We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, you get what you pay for”
Review of Gorkem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gorkem Hotel
Ranked #15 of 55 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gorkem for 2 weeks and returned home just a few days ago. We stayed in a one bed apartment, when we arrived the apartment was basic but clean, the kitchen was however finished to a very poor standard, the stench of grease on the pots and pans hit you immediately upon opening the cupboard and we very much avoided it, apart from the fridge which was clean and in working order. This was not realy a problem however as eating out was such good value. Our bedding was changed randomly every few days, but our room was not cleaned properly for the entire duration of our stay, apart from having the kitchen bin emptied. We heard the rooms were nicer in the new block but we unfortunately never saw these first hand.

The hotel seems to attract many returning guests, who visit year after year. I could not understand this, as although the hotel is a cheap, there are many better hotels in the area in the same price bracket. The hotel bar was always open serving efes for 5 lira and there was always a barman on hand waiting to show you how good he was on the pool table.

If you like sitting around the swimming pool on a sun lounger, make sure you set your alam early. The returning guests always bagged the best spot and seemed annoyed if you beat them to their favourite sun bed. The atmosphere around the pool was greatly improved after a loud group of guests returned back to ireland. They found it funny to constantly throw people into the swimming pool and spray inncocent guests with water as they tried to relax.

The staff at the hotel were always polite and served very nice meals in the bar area.The position of the hotel is good as it is a 2 min walk to the main road opposite the water park in Ovacik. I would reccomend the hotel for a first time traveller to Turkey who has a limited budget and who isnt interested in spending a lot of time around the simming pool, or is prepared to take on the regulars in order to get a good spot!

The cockerel and call to prayer compete to be the loudest starting at 5am! Take your earplugs, you have been warned!

Despite the negatives this hotel does have its positives, it is extremely cheap, we met some great people here, the bar and pool area are well maintained (avoid the public toilet), bar and food prices are reasonable and the location is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny_Briggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Gorkem Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

First time at this hotel, basic, small but clean. The staff are always helpful and will do what they can to make your stay pleasant. Word of warning!! do not have too many towels in your room or you will get a ticking off and dont help other guests out by letting them use your room when they are leaving or there will be another BIG ticking off. Due th the size of the place you can't help hear the "loud guests" who think they own the place!! Met some nice (not so loud) guests who made our stay enjoyable. All the other resorts are in easy reach and if you like Blackpool then you must go to Hisaronu!!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back so you can hear the cockerel all day & night!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

just got back from a 15 night stay at the gorkem stayed in appartment 9a we :ve been to ovacik three times and the accomadation here was by far the best we have ad. the staff are great and can:t do enough for you{ good luck next year in the army muzzy. your the man} we also met lots of friendly people one guy we;ll remember for a long time is roy he had the whole place in uproar in a funny way throwing staff in the pool who got there own back on him with exploding cigs and buckets of water all in all a most enjoyable holiday we like ovacik because it is a real chill out area but if you fancy a bit more nightlife hisaranu is only a 20 minute walk away or a 2 lira dolmus busride and the resturants are fantastic around the area

Room Tip: we prefer appatments to hotel rooms as you don:t get fridges in hotel rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tadpole138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed in B&B part of hotel. We had the worst sleep ever. The local cockerel wakes you up at 4 a.m. (and doesn't shut up thereon) and then the mosque with the call to prayer at around 5 a.m. The pillows were like bags of cement. You had to get the dolmus everywhere. Don't expect to walk to the beach. The night-life in Hisaranu is about 25 mins walk away. The dolmus is inexpensive but it's nice to have a beach and night-life you can walk to. Lots of stray and very skinny animals around which are worryingly scared of human contact. Bar staff and hotel staff at the Gorkem are friendly. It's true what they say about getting your towel down at 7 a.m.! Had a nice time despite all this!

Room Tip: Go self-catering.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just back from a 2 week visit , Small family run hotel very clean rooms and pool , good location just far enough from the main road to be quiet but close enough for the dolmus or taxis ( if you are getting taxis from the hotel ask them to order one for you as you will get a far better price 25tl to fethiye for 6 people ) Food was very good and their was no pressure to eat only at the hotel .
Although the gorkem is advertised as being in olu deniz it is in ovacik just a short bus ride away dont be put off by this as it it easier to get around . Thankyou to all the staff for putting up with us we will be coming back and i would have no problem in suggesting the gorkem to anyone

Room Tip: stayed in 122 at the back no noise or any other problems
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontknowdontcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just got back from the Gorkem & I have to say we found it to be an excellent hotel. The staff are polite and helpful and always on hand to assist. We stopped in the apartments which are basic but very clean and what more can you ask for in Turkey. The pool is cleaned every morning and we did not have a problem getting sun beds. The hotel is situated off the main Road and is very peaceful (most of the time). There are many returning guest and families which seem ‘at times’ to monopolised the hotel. The food in the hotel is very good. It is a good twenty minute walk into Hisaronu but there are plenty of shops and restaurants on the main route into town. Fatima’s restaurant on the main Road into Hisaronu offers excellent food in a chilled and relaxing environment and at very reasonable prices. Taxis to & from Hisaronu tend to between 10 & 15 TL. It seems the taxi drivers please themselves what to charge. Always ask before you get in the taxi and barter them down, we never paid more than 12TL. Don’t be afraid to walk off. We found a really good bar in Hisaronu the SUMMER JAM its right at the end of the strip just 200 metres on the right past the Fez Bar. The children loved it and it catered for us 40 something’s as well, it’s a good all-rounder and we didn’t get our ears blasted out with loud music. Karaoke, pub quiz, dancing & plenty of fun, fun, fun. ‘Thank you’ Tolga, Angel, Sabri & all the staff for your entertainment and hospitality. ‘Focus’ offer a very good quality Safari jeep trip at only £10 with a meal included. It is a really good day out, however it is a long day, but enjoyable. They offer a variety of boat trips & other tours. It’s our third time in Turkey & will be going back. Have fun.

Room Tip: Apartments seem to be better as they have a fridge and you can keep them cold or frozen.. The hotel...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Old-william
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My partner and I have just returned this weekend and we had a fantastic holiday. The Gorkem is a lovely clean very friendly family run Hotel. We had not been to Turkey before as we prefer sandy beaches but after buying a pair of very cheap beach shoes we really enjoyed the swimming and snorkling as the sea is so clear and refreshing, especially The Blue Lagoon. You must do the Jeep Safari and the 12 Island Cruise, fantastic and have the fresh fish, delicious. We had a Turkish bath but be prepared to be pummelled as the massage is very thorough.

Room Tip: Take plenty of mosquito repellent as it is very hot and humid in August.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janclarke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
0.2 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
1.1 mi away
RED Hotel
RED Hotel
#84 of 102 in Oludeniz
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leytur Hotel
Leytur Hotel
#4 of 102 in Oludeniz
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oludeniz
866 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Rose Hotel
Red Rose Hotel
#25 of 55 in Oludeniz
43 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pine Valley
Hotel Pine Valley
#1 of 55 in Oludeniz
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorkem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorkem Hotel

Address: Oludeniz Mah. Incircik 2 Cad. No: 39, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range: £16 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gorkem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorkem hotel provides its guests a very peaceful atmosphere in a-so-green setting. In our facility, along with a A-la Carte Restaurant with various choice of food, there is a bar and an open swimming pool surrounded by trees and colorful flowers. In Gorkem Hotel’s all rooms air-conditioning and hair-dryer provided , the balconies have the perfect panoramic view of the garden and the Babadag mountain. Due to our location we are in such an appropriate position inbetween Ölüdeniz and Fethiye that you can reach either within 10-15 min of bus journey. On th other hand we are only 36km away from the Dalaman airport. We also do provide our guests airport transfere service and free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Gorkem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing