We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time at Phokaia, can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neilson Phokaia Beachclub
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Foca
Certificate of Excellence
Ilchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Third time at Phokaia, can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks in Phokaia, 3rd time there and 5th Neilson holiday. I wont write about the hotel, since other reviewers have done superb jobs at that, suffice to say it is truly excellent. Tommy mentioned that the hotel is due for a refurb, which excites us even more and gives us the reassurance that Neilson are continuing to strive for excellence. I would hope that some of the sailing kit gets upgraded (addition of the spinnakers for the Topaz - as the brochure shows!), certainly the SB3/20 which are showing their age, however it is not enough to put us off. Stuart on the beach team was excellent; a private lesson with my wife really boosted her sailing confidence and made the holiday for her. My 5yr old son was even crying on the last day because he did not want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    117
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
245
154
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Had a lovely time here at Foca on a girly holiday. Played tennis for the first time since school and enjoyed it so much am joining local tennis club. My friend Marie won the beginners tournament and was chuffed to bits to receive her cup on the last night. Many thanks to Martin and the team for such good coaching... of course the best bit was booze and balls :)
the windsurfing was great if a little challenging as the wind was quite gusty but the safety boat was always there to bring you back if you went too far.
The rooms were spacious and clean, the only problem was the electronic room keys had a tendency to be wiped if in close proximity to certain mobile phones (not iphones tho) but reception were more than happy to reset.
the food was amazing and the staff very helpful. The only quibble would be that the social table was in the family area, not the adults only area but that was minor.
For me the best part of the day was sitting in the beach bar watching the spectacular sunset. thanks so much for a fabulous week, we met some lovely people who we hope to meet up with next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to Foca & our 8th neilson holiday so far.
Foca is the best for our needs - great layout, great location, short transfer, great team. Tommy is very good as the GM & his team work very hard. Cemil & the ski team are the best ski team we have come across on Neilson. Their instruction was amazing & we had premium ski so were delighted with the result as wakeboarding is our main activity.
The kids club run by Amy is as fantastic as it has been the past few years; she is a strong leader & very experienced. If you have kids, Neilson is the way forward!
I would have given 4.5 stars if I could as the only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because the resort & some of the equipment is beginning to get a bit tired - a refurb for Foca is in order Neilson!
We will however return, hopefully next year! ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GH_C23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 great weeks here.Tommy and his team were fun and enthusastic,with happy smiley faces.The hotel/gardens rooms are very clean and the food was varied and fresh.I wakeboarded,sailed,windsurfed,kayaked and went to classes and have no complaints.What i will say is if you are top class sailor then maybe this isn't the place for you as you may not find the kit as perfect as you like plus complain other guests don't know the sailing rules in the races.So my advice would be find somewhere at your level and give the rest of us a chance. :)

Room Tip: Personally i like the garden rooms as they are cooler as shaded by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loueeze24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in the garden rooms 4 on the ground floor. There was a beautiful view from the patio of the pretty gardens which were well kept by the hardworking staff, and the sea beyond. The rooms were immaculate and spacious and the cleaners always did a fab job, sometimes leaving flower blossom displays in towels (a nice surprise). Meals were good and we particularly enjoyed the Turkish food with plenty of tasty salads and free water at mealtimes. I went for my first ever tennis lessons and boy, could you tell I won't be entering Wimbledon anytime soon! The coaching was excellent, split into small groups and each lesson given great feedback(thank you Martin) , I think Leah must need a long drink at the end of our doubles coaching debut! Fantastic fun though and I cant wait fir next year. My husband and teenage daughter (who was easily persuaded by Khan to join the TAG team) did water skiing, sailing, mountain and road biking kayaking etc. they both loved it. The small town of Foca nnearby is a refreshing change from typical Mediterranean tourist towns, catering mainly for Turkish visitors but very friendly to tourists too. The gulet boat trip was a lovely way to arrive with Martin (from Tennis) giving little snippets of local info on the way. All the neilson staff and local restaurant staff were fantastic, the entertainment at night was just the right mix of daft games and quizzes and quiet sunsets sat with a large gin and tonic in the beautiful beach bar. I simply did not want to leave.!! Well done Neilson. Shayne, Frank, Izzy from Manchester

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayniepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A first water sports holiday and a first Neilson. Hotel reception was lovely so first impressions were good. we arrived at night when everything was lit up which was a gorgeous sight and as our flight was delayed staff were on hand with packed lunches for everyone which was a nice touch.
We couldn't fault the Neilson staff in this hotel they all went out of their way to please and had such enthusiasm for everyone and everything. Everyone was friendly and aimed to please and we were able to help ourselves to the equipment available with ease. I don't think we have ever been so well looked after whilst on holiday by any other company WELL DONE NEILSON STAFF!
The food was fresh and ample at all sittings and the Turkish staff very respectful and helpful at all times There was even typical kids food on offer such as spaghetti bolognaise and the odd serving of chips available for the fussier children and if you requested it the staff would get you plain pasta at any sitting if you had a real fuss pot on your hands!
The hotel was situated in a particularly undeveloped part of Turkey and we walked into the local town a few times but were not very impressed with the restaurants on offer around the harbour, although everyone was friendly. In retrospect staying at the resort would have been preferable especially after seeing the bistro menu down by beach bar which looked fab.
Don't bother with the boat trip into Foca if it is stunning scenery you are after, as it just tours the small islands visible from the resort which have lots of rusting metal and rubbish littering them so not particularly enjoyable as far as scenery is concerned. The Neilson chap was fun though and it was a fun way to get into town, the kids enjoyed the baby seagulls on the rocks.
The kids loved the swimming pool but the old problem of towels on deck chairs was irritating at times. The hotel was clean and comfortable the cleaners did a fabulous job of our rooms.
The kids clubs were great and although we had a few refusers to begin with both our children loved the activities and enthusiam and effort the Neilson staff put into the clubs. I'm not sure how they do it! above all an excellent holiday. First class!
Above all we would return

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view or you will be disappointed. If staying in a bungalow ask for one aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catriona n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first trip to Foca and to Turkey.
WE stayed in the gardens rooms in block 4 . Our room had a balocny that faced the sea but we did not have a view of it due to the gardens, but we found this so beautiful to look out on to that it didnt matter. The gardens are wonderfully tended to all day by a team of gardeners and are so neat and tidy.
Our room was a good size with firm clean bed, good towels and bed linen and a modern bathroom suite with walk in shower. We had a fridge and kettle, hairdryer. The room was cleaned daily and the maid often left a towel/blossom display on the bed which was very welcoming.
We had breakfast and lunch every day , which was buffet and of a superb quality. The variety of different salads was great and the hot food was freshly cooked. Dinner four nights gave us the opportunity to visit the local town of Foca , which is charming and very un-touristy.
My husband did the beginners dinghy sailing, water-skiing, and paddle boarding, whilst I did morning Yoga and paddle boarding and visited the spa. Each experience was great.
The staff are friendly and very relaxed, very knowledgeable about their chosen area of work. The bar prices are reasonable and the bar snacks a good quality.
THe views from the decked beach bar area over the bay are beautiful and we really felt like we have found the perfect retreat from busy lives. We did not take our grown up children with us, but if you are travelling with children, the activities offered by the kids clubs are fantastic and we often watched them out on the water. They will never be bored.
We traveled in June, there were about 50 younger children on the site but no older ones due to school holidays etc, I believe this changes peak season so we would bear that in mind when booking .
We will definitely visit again and plan to take the whole family out next year, ages from 18mths to 75yrs, something for everyone.
Just one thing - keep a tally of what you sign for at bar/restaurant, as most guests seemed to have queries on their final bills.

Room Tip: blocks 4/5 have good views over garden, block 2 and the hotel may experience noise from restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foca hotels
1.0 mi away
Focantique Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lola 38
Lola 38
#2 of 16 in Foca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
8.0 mi away
Alize Tatil Koyu
Alize Tatil Koyu
#12 of 16 in Foca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Karacam
Hotel Karacam
#3 of 16 in Foca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ensar Butik Hotel
Ensar Butik Hotel
#16 of 16 in Foca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bulbul Yuvasi Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Phokaia Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Phokaia Beachclub

Property: Neilson Phokaia Beachclub
Address: Ismetpasa Mah. 2 Mersinaki Koyu, Foca 35680, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Foca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Foca
Hotel Class:4 star — Neilson Phokaia Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neilson Club Phokaia occupies a fantastic beachfront location overlooking a beautiful bay where you will find excellent sailing conditions. Spacious, with a wonderful large swimming pool set close to the beach, Phokaia is a firm favourite with returning Neilson guests.Highlights: Super 4 star + accommodation• Club board meals included• Wide range of inclusive activities - Fantastic sailing, windsurfing, waterskiing, canoeing, mountainbiking, fitness, tennis• Consistent winds and large sailing area• Four tennis courts• Gym• Elemis Spa• International Blue Flag Beach status• Excellent for families• Full range of children's clubs• Lively, bustling local area• Traditional Turkish villages close by• Easy access to world famous historical sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Neilson Phokaia Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phokaia Hotel Foca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing