Stayed in the main hotel this time, which proved to be a mistake, due to early risers and babies. Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

first time with Neilson but have done many Mark Warner and Sunsail. Neilson is a slick operation. All tastes catered for and extremely good equipment on and off the water. try a Hammam in the Spa with Suzanne or Nicola.. very good treatment..

Food was good but could get a bit repetitive if there for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

You would have to be mad not to try this if you have teenagers! I have three aged 14, 16 and 17 so to keep all three happy is a big ask, but Neilson delivered on everything. The staff are outstanding, the food is outstanding, the range of activities are outstanding and the people you will meet are outstanding too.
I have never been to such a friendly, sociable place, it was like being with old friends not people you have just met. Give it a go you really won’t regret it, most of the people I met were all on a return visit which speaks volumes about the quality of the holiday. We will definitely return and as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbanbeachclothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our fourth trip to Phokaia - now with three kids aged 8,7 and 1. We travelled with some friend so in total were a party of 9. All of us had an exceptionally good time. Tommy and team run things in a light-hearted but efficient way. Any niggle or issue is rectified swiftly.

Highlights: childcare is exceptional. My 8 and 7 year olds now can sail single handedly and waterski!! Volleyball - great fun with a little bit of "needle" on the staff versus guests match. Sailing - even though the fleet is looking a little tired now it's still perfectly serviceable. Cycling - road bike addition is great. Food is brilliant. Fitness instructor (Sally) is first class. Johnnie the entertainer is good company.

Lowlights: none worthy of mention.

Summary: great place, great people, great location, great facilities.....what's not to like?

We'll definitely return..... The sooner the better!!!

Room Tip: 2301/2 reasonable sea view without the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a very nicely laid out hotel with excellent facilities. The opportunities to learn sailing or windsurfing are great. Flat water, great teachers. Very nice tennis coaches, with decent access to courts and opportunities for social tennis. Brilliant pool.

Hotel staff are very helpful. Kids clubs good. Child care for little ones looked excellent. Large and varied buffet with fab salads and nice puds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from a fabulous holiday with Neilson at Club Phokaia. Almost everything about it was perfect.

Right from the airport pick up we knew it would good, everything was well organised and staff were courteous and capable. The journey took approx. an hour and a half and there were complimentary bottles of water available.

My husband windsurfed, dinghy sailed, cycled and water-skied, I took a few fitness classes, beginner tennis lessons, SUP, made a couple of pathetic attempts at cycling and water skiing and used the spa! All staff were really lovely, exceptionally helpful and good humoured, encouraging without being pushy. One of our children was in Hot Shots and the team that ran it made the holiday for her.

The food was really good with lots of choice each day, some reviewers have commented that the drinks prices were high, we found them ok (although in fairness they are probably high for Turkey). A glass of house wine was 10.50TL, a large beer 11.75TL, a can of Pepsi was 7.95TL. On a couple of the none inclusive nights we went in Foca which is either a 25 minute walk or 15TL by taxi. We had mixed experiences here, one restaurant was pretty poor, and one was fantastic.

Our rooms were in the main part of the hotel and had a fridge in each which was useful, rooms were cleaned daily. The mattresses are rock hard and I didn't find them at all comfortable but I suppose it's a matter of personal preference. Mattress toppers were available, we got one for my eldest daughter but I'm not sure it made much difference. The bath towels have seen better days and some were quite stained, however I managed to chase down a member of the housekeeping team and had them changed so it wasn't an issue. The most irritating aspect of our stay was the water pressure from the showers which was barely existent, regardless of the time of day used, that and the fact that it would switch from tepid to scalding to freezing in a nano second. Having said that, it wouldn't deter us from staying again, it's annoying but it didn't detract from the overall enjoyment of our stay.

Wifi was available in the public areas but because our room overlooked the terrace bar and we were on the first floor we managed to pick up the signal so had access to it in the room. (Rm 1106)

All in all it was a fantastic holiday and one we look forward to doing again.

Room Tip: Room 1106 in main hotel overlooks terrace bar so we were able to pick up the free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mummywiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foca hotels
8.0 mi away
Alize Tatil Koyu
Alize Tatil Koyu
#12 of 15 in Foca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lola 38
Lola 38
#2 of 15 in Foca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Karacam
Hotel Karacam
#3 of 15 in Foca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ensar Butik Hotel
Ensar Butik Hotel
#15 of 15 in Foca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
8.5 mi away
Club Rose Bay Hotel
Club Rose Bay Hotel
#14 of 15 in Foca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bulbul Yuvasi Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Phokaia Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Phokaia Beachclub

Property: Neilson Phokaia Beachclub
Address: Ismetpasa Mah. 2 Mersinaki Koyu, Foca 35680, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Foca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Foca
Hotel Class:4 star — Neilson Phokaia Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neilson Club Phokaia occupies a fantastic beachfront location overlooking a beautiful bay where you will find excellent sailing conditions. Spacious, with a wonderful large swimming pool set close to the beach, Phokaia is a firm favourite with returning Neilson guests.Highlights: Super 4 star + accommodation• Club board meals included• Wide range of inclusive activities - Fantastic sailing, windsurfing, waterskiing, canoeing, mountainbiking, fitness, tennis• Consistent winds and large sailing area• Four tennis courts• Gym• Elemis Spa• International Blue Flag Beach status• Excellent for families• Full range of children's clubs• Lively, bustling local area• Traditional Turkish villages close by• Easy access to world famous historical sites ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phokaia Hotel Foca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing