We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good holiday”
Review of Gorkem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gorkem Hotel
Ranked #12 of 54 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our first time to the hotel athough we has stayed in the area the previous year.

We stayed in one of the apartments and it was adequate for our needs as we have no moans as we tend to only use it for sleeping and showering. People need to bare in mind you get what you pay for and if you want a luxurious room then go and book one in a hotel at a much higher price.

The staff Ilyas and Sadik were very welcoming and friendlyfrom our time of arrival and when we had a problem with loss of electricity it was fixed immediately. They were very chatty and we even had a few games of pool with them, and as far as I saw they were friendly to all of the residents, which is contrary to some of the reviews on here.

The hotel is in a quiet location about 20mins walk from Hisaronu but there are plenty of restaurants about 10 mins away if you don't want to walk that far.

We caught the Dolmus several times in to Olu Deniz and to Fethyie and they are very cheap and so easy to get to around on. Fethyie fish market is worth a visit as you choose your fresh fish from sellers and then it is cooked for you at one of the restaurants for about 6L which includes bread and dips.

We went to the hotel in May and we did have a few cloudy/rainy days but we always found something to do.

The pool and pool area were clean and plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas to go round. Didn't venture in to the pool as it was a little cold for me but some people did venture in.

We had lunch in the restaurant a couple of times and I can certainly recommend the toasted sandwiches which were the best I have tasted. Also the club sandwich was massive and really good value.

Lost track of how many tequila sunrises we had at the hotel - they were also really good and quite cheap - and we could certainly taste the alcohol !!!

I would recommend this hotel and will be looking to return next June as it had everything that we needed and was in a great location in walking distance of shops and restaurants.

Ilyas I will be practising my pool to hopefully beat you next year - but then I was at a disadvantage as I had had so many of your cocktails !!!
Jane & Jackie x

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnylazyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

On arrival at gone midnight we were greeted and shown to our room which was at the back of hotel, in the morning we asked if we could have room at front with pool view, this was done with no problems. Staff very friendly. Hotel clean and set in the prettiest setting. Location great, enjoyed the 20minute walk into town. Buses going frequently to beach, food was good in hotel and choice of some wonderful restaurants . It was clear that people go back to this hotel year after year so that speaks for itself, we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suejohnson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We only arrived home a couple of days ago after spent 10 days at the Gorkem hotel.

We were warmly greeted in the early hours and shown to our room, first impressions of the rooms was that although it was a little dated it was clean and had everything you need (apart from a kettle maybe?)

Next morning (and for several mornings) we had Turkish breakfast which is included in the B&B deal, which was very nice. The restaurant and bar has large sliding windows which overlooks the pool, gardens and mountains..so pretty and quiet. The gardens are gorgeous!

The location of the hotel is ideal for those wanting to get away from the noisy hustle and bustle of big towns or resorts. Its a fairly small, family run hotel..great for all ages and families alike I think.

Our room was at the back of the hotel and balcony over looked the mountains, a field of a couple of chips and chickens. Was nice not to be in a heavily built up area and having these views.

Drinks and food were very reasonably priced at the hotel and food was great.

It was nice to play a few games of pool over a few drinks, also added bonus that its a free pool table.

The staff were always friendly, helpful and could no do enough for you. It was a nice family atmosphere with all members of their family popping in at some point.

The place is a 5 minute walk from the Dolmus (bus) stop at the end of the road where you can hitch a ride to Fethiye or Oludeniz. Hisaronou is just down the road - the bus goes through here on the way to Oludeniz or you can walk -takes about 15mins. Wouldn't really recommend Hisaronou as to be its a little tacky for my liking.

However, you can have some lovely meals on the harbor in Fethiye and Oludeniz and arrange boat trips from these areas. Do highly recommend the Dalayan (mud bath, turtle beach) boat trip - all the trips are excellent value for money!

All in all, I would recommend the Gorkem hotel to anyone - could not fault the hotel. They helped us have an excellent holiday.

We will be back!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a lovely view of the mountains - the front is overlooking the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cwills62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great family run hotel. As the missus said we had an apartment with more then enough room for 2 and enough room for a small family. Our apartment even had a second balcony off the bedroom. The rooms were very clean and fresh with air con which we did not need with it being so early in the season.

The grounds were lush and very well maintained and the pool was spotless. Anyone looking for a lively busy hotel this may not be for you. If you want a smaller relaxing family run hotel with that personal touch then you cannot go wrong with the Gorkem. Ilyas and Sadik will cater to any of your needs while keeping you entertained. Ilyas is very informative and easy going, Sadik is the joker of the family always ready for a laugh.

The bar has football shirts put up signed with messages from previous guests and while there is a Tv that sometimes has football on it is in no way loud and overpowering like in some of the bars you will find in Hisaronu. The drinks are always nice and chilled and there is free pool table to keep the kids/adults entertained. The food we tried was very nice and tasty and although we only tried the breakfast once (typical Turkish fair) as we were self catering it was more then adequate.

One word of warning tho the two hot plates seemed to take ages to warm the pans up so not really good for cooking for a large family. The fridge was large with an ice box with ice cube trays. You could easily freeze two bottles of water in even with the trays in.

The hotel is only a short walk of a few minutes to the main road and the dolmus route which run every 5 minutes. If you walk five minutes either way you will come to shops and restaurants, and you can catch the dolmus going left which will take you to Fethiye harbour with its shops and some amazing boats, if you catch one going right you will arrive first in Hisaronu with its bars shops and restaurants or keep on the dolmus and it will take you to Olu deniz with its beach, Blue lagoon, shops, bars and amazing views of Para gliders coming down of the mountain.

Views around here are amazing and if you do not take time at least one evening to sit and chill and watch the sunset well.... whats wrong with you? :)

Room Tip: Spend time talking to the staff and getting to know them. Learn a few words of Turkish. The staff wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twodogs_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We decided to spoil ourselves and have a bit more room this holiday, so because we were attracted by the beautiful gardens at the Gorkem, we decided to try the self catering apartments. This was our first visit to the Gorkem, but not our first visit to Turkey or the surrounding area. We were really delighted with size of the apartment, and it gave my partner lots of space to pace around whilst I was getting ready!!.. We also took some frozen bacon with us and were able to cook bacon sandwiches for breakfast, as although the suitcase got lost, we did get it back the next day, so the bacon had defrosted nicely. It was nice to have a large fridge in the apartment, and were able to have cold water during the day, and the ice box was large enough to freeze a couple of bottles of large water that we could then take on trips. The hotel was close enough to the Dolmus, and central enough for visiting the local area and planning trips further afield. We spent a night away visiting Ephesus and Pumakale, and were safe in the knowledge that the family would keep an eye on the apartment whilst we were away. Also safe deposit boxes were provided. The accommodation was really clean. The food was lovely in the restaurant, and Ilyas and Sadik were great fun and very attentive to anything we might need. We met families who had stayed there before, and obviously returned, and we would certainly consider the accommodation for another year. We actually had a bedroom with a double bed, but in the kitchen diner, there was a single bed and a very large bed settee, so ideal for families. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the gates would be quieter, as there are chickens and a rooster in the far corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was my first trip to Turkey,I spent a long time looking for the right hotel,I choose the Gorkem Hotel from its reviews. Its a lovely family run hotel and very friendly the family are very proud of there hotel and keep it so clean too.The food was excellent and lots of choice on the menu. The pool and surroundings are as pretty as the photos,gorgeous setting with the surrounding mountains.Because this is a small hotel you soon become part of a little community I loved it. and cannot wait to go back.Thankyou to IIyas for your lovely welcome and help with booking trips.
Jan

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Got back yesterday morning from our 2nd visit to the Gorkem, and had a fantastic time. We stayed in the apartments this time and although basic, they were very clean and comfortable. The grounds,bar and pool area are well kept and very clean. Ilyas as always was eager to please though he does need to practice his pool playing {only joking}
We ate a few times in the restaurant and the food was very nice and well presented.
The pool area is very relaxing and and the mountain views are amazing. Very quiet location, but if you like the hustle and bustle nearby hisaranou is oly ten mins away.
A very good holiday and sure we will be back again very soon.
Sheila and Phil

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
4.3 mi away
Liberty Hotels Lykia
Liberty Hotels Lykia
#17 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,582 reviews
2.8 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,590 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
614 reviews
4.2 mi away
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
#3 of 102 in Oludeniz
911 reviews
2.7 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorkem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorkem Hotel

Address: Oludeniz Mah. Incircik 2 Cad. No: 39, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range: £16 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gorkem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorkem hotel provides its guests a very peaceful atmosphere in a-so-green setting. In our facility, along with a A-la Carte Restaurant with various choice of food, there is a bar and an open swimming pool surrounded by trees and colorful flowers. In Gorkem Hotel’s all rooms air-conditioning and hair-dryer provided , the balconies have the perfect panoramic view of the garden and the Babadag mountain. Due to our location we are in such an appropriate position inbetween Ölüdeniz and Fethiye that you can reach either within 10-15 min of bus journey. On th other hand we are only 36km away from the Dalaman airport. We also do provide our guests airport transfere service and free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gorkem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing