We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days back and I haven't lost my holiday halo yet. Wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Club Phokaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Club Phokaia
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Foca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks in Phokaia and feeling utterly chilled. Second visit for us and after several Neilson holidays, this is the first resort we've had chance to visit for a second time. Tommy and the team are first class.

Special shout outs to the Tennis Team (Martin, Mike & Darren) - you've finally given me the kick up the ar*e I needed to come home and join a club. Maybe I'll advance beyond the Green group next year; Johnny for his non-stop entertainment; The Beach Team - you're a slick bunch; Milo,Ali,John and Nicki for their enthusiasm and energy in keeping the Sharksters entertained (and under control!) and of course Tom, who we've now followed resort to resort for the past 3 seasons! Miss having you in fitness though Tom, its a loss to the resort.

Also feel I've been well fed and watered for the past 2 weeks. Great food & beverage and kitchen teams. The bar and restaurant staff are highly personable and very attentive and Chef, you and the team never disappoint. Highlights have to include your home made-breads, curry rolls and kebabs - absolutely delicious - and as for the calamari, tastes as if it's straight from the sea.

Equipment and tuition was first class throughout. I recall the Beach Team getting grief when we were last in Foca (Sept 2012) for the state of the beach kit. Neilson, you've clearly responded to the feedback, as the beach kit was excellent this year, thank you.

Only a couple of v.minor things I'd change about the holiday:

1, Please, please, please rope off the raised seating area besides the pool at night times. The large sofa beds attract the teenagers and if you're located in Block 7 you can hear every word - not just a noise, but every word that they say. Had 3 instances over the fortnight where I had to get up (midnight, 1am and 5am) because there were a large group of teens directly above us. I respect fully that it's their holiday too, so we just asked them to move to the beach, which they respected.

2, Hope the tennis courts are on the priority list for the contract negotiations. They're looking really tired now and the nets and courts have seen better days.

3, Following on from the point above, could the TECH team think about sweeping the courts before the first session starts in the morning. We arrived on courts 3&4 for our tournament and the courts weren't playable. 2 guests and a couple of brooms later, however.....

4, Please spray the trees a little earlier next year to keep the Mozzies at bay. We were plagued with them the first week because the wind dropped.

For those of you who are still to head out to Foca this season, I can recommend the following for your 'free nights':

Seyir Café: Located 1km out of Foca town (but only 2TL more in a taxi), the Café is located on the hill overlooking Foca. A beautiful position from which you can admire the bay and watch sunset over dinner - a very special place indeed. Also, being raised on stilts at the front, we had the pleasure of sitting out on the balcony, eating dinner and watching a large family of wild boar run around in the shrubs below. The team speak very little English here, but you'd do well to order a mixture of meze to start and a mixed grill for main. There were 4 of us. We ordered mixed grill for three, large salad and a basket of bread. We had more than enough food to go round.

Bykus: a lovely little friendly bar in the fishing harbour. We went there 2 years ago and returned again this year. Perfect for the nights where you just fancy a couple of drinks. They also do a mean plate of calamari (if you get the nibbles) which they sneak in the back door from the lovely seafood restaurant next door. Chilled beer glasses and endless bowls of popcorn and cucumber - what's not to like. If you go somewhere else for dinner and stop here for a nightcap, make sure you're still there at 10pm when the live Turkish music starts, complete with 2 guitarists, drummer, and a flutist. A lovely, mellow sound.

Foca Restaurant: The team are terrific and very engaging. A wonderful range of Meze, and a great fridge filled with fresh fish and seafood. Absolutely delicious.

Just off the phone having booked Ortakent for October (on Mike's recommendation), so looking forward to our next injection of Neilson already. A winning formula! Thank you all for such a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Family Rooms below the pool are a great alternative to adjoining rooms - bunkbeds for the kids and a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECSimpson1433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Club Phokaia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks in Phokaia, 3rd time there and 5th Neilson holiday. I wont write about the hotel, since other reviewers have done superb jobs at that, suffice to say it is truly excellent. Tommy mentioned that the hotel is due for a refurb, which excites us even more and gives us the reassurance that Neilson are continuing to strive for excellence. I would hope that some of the sailing kit gets upgraded (addition of the spinnakers for the Topaz - as the brochure shows!), certainly the SB3/20 which are showing their age, however it is not enough to put us off. Stuart on the beach team was excellent; a private lesson with my wife really boosted her sailing confidence and made the holiday for her. My 5yr old son was even crying on the last day because he did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Had a lovely time here at Foca on a girly holiday. Played tennis for the first time since school and enjoyed it so much am joining local tennis club. My friend Marie won the beginners tournament and was chuffed to bits to receive her cup on the last night. Many thanks to Martin and the team for such good coaching... of course the best bit was booze and balls :)
the windsurfing was great if a little challenging as the wind was quite gusty but the safety boat was always there to bring you back if you went too far.
The rooms were spacious and clean, the only problem was the electronic room keys had a tendency to be wiped if in close proximity to certain mobile phones (not iphones tho) but reception were more than happy to reset.
the food was amazing and the staff very helpful. The only quibble would be that the social table was in the family area, not the adults only area but that was minor.
For me the best part of the day was sitting in the beach bar watching the spectacular sunset. thanks so much for a fabulous week, we met some lovely people who we hope to meet up with next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zhatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to Foca & our 8th neilson holiday so far.
Foca is the best for our needs - great layout, great location, short transfer, great team. Tommy is very good as the GM & his team work very hard. Cemil & the ski team are the best ski team we have come across on Neilson. Their instruction was amazing & we had premium ski so were delighted with the result as wakeboarding is our main activity.
The kids club run by Amy is as fantastic as it has been the past few years; she is a strong leader & very experienced. If you have kids, Neilson is the way forward!
I would have given 4.5 stars if I could as the only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because the resort & some of the equipment is beginning to get a bit tired - a refurb for Foca is in order Neilson!
We will however return, hopefully next year! ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GH_C23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 great weeks here.Tommy and his team were fun and enthusastic,with happy smiley faces.The hotel/gardens rooms are very clean and the food was varied and fresh.I wakeboarded,sailed,windsurfed,kayaked and went to classes and have no complaints.What i will say is if you are top class sailor then maybe this isn't the place for you as you may not find the kit as perfect as you like plus complain other guests don't know the sailing rules in the races.So my advice would be find somewhere at your level and give the rest of us a chance. :)

Room Tip: Personally i like the garden rooms as they are cooler as shaded by trees
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loueeze24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in the garden rooms 4 on the ground floor. There was a beautiful view from the patio of the pretty gardens which were well kept by the hardworking staff, and the sea beyond. The rooms were immaculate and spacious and the cleaners always did a fab job, sometimes leaving flower blossom displays in towels (a nice surprise). Meals were good and we particularly enjoyed the Turkish food with plenty of tasty salads and free water at mealtimes. I went for my first ever tennis lessons and boy, could you tell I won't be entering Wimbledon anytime soon! The coaching was excellent, split into small groups and each lesson given great feedback(thank you Martin) , I think Leah must need a long drink at the end of our doubles coaching debut! Fantastic fun though and I cant wait fir next year. My husband and teenage daughter (who was easily persuaded by Khan to join the TAG team) did water skiing, sailing, mountain and road biking kayaking etc. they both loved it. The small town of Foca nnearby is a refreshing change from typical Mediterranean tourist towns, catering mainly for Turkish visitors but very friendly to tourists too. The gulet boat trip was a lovely way to arrive with Martin (from Tennis) giving little snippets of local info on the way. All the neilson staff and local restaurant staff were fantastic, the entertainment at night was just the right mix of daft games and quizzes and quiet sunsets sat with a large gin and tonic in the beautiful beach bar. I simply did not want to leave.!! Well done Neilson. Shayne, Frank, Izzy from Manchester

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayniepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A first water sports holiday and a first Neilson. Hotel reception was lovely so first impressions were good. we arrived at night when everything was lit up which was a gorgeous sight and as our flight was delayed staff were on hand with packed lunches for everyone which was a nice touch.
We couldn't fault the Neilson staff in this hotel they all went out of their way to please and had such enthusiasm for everyone and everything. Everyone was friendly and aimed to please and we were able to help ourselves to the equipment available with ease. I don't think we have ever been so well looked after whilst on holiday by any other company WELL DONE NEILSON STAFF!
The food was fresh and ample at all sittings and the Turkish staff very respectful and helpful at all times There was even typical kids food on offer such as spaghetti bolognaise and the odd serving of chips available for the fussier children and if you requested it the staff would get you plain pasta at any sitting if you had a real fuss pot on your hands!
The hotel was situated in a particularly undeveloped part of Turkey and we walked into the local town a few times but were not very impressed with the restaurants on offer around the harbour, although everyone was friendly. In retrospect staying at the resort would have been preferable especially after seeing the bistro menu down by beach bar which looked fab.
Don't bother with the boat trip into Foca if it is stunning scenery you are after, as it just tours the small islands visible from the resort which have lots of rusting metal and rubbish littering them so not particularly enjoyable as far as scenery is concerned. The Neilson chap was fun though and it was a fun way to get into town, the kids enjoyed the baby seagulls on the rocks.
The kids loved the swimming pool but the old problem of towels on deck chairs was irritating at times. The hotel was clean and comfortable the cleaners did a fabulous job of our rooms.
The kids clubs were great and although we had a few refusers to begin with both our children loved the activities and enthusiam and effort the Neilson staff put into the clubs. I'm not sure how they do it! above all an excellent holiday. First class!
Above all we would return

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view or you will be disappointed. If staying in a bungalow ask for one aw...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catriona n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foca hotels
1.0 mi away
Foca Boutique Hotel
Foca Boutique Hotel
#9 of 17 in Foca
33 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Karacam
Hotel Karacam
#4 of 17 in Foca
108 reviews
8.0 mi away
Alize Tatil Koyu
Alize Tatil Koyu
#13 of 17 in Foca
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ensar Butik Hotel
Ensar Butik Hotel
#11 of 17 in Foca
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lola 38
Lola 38
#3 of 17 in Foca
93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Huri & Nuri Hotel
Huri & Nuri Hotel
#5 of 17 in Foca
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Phokaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Phokaia

Address: Ismetpasa Mh. 354 Sk. No: 2 | Eski Foça, Foca 35680, Turkey (Formerly Neilson Phokaia Beachclub)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Foca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Foca
Price Range: £60 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Phokaia 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phokaia Beachclub has a spacious feel, set amongst landscaped gardens with plenty of quiet spots to relax. Pathways wind their way through the gardens to the stretch of sand and shingle beach, where all the kit is laid out ready for easy launching. Phokaia Beachclub now boasts some of our best-dressed rooms; think a modern interpretation of traditional Turkish design with contemporary styling. It’s all about soft, natural, muted colours and exposed stone walls. With a desire to keep things local, the stone feature walls are sourced from the immediate area and the pattern in which they are laid is done in a traditional design. The Olympic size swimming pool is the focal point of the Phokaia Beachclub, have a quick dip or simply retire to one of the shady day beds, relax and take in the views. After a day on the water, bikes or tennis courts, the beachfront bar is the perfect place to catch up on the day and enjoy the stunning sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Club Phokaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phokaia Hotel Foca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing